Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars472
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Want to meet a family obsessed? Welcome to Pat's family. Pat played by Bradley Cooper has signed himself out of a Baltimore Mental Facility, his mother, Delores, played by JackiWeaver, picks him up. Another patient wants a ride home, but Delores finds out he is not released. Home they go to Pat, Sr played by Robert DeNiro. This may be Deniro's best role in awhile. He plays an obsessed Philly Eagles fan, he bets money and runs an illegal game. He can't go to the stadium because he was kicked out for fighting. Pat, Jr 's goal is to get back with his wife. He caused some violence in their marriage and went for therapy in Baltimore in lieu of jail. He has been diagnosed as Bi-polar. The family obsessed!

That is the intro, into the mix comes Tiffany, played by Jennifer Lawerence, a young widow who has played around a lot. She has a goal to enter a dance contest and needs a partner, enter, Pat Jr. A rollicking funny, fast , sad time ensues, and we meet more family and friends. This is a love story and a story about people with problems who try to find their way.

Deniro's deserved an Oscar or his role. I loved his character. JackiWeaver, Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence were all terrific. A terrific film. I urge everyone to see it.

Recommended. prisrob 05-02-13
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2012
In 'Silver Linings Playbook' Bradley Cooper's bi- polar character, newly released from a psychiatric hospital, is determined to regain the love of his estranged wife, who he is bound by a restraining order from getting within 500 yards of. Into his life comes Jennifer Lawrence's 'Tiffany,' a straight talking widow working through her own 'issues' as she deals with her husband's death. What evolves from here is the effect these two damaged and abrasive individuals have on each other in a progressively funny, touching and yes, uplifting film.

Indeed it is an often laugh out loud experience with much of the humour coming from both characters inability not to say whatever is on their mind. Occasionally though, just as you are laughing, a scene edges into drama and reveals the darker side of their personalities and how their behaviour affects those close to them and we are reminded that these characters are not simply just `wacky' or `quirky' but are complex people living with a degree of mental illness that sometimes manifests itself through frustration and violence.

Bradley Cooper is good in the lead role but the stand out is Jennifer Lawrence who sparkles when on screen and proves here that she can handle comedy as well as sci- fi {'Hunger Games'} and indie {'Winter's Bone.'} The praise she has gotten for this role is fully justified. Watch the scene where she takes on Robert Deniro {as Cooper's father} to be impressed by her talent.

In the last quarter the film basically ditches the theme of mental illness and lets it's 'rom com' heart loose going for a more typical 'Hollywood' ending as it races towards a largely sentiment and schmaltz free conclusion in a dance competition plot climax.

A hugely enjoyable and funny film that should'nt be taken too seriously and is probably only worth 4 stars but gets an extra one just for Jennifer Lawrence.
22 comments|73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
It might be Jennifer Lawrence who nabbed the Oscar, but this film is a real step up for Cooper. The premise is simple, two mentally unstable people find away to cope by being together, and unfortunately the whole thing is a little predictable.
That said, the film is full of great performances that really sizzle. I particularly liked De Niro's turn as a OCD bookmaker, and the sparks between Lawrence and Cooper are excellent.
Not quite light-hearted enough to be an out-right rom-com, but plenty of humour keeps the topic of mental illness from becoming too somber and depressing.
Touches of Juno and Little Miss Sunshine.
22 comments|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 June 2013
In a year of predictable,forgettable movies , "Silver Linings Playbook" is by far the best film that I have seen so far. It stands out by a mile from all of the dross that I have watched in the cinema and on DVD. It has great acting, memorable characterisation and likeable (if often abrasive) characters. The film also portrays mental illness in an exceptional way, as both of the leading figures are mentally disturbed following bereavement and marital break up.Bradley Cooper plays a man who has just been released from a mental institution following a violent assault on his wife's lover after he caught them in flagrante in the shower together. However Cooper believes that despite his wife's restraining order he can fix up their marriage again. Cooper starts the film off as a manic character who perhaps should have stayed in an institution,rather than return to live with his parents. However he calms down a lot after he meets Jennifer Lawrence's Tiffany, a recently widowed young woman who has gone off the rails like him. Together they form a friendship which calms them both down and they start dancing together as therapy and enter a competition. However Cooper still seems fixated on reconciling with his wife , while Lawrence forms deep feelings for him. Will the well matched pair get it together in the end and help put an end to the mania and craziness that is affecting their lives ? I liked this film as it was ultimately warm hearted and I thought how lucky Cooper's character was to be surrounded by so much love and support from family and friends, when without that he could have been condemned to a life in a mental institution. In reality characters like him may well be shunned by former friends, by the opposite sex and rejected by embarrassed family members.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
Having witnessed the impact of bi-polar on a family up-close and personal, I can relate to much of the darker content in this movie.

Jennifer Lawrence shines on the screen as a simmering but broken soul who pairs up and faces off against Bradley Cooper beautifully.

The sexual tension and chemistry between the actors is tangible, but for me it was Robert De Niro's performance as Bradley's OCD-suffering father than was both a roller-coaster of emotions and very sweet indeed.

This movie does not make light of mental illness, but shows the full spectrum of a movie from wacky romcom to serious commentary on how mental illness is still stigmatised and misunderstood.

Loved the movie and fell in love with Jennifer Lawrence for a second time having already watched The Hunger Games!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
At the beginning of this film I had no idea what was going on. I expected typical formula, soppy rom com, however I was very surprised, but in a good way!

The two characters in this film are messed up and flawed yet perfect for eachother. Bradley Cooper's character seems incapable of seeing beyond his one man mission to win over his estranged ex wife.

I kind of expected it to have an unhappy ending...and I won't spoil it but I was surprised again. It wasn't some little indie flick trying to be dark and twisted. It was a realistic portrayal of REAL people with REAL problems.

This is the best romantic film I've seen in a very long time.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
This film was recomended to me by a very close friend who has experience in the field of Bi-polar illness, she explained that the film was as close to reality that it is possible to get without actually making a documantary featuring bi-polar patients.
Having watched this film twice now I beleive I have to agree whole heartedly with her, this is a very powerful film sensitively directed by David O. Russell and suberbly acted by the two lead characters Bradley Cooper (Pat) and Jennifer Lawrence (Tiffany)
It is an amazing film and well worth watching. this film has gone straight in to my permanent collection.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
I don't think I can wait any longer for this film to come out on DVD. I think it shows perfectly the amazing acting talent that is the stunning Jennifer Lawrence. This film is light, funny and enthralling for saying it has a focus on mental illness. Definitely a feel good film, with great lead characters.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
I have spent the last 3 years with someone with the same condition, attitude and life's struggles. I would not have understood this film if it wasn't for that. I would have liked it but not loved it. It has helped me understand more about how much a rollercoaster life can be or just a moment. The strongest people are the ones who can be the weakest or lowest in life. Very well acted and dealt with in a way I think is worth its weight in gold.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VIDEO:

Silver Linings Playbook arrives on blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.35:1 encode. Director David O. Russell and cinematographer Masanobu Takayanagi uses lots of handheld camera work, some of which favouring the so-called "jiggly cam" approach. A lot of the film appears to have utilized natural lighting schemes, resulting in a really nice autumnal glow in several of the exterior location sequences, but also casting a somewhat dark ambience on dimly lit interior scenes. Fine detail is exceptional throughout the vast majority of this presentation, with some of the close-ups reaching really astounding levels of detail at times (look at the screenshot of Cooper's hand holding the pills for a great example). Colours are saturated and pop with great details. A very pleasing video presentation. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

Silver Linings Playbook comes with DTS-HD 7.1 Master Audio, which comes with great fidelity and it has great dynamic range. The boisterous crowd scenes, like the tailgate party late in the film, the big dance sequence and a couple of the scenes in the Solitano household, feature excellent discrete channelization. Dialogue is cleanly presented. The soundtrack is also outstanding with many great tracks, like Silver Lining by Jessie J (remember her song Price Tag), My Cherie Amour by Stevie Wonder (played at the therapist’s reception and it was the tigger song that was played at Pat’s wedding), etc. (4.5/5)

AWARDS:

Winner of Oscar for Best Actress in a Leading Role: Jennifer Lawrence.
Nominations for Oscar:
Best Picture
Best Director: David O. Russell
Best Actor in Leading Role: Bradley Cooper
Best Actor in Supporting Role: Robert DeNiro
Best Actress in Supporting Role: Jacki Weaver
Best Screenplay: David O. Russell
Best Editing

TRIVIA:

It has an estimated budget of $21 million, but grossed worldwide at $231 million, a respectable but not outstanding gross. The 10x gross return should make the producers of this movie very happy and rich.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I originally purchased this movie, purely because of Jennifer Lawrence, who deservedly won the Oscar for Best Actress. But after watching the movie, I was pleasantly surprised with the story and acting, which completely won me over. My final assessment is that this movie is excellent, and Jennifer Lawerence is now the added bonus. This movie is one of the best of 2012, and is very highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)