Customer Reviews


187 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it
A very good and exciting movie, although I am a 74 year pensioner, I still enjoy watching new and modern DVDs.
L.F.Ellis
Published 5 months ago by Leonard Franklin Ellis

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 3D??????????????????????????
Worse film i have seen in a long time, to me it feels like a yank version of harry potter, but no ware in the same class, and for the 3D it is just awful and very lazy, even the back ground picture was fuzzy and the actors heads looked weird and it made my eyes very sore. please save your money if you love this film i suggest you buy the 2D version.
Published 3 months ago by STEVENSEAGALFAN


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD] (DVD)
A very good and exciting movie, although I am a 74 year pensioner, I still enjoy watching new and modern DVDs.
L.F.Ellis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids, not so great if you've read the book, 19 Dec 2013
By 
A. G. Cook "Bwlvych" (Peacehaven, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD] (DVD)
This is a tough film for me to review, my 2 boys (aged 9 and 10) loved the film and couldn't wait to watch it again so I am giving it a 5 as they are the target audience.

The special effects are great which gives believable bad guys for the heroes to defeat, easily.

For me the huge weakness lies in the fact they have ripped the heart out of the book, there is no character development and the important, and difficult, relationship between Percy and Tyson is pretty much brushed aside. This relationship, and how Percy struggled to come to terms with it, was one of the key themes of the book and it's removal just leaves us with a bit of an action movie.

For me, 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 3D??????????????????????????, 27 April 2014
Worse film i have seen in a long time, to me it feels like a yank version of harry potter, but no ware in the same class, and for the 3D it is just awful and very lazy, even the back ground picture was fuzzy and the actors heads looked weird and it made my eyes very sore. please save your money if you love this film i suggest you buy the 2D version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU CAN'T GIVE UP ON FAMILY,, 2 Sep 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD] (DVD)
This is a story about special children growing up with absentee fathers who attempt to win their children's love with gifts while being worshiped as gods. In this installment Percy (Logan Lerman) and his friends go after an old sheep skin in order to save a tree. Meanwhile, bad guy Luke (Jake Abel) wants the fleece so he can revive his ancestor, Cronus known for eating his own young. Guess how that works out.

The film opens with a slight monologue to reintroduce the characters. Like the Potter series, the main character's acting in the low point. This film also has that hidden world within our own world aspect. The scenes boasts wonderful special effects. The individual scenes are more overpowering than the general plot designed to appeal to the pop culture youth. Leven Rambin was made up to look like Jennifer Lawrence running around with a bow. One can't help but draw to mind the block buster films of "Hunger Games" and "Potter."

This series seems designed for those slightly younger than the Potter crowd. The characters and plot lack the complexity and certainly less occult darkness.

A great film for the family to see, especially the older kids who aren't prone to nightmares. Contains a family message as Percy must learn to live with a half brother who is a cyclops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing follow up from the first installment, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm normally not one for film reviews as they can be so personal but on this occasion I thought I'd change that. I was somewhat looking forward to watch this having watched the first instalment recently on terrestrial TV. I felt it lacked the some qualities in the story line which did not seem to flow as well as the Lightning Thief. I suppose it I may have had to high an expectation since very few sequels are as good as the first. The cinemaphotography was good likewise the music but it lacked finesse overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Appalling, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD] (DVD)
Imagine a load of rubbish and times it by 100. You're not even closes to how bad this film is. It's so bad I can't bring myself to read the books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FILM, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my teenage daughter qnd she loved it. She wants the books now. Received within the time stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the film, saw it in the cinema. It was much better than the first one. I'm looking forward to the Titan's curse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful & Cheesy, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best bits are the clips shown at the beginning, before you press play to watch the whole film! Loved the first one, this one was awful, full of American cheesy lines. We kept watching, hoping it would get better....it didn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'THE 'QUEST' TO FIND THE ''GOLDEN-FLEECE'', 14 Dec 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Welcome back to 'Camp Half-Blood' where the young Olypians and Demigods
remain safe to be trained to fulfil their potential and destiny.
Except the tree the 'Gods' gifted to the camp in memory of 'Thallia' who
had sacrificed her own life to save three friends, has been poisoned.
A quest has been given to 'Luke' and 'Clarisse' to recover the long lost
'Golden-Fleece'
'Percy Jackson' son of 'Poseidon' believes a prophecy dictates that the
task should have been his, and that he was the only Olympian that could
complete such a task......his destiny.
Though others had been assigned the task, 'Percy' along withy his newly
found half-brother 'Cyclops' 'Tyson' and friends 'Annabeth' and 'Grover'
take up the challenge to help find the fleece that is believed will cure
the tree and maintain the camps very existence.
However fellow 'Olympian' 'Luke' has changed sides planning to resurrect
the evil 'Cronus'
The journey to the 'Sea of Monsters' (we know as the Bermuda Triangle)
to recover the fleece has begun.....
A film full of dazzling special effects is a family friendly fantasy
adventure.....superb 3-D material.....also great on the 2-D disc with
good quality picture and sound quality.
The additional features on board include...'Tyson motion Comic' learning of
how 'Percy's' half brother came to the camp, and more.....also 'Deconstructing
a demigod'........'Back to Camp Half Blood' ....and 'Its all in the Eye'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD]
Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters [DVD] by Thor Freudenthal (DVD - 2013)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews