Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids, not so great if you've read the book
This is a tough film for me to review, my 2 boys (aged 9 and 10) loved the film and couldn't wait to watch it again so I am giving it a 5 as they are the target audience.

The special effects are great which gives believable bad guys for the heroes to defeat, easily.

For me the huge weakness lies in the fact they have ripped the heart out of the book,...
Published 4 months ago by A. G. Cook

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing follow up from the first installment
I'm normally not one for film reviews as they can be so personal but on this occasion I thought I'd change that. I was somewhat looking forward to watch this having watched the first instalment recently on terrestrial TV. I felt it lacked the some qualities in the story line which did not seem to flow as well as the Lightning Thief. I suppose it I may have had to high an...
Published 1 month ago by Ice Nut


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids, not so great if you've read the book, 19 Dec 2013
By 
A. G. Cook "Bwlvych" (Peacehaven, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD] (DVD)
This is a tough film for me to review, my 2 boys (aged 9 and 10) loved the film and couldn't wait to watch it again so I am giving it a 5 as they are the target audience.

The special effects are great which gives believable bad guys for the heroes to defeat, easily.

For me the huge weakness lies in the fact they have ripped the heart out of the book, there is no character development and the important, and difficult, relationship between Percy and Tyson is pretty much brushed aside. This relationship, and how Percy struggled to come to terms with it, was one of the key themes of the book and it's removal just leaves us with a bit of an action movie.

For me, 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing follow up from the first installment, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm normally not one for film reviews as they can be so personal but on this occasion I thought I'd change that. I was somewhat looking forward to watch this having watched the first instalment recently on terrestrial TV. I felt it lacked the some qualities in the story line which did not seem to flow as well as the Lightning Thief. I suppose it I may have had to high an expectation since very few sequels are as good as the first. The cinemaphotography was good likewise the music but it lacked finesse overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice 3D Action, 5 Mar 2014
Nice to see a non-animation movie in 3D.

My 9 year old loved the movie , but as a dad , I found it a bit yawn yawn , and very linear.

Still target audience is the kiddies , so go get it for them !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD] (DVD)
A very good and exciting movie, although I am a 74 year pensioner, I still enjoy watching new and modern DVDs.
L.F.Ellis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FILM, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my teenage daughter qnd she loved it. She wants the books now. Received within the time stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super item, great quality and most of all we'll worth the price, standard arrival time as expected a a a
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the film, saw it in the cinema. It was much better than the first one. I'm looking forward to the Titan's curse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful & Cheesy, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best bits are the clips shown at the beginning, before you press play to watch the whole film! Loved the first one, this one was awful, full of American cheesy lines. We kept watching, hoping it would get better....it didn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'THE 'QUEST' TO FIND THE ''GOLDEN-FLEECE'', 14 Dec 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Welcome back to 'Camp Half-Blood' where the young Olypians and Demigods
remain safe to be trained to fulfil their potential and destiny.
Except the tree the 'Gods' gifted to the camp in memory of 'Thallia' who
had sacrificed her own life to save three friends, has been poisoned.
A quest has been given to 'Luke' and 'Clarisse' to recover the long lost
'Golden-Fleece'
'Percy Jackson' son of 'Poseidon' believes a prophecy dictates that the
task should have been his, and that he was the only Olympian that could
complete such a task......his destiny.
Though others had been assigned the task, 'Percy' along withy his newly
found half-brother 'Cyclops' 'Tyson' and friends 'Annabeth' and 'Grover'
take up the challenge to help find the fleece that is believed will cure
the tree and maintain the camps very existence.
However fellow 'Olympian' 'Luke' has changed sides planning to resurrect
the evil 'Cronus'
The journey to the 'Sea of Monsters' (we know as the Bermuda Triangle)
to recover the fleece has begun.....
A film full of dazzling special effects is a family friendly fantasy
adventure.....superb 3-D material.....also great on the 2-D disc with
good quality picture and sound quality.
The additional features on board include...'Tyson motion Comic' learning of
how 'Percy's' half brother came to the camp, and more.....also 'Deconstructing
a demigod'........'Back to Camp Half Blood' ....and 'Its all in the Eye'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good fantasy adventure, 23 April 2014
A good film that kept us all entertained including our 11 year old daughter!
Good family adventure with good effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae9a7b70)

This product

Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD]
Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD] by Thor Freudenthal (DVD - 2013)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews