Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good film
Bought this for my daughters 8th birthday yesterday. Her and 11 year old brother and me are watching it now. It is very funny
Published 21 months ago by l.howard-green

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Easy entertainment for a rainy day.
Published 10 months ago by Val Rutherford


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good film, 20 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parental Guidance [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for my daughters 8th birthday yesterday. Her and 11 year old brother and me are watching it now. It is very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIGHTS OUT, ALICE, 7 May 2013
This review is from: Parental Guidance [DVD] (DVD)
Artie (Billy Crystal) loves his job as a minor league baseball announcer. He dreams of announcing for the Giants. His dream is cut short when his job is terminated at the end of the season. Artie is old school. He is technically challenged. Meanwhile his daughter Alice (Marisa Tomei) is desperate for a sitter for week and calls her parents. Artie's wife Diane (Bette Midler) agrees.

Alice and her husband (Tom Everett Scott) are technically savvy. Their three children all have issues from having overprotective parents who use the new school of parenting. It isn't hard to figure out what happens.

This is a good family film. Kids will enjoy this more adults who will have felt they have seen this film watching it for the first time. Crystal once again infuses his love for the game of baseball into a film. The movie has funny one liners, some heartfelt scenes, and good fun.

Perhaps this isn't really a five star movie. There is no heavy thinking involved. No deep meanings or metaphors. It is simply a popcorn eating, relaxing, family film, something I haven't seen in a long time.

Parental Guide: No swear words, sex, or nudity. One urination scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grand parents, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parental Guidance [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny and I would recommend especially to any grand parents. It is just as you would expect grand mother is the leading light with grand dad grudgingly bringing up the rear.
Some good hearty laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funny comedy film, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parental Guidance [DVD] (DVD)
it was good funny film that you can watch with the whole family. would definitely recommend for anyone to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ticked all my boxes, 17 Mar. 2013
By 
Beanie Luck (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Parental Guidance [DVD] (DVD)
Billy Crystal plays Arty, a baseball announcer and Bette Midler plays his wife Diane, they have 1 daughter Alice played by Marisa tomei who lives in Atlanta and is married to Phil played by Tom Everett Scott.

Phil has invented a home artificial intelligence system that controls the whole house and is nominated for a technology award meaning they have to go out of town for 5 days. Alice calls her parents to ask if they can take care of the kids, bearing in mind they hadnt seen them in almost a year and Alice in stunned when they say yes.

Lets just say that Alice and Phil's parenting style and Arty and Dianes are totally different and watching these ppl trying to bond and control with their grandkids was very very funny.

There are some truly heart warming moments in this movie that honestly made me cry.

Watching Diane bond with her grandaughter Harper was the one that got me specifically as my own grandmother passed away 30 years ago and i still miss her, it was lovely to see the relationship develop.

Also watching Arty and Turner was truly inspiring and the way he helps him with his speech problems. Lets just say the kleenex were out multiple times.

Artys story with Barker however provide some of the truly laugh out loud funny moments, especially the baseball game lol thats all im saying.

It is a story primarily about forgiveness and compassion and acceptance, and family being the most important thing.

I dont have children myself and being 40 i watched this with sadness and relief in equal measure.

Sad that i will never experience the joy that it brings, but relief that i never have to deal with the chaos lol

A truly lovely heart warming family film, i thoroughly enjoyed it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great family fun film, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parental Guidance [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this at the cinema and my daughter loved it so much she wanted her own copy. My daughter first saw this when she was eight and she found it hilarious and I enjoyed watching it with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great family entertainment, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parental Guidance [DVD] (DVD)
Watched it with both of my grandchildren and we all thought it was very funny and that also it was a film that all the family could watch together with a message to put across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parental Guidance [DVD] (DVD)
We'd already seen parental guidance at the cinema and loved it so much had to buy it!
It's a funny heartwarming story for all the family to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HilARIOUS FAMILY COMEDY, 9 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parental Guidance [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this movie as something to sit and watch with my kids at a week-end. Also because i like Bette Middler & Billy Crystal.
It was a very amusing film, plenty of laughs and a few sad parts too.

The "other" grandparents were reluctantly called apon at the last minute to take over babysitting duties while the parents went away. But, they had very old fashioned views on how to discilpine the kids, which didn't go down well with the "new age" parents!
I wont spoil it by giving away any detales, but suffice to say it is a learning curve along th way for all involved with lots of laughs and a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great family movie, 26 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great family movie! Although the beginning was a bit slow, it showed the contrast between the parents and their daughter's family which soon made the story more interesting, as well as adding a bit of understanding to their actions. I watched this with my family and we all loved it. I greatly recommend this movie!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parental Guidance [DVD]
Parental Guidance [DVD] by Andy Fickman (DVD - 2013)
£3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews