Customer Reviews


213 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EPIC was EPIC
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT FILM. GREAT ANIMATION. I'M A PENSIONER & I LOVE THESE KIND OF FILMS. ANOTHER ONE FOR THE COLLECTION.
Published 8 months ago by Legoman

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Epic Fun
Epic is a colourful and fun adventure film. It wears its heart on its sleeve and doesn't pretend to be anything else. It won't set the world alight but it will keep families entertained over its slim running time.

The story is a classic good versus evil set up with this particular battle set in a miniature world deep within the forest. The leafmen are in...
Published 9 months ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Epic Fun, 3 Dec 2013
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Epic [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Epic is a colourful and fun adventure film. It wears its heart on its sleeve and doesn't pretend to be anything else. It won't set the world alight but it will keep families entertained over its slim running time.

The story is a classic good versus evil set up with this particular battle set in a miniature world deep within the forest. The leafmen are in constant battle with their enemies and when they manage to eliminate their queen their world is nearly lost. Cue a clueless normal human girl being shrunk to their size to help save their kingdom.

The set up is wonderful and the little details are a marvel. Everything in this forest looks normal but if you look a little deeper you will see a hive of activity. Plants have tiny faces, birds have tiny saddles to carry their passengers. It is a richly detailed world bought to stunning life through computer animation.

It is a shame the story is so standard. It could have done with a bit more punch, but all in all the characters are good fun with real hissable baddies and good old fashioned heroes. The action is well paced and frequent so there is never a dull moment and it does leaving you thinking that a sequel would be welcome.

A good fun film that doesn't quite meet its epic ambitions but certainly entertains all the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EPIC was EPIC, 26 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epic [DVD] (DVD)
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT FILM. GREAT ANIMATION. I'M A PENSIONER & I LOVE THESE KIND OF FILMS. ANOTHER ONE FOR THE COLLECTION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epicly good movie, 8 Oct 2013
This review is from: Epic [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This was recommended to me by my sister, who had watched the movie on the big screen. We decided to share the cost of the blu-ray and it was well worth it. Warning Spoilers - An estranged girl spends time with her scientist father who is convinced there is a microscopically hidden world and he's set up motion cameras to prove it. This world is protected by leafmen, and ruled by a queen of nature, whilst the main villain of the piece is the fantastically dark Mandrake, leader of a species who can rot anything they touch. Soon, the scientist's daughter discovers that not only is her father's theory of a hidden world correct, but also finds herself in a desperate race against time to save it. It is an engrossing story with a very decent soundtrack. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Family film about tiny people living in a forest, 27 May 2013
By 
Marshall Lord (Whitehaven, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Epic [DVD] (DVD)
This review is based on going to see "Epic" in the cinema with my family.

"Epic" is a beautifully crafted animated family film based on William Joyce's book "The Leaf Men and the Brave Good Bugs (Harper Trophy Books). It is rather like a better execution of the same basic idea as "Arthur and the Invisibles [DVD]" except that in this case the whole film is animated where "Arthur and the invisibles" had the human-size portions played by real actors and the miniature sections animated. The film has a star studded cast providing the voices for figures who are beautifully drawn.

Not everyone will like this: some people will find the story a little twee, others may find it a bit too similar to "Arthur and the Invisibles," but my family really enjoyed it.

The heroine and central character, Mary Katherine (who prefers to be known as MK) is voiced by actress Amanda Seyfried and the queen of the forest, Queen Tara, is voiced by Beyonce Knowles. Both are particularly well voiced and drawn. Christian Kaplan who did the casting for this film obviously picked the cast for their voices rather than just their celebrity value, and they more than justify the choice.

MK is a teenage girl whose mother has recently died. At the start of the film she arrives at the semi-derelict house, on the edge of a forest, where her father, mad scientist Professor Bomba (Jason Sudeikis) lives and studies the fauna of the forest. Bomba had wrecked both his career and his marriage through his obsessive attempts to prove that an "advanced civilisation" of tiny people exists in the forest.

It probably won't be a spoiler to anyone thinking of going to see this film - certainly not to anyone who has seen the trailer - that Bomba's apparently preposterous theory, which no other human takes seriously, is in fact correct. Nor that his daughter finds herself magically shrunk to the same size as the tiny denizens of the forest - and caught up in the constant war between two factions of forest creatures.

Although some of the less intelligent promotional material for this film presents that conflict as a battle between good and evil - and I have seen it wrongly suggested that the battle in the forest might also affect our world as well - the actual film is a lot more nuanced than this. One side, led by Queen Tara (Beyonce Knowles) and her "leaf men" soldiers, represents growth, the other led by Mandrake (Christoph Waltz) and his "boggan" troops represent decay. Children or anyone else who wants to take a simple moral from the film will see Queen Tara's side as representing good while Mandrake is evil, but adults will realise that the life of the forest would actually depend on a balance between the two.

Indeed, one of the best things about the film is that the "bad guy," Mandrake, is not cartoonishly or two-dimensionally evil. Like the most dangerous villains in the real world or the best literature Mandrake is all the more formidable as an opponent because he has characteristics which in a "good guy" would be recognised as virtues. Instead of going down the all-too-familiar route of presenting the villain as being pathetic, cowardly, and full of hatred even to those closest to him, the film gives Mandrake a lot of the best lines, shows both him and his son and general Dagda (Blake Anderson) leading from the front at various stages of the film, and doesn't show them constantly plotting to betray each other.

Other strong and well voiced characters which enrich the film include Ronin (Colin Farrell) the general of the Leaf men, Nod (Josh Hutcherson), an independent-minded young leaf man whose dead father had been Ronin's friend, a pair of sometimes charming and sometimes aggravating molluscs, Mub the slug (Aziz Ansari) and Grub the snail (Chris O'Dowd), and a glow-worm impresario called Nim Galuu (Steven Tyler) who is also the keeper of the magic scrolls which record everything which goes on in the forest. The film also features the voice of the rapper Armando Perez, better known by his stage name Pitbull, as a frog mafia boss.

Every time one goes to see a new animated film it seems the depiction of the characters, scenery and events could not get any more beautifully done, and usually when you get to the next one you realise you were wrong. This film is yet another visual feast. The plotting is also reasonably tight, keeping your attention, there are plenty of simple jokes for the kids and more sophisticated ones for the adults. It had me laughing at the jokes quite a few times.

I would consider it a very good film for children up to the age of about thirteen - my eleven-year-old daughter certainly loved it - and which adults can enjoy with their kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epic [DVD] (DVD)
This movie has got to be one of the best movies I have ever seen!
I don't think there was anything I did not like about it.
The voice acting was amazing, especially Beyonce as Queen Tara. You really connect with this character as soon as you see/hear her. I think I literally went through every human emotion whilst on this epic journey.
I recommend this for people of all ages from baby (the stunning colours will appeal) up to any age.
Would make a great family movie on a drizzly afternoon.
Ignore any negative review and see for yourself the magic that is this movie. And if you do join us in the world of epic, stay for the credits song Beyonce- rise up, which really goes well with the movie and makes you think about your own life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun!, 25 Jan 2014
This review is from: Epic [DVD] (DVD)
I didnt really expect anything when I started to watch it. Even tho Im an adult I was captured by the story line and found it exciting! Obviously it was nicely done, beautiful picture and characters. I thought they would go for the love line between the soldier and the queen - and I would have give a 5* if they did. But it is still a nice movie for kids and adults too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EPIC BLU-RAY, 13 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A FILM OF GREAT IMAGINATION AND SKILL, WITH BRILLIANT CGI EFFECTS AND STORY LINE. WELL PRODUCED AND FUNNY IN PLACES. A FILM THAT ALL THE FAMILY CAN WATCH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Gilly B "Gilly B" (Sandbach, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epic [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for Christmas this film has already been watched a few times. Really pleased with the film and story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, not great, 7 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Epic [DVD] (DVD)
After missing this at the cinema finally got to see it on DVD and it was very watchable, looking stunning in most scenes Blue Sky studio's really work best when animating animals and landscapes i.e Ice Age. Rio..even make believe creatures, Robots and Horton Hears a Who which as it happens are all better than his feature.
What Blue Sky to me alwayas fail on is the human animations, yes i know they are cartoons but they act so unrealsitic with odd looking faces and no real charm, usually just being bumbling idiots. The dad in the story is downrogith unlikable and the daughter is just pl;ain dull as are the leafmen..the best characters being the snails and they are just light releif really.
My 14 year old daughter had a few chuckles but got a bit bored, my 8 year old loved it so guess that is it's age range.
Even knockabout comedies like Kung Fu Panda and The Croods seemed to have more heart than this did...overall a good attempt but just comes across as a moderm day re-make of Ferngully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Epic [DVD] (DVD)
VERY GOOD I BROUGHT THIS FOR MY NIECE FOR XMAS I NO SHE WILL LOVE IT WEN SHE GETS IT AND I WOULD BUY FROM THIS SELLER AGAIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Epic [DVD]
Epic [DVD] by Chris Wedge (DVD - 2013)
9.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews