Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.84
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 July 2012
I've just spent the last two evenings reading Dennis Waite's newest offering, Advaita Made Easy. I knew this book was coming and wondered if Dennis could really pull this off. He did! If you think you're interested in Advaita Vedanta, this is absolutely, positively the first book to read.

Fortunately, Advaita is quite flexible, and able to meet the reader wherever they come in, so there's no reason to be intimidated. Secondly, Dennis is a clear writer with a wonderful grasp of his subject matter. He's well qualified to lead you by the hand for a long, long way in your Advaita studies, but happily he doesn't clobber you here with a lot of specialized jargon or over-lofty concepts.

To tell you the truth, while it's certainly a beginner's primer, I found myself enjoying Dennis' clear enumeration and expounding of the basics. I'm happy to have it on hand to flip to if I have a question. It'll also be a great "read this" if someone is leaning the Advaita way. This is not a substitute for either Dennis' "The Book of One" or his groundbreaking "Back to the Truth: 5,000 Years of Advaita," but it's a great set-up for both of those.

Let me clear by saying up front that I'm not an authority on Advaita Vedanta. I'm actually one of the independent guys Dennis would tell you to be suspicious of, though he might flip me a wink when he did it. This is a good book; I recommend it highly. Oh, Google up Dennis' website while you're at it. It's easily the premier Western Advaita site. Have a good journey, my friend, wherever it appears to take you.

Fred Davis
Awakening Clarity
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
So has the author succeeded in his task : to make Advaita "easy"? With a glossary of six pages and a text discussing with aplomb a complex belief system and various interpretations of it the answer must be "not really". It is though a book worthy of your attention if only to move to the point of understanding that you do not need to understand all that to know who you are. I agree with the author that so many Westernised Satsang, and the gurus attached, are to be approached with caution as they display a lack of insight into the nature of this ancient Practice and its implementation. However two important contradictions to note: Firstly Self Enquiry is a profound Practice which focuses on the simple process of enquiring within and does not require someone else to determine the way or tell you when you are there. This is for you to discover assisted, perhaps, by a helping hand, a signpost, a guiding light which, when no longer required, is set aside. Secondly in suggesting we accumulate "brownie points" in the good actions we take (our reason for taking them) we are contradicting the teaching of Bhagavad Gita, at the heart of Advaita: that all action,taken in awareness of outcome, is without expectation of reward.
This book makes for interesting reading. However as you move further on your journey into Truth the silences become longer and deeper, the need for words lessens and an awareness grows from within you that dogma like this is simply not required......
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
There is nmo one better than Dennis Waite to introduce non-duality to those with an initial interest in the subject. Dennis's style of writing is ideally suited to the western mind in that it is direct, to the point and totally free of any ambiguity. Dennis is, in my opinion, the foremost exponent of traditional Advaita in the western world and I am sure that many others would agree with me. This is his fifth book on the subject. All of the others deal with the same subject to with varying degrees of increasing complexity. These others underpin the value of this introductory book because to be able to write upon the basics of a particular subject it is necessary to have a thorouh knoweledge of that subject. This is the ideal 'first reader' book and I am sure that anyone who reads it from cover to cover will be unable to resist following it with the next in sequence, 'The Book of One'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2012
In his book 'Advaita Made Easy', Dennis Waite does a great service in presenting the teachings of traditional Advaita, whilst also shining a comparitive light on its various modern incarnations.

The word 'Advaita' is often bandied about by people who really have no knowledge whatsoever of the traditional teachings of Advaita. Many have not even bothered to read any of the essential scriptures, written many hundreds of years ago, and yet they will rush to buy the latest book written by an author purporting to be writing about Advaita, but who has probably also not read any of the traditional teachings or had any contact with a traditional teacher.

We are living in an age where concentration levels are low, and instant results are demanded, in every area of life. This extends into the field of self-enquiry, and we want our gurus to tell us that enlightenment is available immediately, and not only that it is available immediately, but that we are already enlightened - and, indeed, some of our teachers do actually say this. Of course, it is all very gratifying to be told that one is already enlightened, but it is not adequately explained why one then continues to suffer and feel emotional ups and downs.

Dennis Waite patiently explains the methods of the traditional Advaita teachings, highlighting key differences with their modern counterparts. He argues well for more consideration to be given to the traditional teachings of Advaita, and his knowledge and understanding of the subject is very impressive.

If you are new to Self-Enquiry, Advaita or Non-duality, and wish to gain a broader view of the subject, then 'Advaita Made Easy' is the perfect book. Yes, do read the books advocating instant enlightenment, but also take the opportunity to get closer to the original source of the teachings, find out what they are about, who the key writers and teachers were, what the main scriptures are and have the subtle philosophical points explained clearly. Needless to say, 'Advaita Made Easy' is highly recommended - both for new and experienced students of Advaita/Non-duality.

Roy Whenary
(author of 'The Texture of Being' and 'Living In Open Awareness')
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2013
This book 'does what it says on the tin' as they.I found it very useful in my studies of vedante.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
very good read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
Very simple introduction to Advaita that does not overgild the lilly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Cracking wee book on advaita
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
essential reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)