Customer Reviews


269 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky Man
In a year of predictable,forgettable movies , "Silver Linings Playbook" is by far the best film that I have seen so far. It stands out by a mile from all of the dross that I have watched in the cinema and on DVD. It has great acting, memorable characterisation and likeable (if often abrasive) characters. The film also portrays mental illness in an exceptional way, as both...
Published 15 months ago by L. Davidson

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Struggle to understand the gongs
I have been looking forward to watching this film, carefully choosing a time where my son and husband would not be there so I could listen without comments. However, I ahve to say I am completely stunned by the awards? It was an OK romcom to watch on a Sunday after cooking lunch and a few glasses of wine, you could drop off to sleep for a good half hour and miss nothing...
Published 7 months ago by Cath Casey


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars happy ending, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
this DVD starts pretty slowly and you really don't know whether it si going to hold your attention but as the story unfolds it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good casting, decent story, just unoriginal, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Life isn't always fair, there is no fairy tale story and reality is, as pat salatano found out, has more twists and tragedy than any tv soap opera.
Leaving work early one day after an argument with his high school principle, pat returns home to find his wedding song playing whilst his wife performs the ultimate betrayl.
so used to white knuckling through pressures and bottling everything growing up with an over bearing angry father, and argumentive/explosive relationship with his wife. This, with a combination of depression and a paranoia, that had been forming for a while, are all to much to take and pats fragile mind finally snaps.
Unhinged, enraged with a sence of heartache and betrayl, pat attacks , pushing a shocked nikki aside who was trying to separate them repeatedly, pats assault carrys on hitting out regardless over and over, beating him bloodied, senseless, and broken to such a degree, that in the aftermath pats looking at some serious jail time.

Committed for medical help in a plea bargain for a minimum of eight months, in the aftermath pat loses everything, the understanding of friends at work , his job, his home, his wife, he is only getting into a routine when his family come to collect him, Forced by terms of release with no option but to move back in with his parents, while best intentioned and understanding the are unprepared for pats mental state, his behaviour, his way of thinking, the highs and lows and in between when your not yourself , and as any one who's faced mental issues knows the resistance to taking daily medication and therapy.

With this combination of this heartache and no meds pat delusionially believes that if he does everything he can, to improve himself physically, and educated in nikki's class silibus for conversation topics he and his wife can somehow re-connect, and prove that life isn't all doom and gloom for them, and maybe, just maybe if he does everything right, somehow, someway there is just a chance of a silverlining .

In his attempt to improve himself that doesn't involve him running around in a bin liner rocky style up the street, he forms an unuasual friendship with the little sister of his former next door neighbours wife, who unknown to pat when agreeing to a dinner one night, he was actually being setup with an equally troubled, depressed individual Tiffany, who is anything but conventional. Queue a number of inappropriate comments and trends that would trouble any sane host, yet seem fine to someone who's off meds or clued in on mental health issues, the dinner decends into chaos, ending almost a quick as it begins.

Yet somehow in there topsy tervy life, pat looks beyond the obvious and refuses to take advantage of Tiffany in a way like so many other men do on the walk home when she's low, and in subsequent bizarre meetings later there friendship grows. yet on one no med social date like so many times before Tiffany saying something without thinking, yet instantly she realises she is following a pattern she repeats over and over when she sees pats responce with an inappropriate conversation and worries she is only yet again being used by a man like so many times before and storms off..

Further things happen that night, that have consiquences for both of them. But Little did pat know that his actions the following day with genuine kind words with no strings attached and assistance in removing one of tiffanys many admirriers and mistakes when she was vounrable , were the actual reason she follows through with there deal, realising pat genuinely was concerned for her, to be treated as an equal, a true friend she can talk to openly, in a way few men have never been in her recent past, for once this was a chance to get something she's always dreamed of doing in return.
But like most things in this world from pats point of view her assistance comes at a price that would make any grown red blooded, American football fan initially cringe at the offer, but so desperate for his silver-lining, he agrees.

So begins a story of football, under counter betting, family, but above all else friendship.

There are some genuine attempt to show the lighter side of individuals who are often stereotyped and stigmatized when people face mental health issues to some degree, and that whist bizarre to an outsider, and sometimes troubling, or alternatively comical, as portrayed by " the jailhouse lawyer", inside we are all the same, as the saying goes, we think, we feel, we connect, all you need to do is look deeper than first impressions would allow, and not take advantage of someone's better or troubled nature, we're still the same person underneath.

The main parts played by Jennifer Lawrence and Bradley Cooper shine through a mixed performance cast, but the story is sadly predictable, and influenced by a number of other films , yet your left with the overwellming feeling that the over heavy presence of American football was added to fill the holes in the script as the story seems to drag towards the end. It won't appeal to everyone, and opinions will be divided however there is something to the story that is enchanting all the same.

So check it out you may be suprised, 7 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not as good as the hype, 9 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
disappointing because expectations had been raised, it comes together well at the end but my english sense of humour did not engage with the script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Silver Linings Playbook review, 16 Mar 2013
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
Such a great performance by Jennifer Lawrence. Bradley Cooper was also a surprise (I never liked him in any of his other movies). Both actors delivered good perforances and the story is very heartwarming and believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-breaking but heart-warming, 10 Mar 2013
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
Bradley Coopers stars as Pat Jr, a man just coming out of 8 months of treatment in an institution. Pat is mentally unstable after the breakdown of his marriage and is now diagnosed as bi-polar. It was wonderful to watch Pat's character develop throughout the film, going from a complete mess and not really knowing what was going on in his life to being at a point where he is content and happy. I'm not really Cooper's biggest fan and I have to say that if it hadn't been for Jennifer Lawrence, I don't think I would have watched this film. However, Cooper is fantastic as Pat and really puts a lot into the role. A large range of emotions were needed to be able to play this role and Cooper is extremely convincing as Pat. One minute he's very down and sad but the next he is so happy he bounces off of the walls. I have to say that Silver Linings Playbook may just have altered what I thought about Cooper.

Jennifer Lawrence is equally as good, if not better, in her role as Tiffany. She, just look Pat, is quite mentally unstable after the death of her husband. She's loud, brash and very outspoken which is what I loved about her. The two characters really complement each other well as they are often at two different sides of the spectrum. Tiffany is a very confused character, not always knowing exactly what she wants or the right thing to say. She doesn't have a filter on when she talks and just does and says anything she feels like. While this is a drama film, it is also a comedy and between Tiffany and Pat, there are plenty of funny moments between them. Much like Cooper, Lawrence needed to be able to be very open and emotional in this role and she does it well. The role is very different from others she has played such as Katniss in The Hunger Games. I do think this was a fantastic role for Lawrence to take because it shows that she is more than a one series actress and now she has really made a name for herself.

I also really enjoyed the plot as much as the main performances. Pat is absolutely obsessed with his wife Nikki who he is separated from. He doesn't really understand this though and is determined to show her that he has changed and is a better man. It was heart breaking to see Pat in constant states of denial or confusion because he couldn't understand why things were a certain way. When he meets Tiffany, things change because he is confronted with someone who is very similar to him and also going through similar problems. The outcome of the story was pretty predictable but I didn't mind that at all. I thought the lead up to, and the ending, were wonderfully done and very inspirational to others with mental health issues at the same time.

Something that did bug me about this film though was the way that it was shot. Some scenes would finish in a really random way that didn't really fit with the rest of the film. Some scenes are also extremely short, jumping from one thing to another very quickly which can be very confusing. However, this does also make it possible to be able to realise how Pat is feeling, with emotions all over the place. Don't be expecting to be wowed with the settings in this film either. The majority of the film takes place in a small town where Pat and Tiffany meet and while the shots of the street over the changing seasons were nice, they just weren't anything special. Silver Linings Playbook isn't a film about stunning scenery though. It's a film about the characters and all of the attention is on them instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dull, 26 Aug 2013
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
was looking forward to this but it was a big let down. the only redeeming feature was the acting (mainly bradley cooper). the writing was poor and the two main characters changed far too quickly. there was no comedy anywhere to be seen. it wasn't original or interesting. jennifer lawrence's character was meant to be a sex addict, but this did not come across at all in my opinion. i just don't get what all the fuss is about and feel it was just a case of people jumping on the bandwagon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two stars if it wasn't for Jennifer Lawrence, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
I don't often review romantic comedies which isn't to say, I don't enjoy a good one when it comes along. It got nominated for 8 Oscars and Jennifer Lawrence (whom I find very likeable) won Best Actress at the age of 23.

And I just didn't much care for it.

Maybe it's an American thing. Maybe it's just me.

Bradley Cooper has cracked up after his wife left him and he spent time inside the loony bin. Pretending to be more sane than he really is, he gets out and sets about making his life worse. He then meets up with Jennifer Lawrence who cracked up when her cop husband was killed. Their growing fractious relationship proves the salvation of them both.

At which point I can hear you giving a big AAHH! Unfortunately Cooper's character is as irritating and self-destructive as hell and his blue collar family led by an intensely irritating father played by De Niro in intensely irritating mode doesn't help.

It has its moments and some, scattered, good scenes but mostly it just didn't work for me. I can see why Lawrence won the Oscar as it's an astonishingly mature performance from a very young woman and I doubt if this will be the last time she's seen on the podium but that just wasn't enough.

Oh yes, and there's Chris Tucker in a supporting role and I always find him really annoying (I think I've over-used 'intensely irritating', though he really is and doubly so) which should have warned me from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Er......, 8 May 2013
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
I guess this isn't too bad a film. What I will say is Bradley Cooper depicts bi-polar very accurately and I quite like the sub plot about his dad, (Di Nero) trying to make money from gambling.
That said I just didn't like the film. It seems a bit glitzy and too happy go lucky, (the love story between Cooper and the female lead). Give me Fight Club any day of the week!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a rom com. I don't really do rom coms, 9 April 2013
By 
Karen (BRISTOL, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
I was enticed by the Oscar nominations. To be fair, the acting is superb? I haven't seem De Niro be so De Niro in a long time. Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence are the future. But it's still a rom com, quirky, a little cringey, if there is such a word, but still a rom com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a deceptively layered mainstream drama, 16 Jan 2013
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
David O Russell's Silver Linings Playbook was a deceptively layered mainstream romantic drama. The relationship between Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence came from a natural place, rather than somewhere steeped in over-sentimental contrivance, which made its pay-off a satisfying one. More so than that, O Russell via the novel from Matthew Quick offered a mature look at mental health, as something with shades of grey that everyone has some close contact with, rather than holding it at arm's length or making a joke out of it. On top of all this, it was held together by two stunning performances from Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence, as well as showing that Robert De Niro still has it. Silver Linings Playbook comes from a place where romantic drama wasn't a cheap ploy to get female bums on seats, but an honest and heartfelt place that the classics occupy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silver Linings Playbook [DVD]
Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] by David O. Russell (DVD - 2013)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews