Customer Reviews


260 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touching and funny - great curl up on the sofa flick
It might be Jennifer Lawrence who nabbed the Oscar, but this film is a real step up for Cooper. The premise is simple, two mentally unstable people find away to cope by being together, and unfortunately the whole thing is a little predictable.
That said, the film is full of great performances that really sizzle. I particularly liked De Niro's turn as a OCD bookmaker,...
Published 11 months ago by Jakeisthecoolest

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars sometimes painful but wise and affirming
The initial behaviours of both leads were hard to watch, and I was lost by the ball and betting strand, but there is something wise and affirming in this film. I didn't like the implied "get used to the fact that Nicky's not coming back", as if the broken inferior one has to accept that his love has moved on, although her behaviour around the break up does not...
Published 1 month ago by Elspeth


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touching and funny - great curl up on the sofa flick, 6 Aug 2013
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
It might be Jennifer Lawrence who nabbed the Oscar, but this film is a real step up for Cooper. The premise is simple, two mentally unstable people find away to cope by being together, and unfortunately the whole thing is a little predictable.
That said, the film is full of great performances that really sizzle. I particularly liked De Niro's turn as a OCD bookmaker, and the sparks between Lawrence and Cooper are excellent.
Not quite light-hearted enough to be an out-right rom-com, but plenty of humour keeps the topic of mental illness from becoming too somber and depressing.
Touches of Juno and Little Miss Sunshine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky Man, 2 Jun 2013
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
In a year of predictable,forgettable movies , "Silver Linings Playbook" is by far the best film that I have seen so far. It stands out by a mile from all of the dross that I have watched in the cinema and on DVD. It has great acting, memorable characterisation and likeable (if often abrasive) characters. The film also portrays mental illness in an exceptional way, as both of the leading figures are mentally disturbed following bereavement and marital break up.Bradley Cooper plays a man who has just been released from a mental institution following a violent assault on his wife's lover after he caught them in flagrante in the shower together. However Cooper believes that despite his wife's restraining order he can fix up their marriage again. Cooper starts the film off as a manic character who perhaps should have stayed in an institution,rather than return to live with his parents. However he calms down a lot after he meets Jennifer Lawrence's Tiffany, a recently widowed young woman who has gone off the rails like him. Together they form a friendship which calms them both down and they start dancing together as therapy and enter a competition. However Cooper still seems fixated on reconciling with his wife , while Lawrence forms deep feelings for him. Will the well matched pair get it together in the end and help put an end to the mania and craziness that is affecting their lives ? I liked this film as it was ultimately warm hearted and I thought how lucky Cooper's character was to be surrounded by so much love and support from family and friends, when without that he could have been condemned to a life in a mental institution. In reality characters like him may well be shunned by former friends, by the opposite sex and rejected by embarrassed family members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny., 1 Dec 2012
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
In 'Silver Linings Playbook' Bradley Cooper's bi- polar character, newly released from a psychiatric hospital, is determined to regain the love of his estranged wife, who he is bound by a restraining order from getting within 500 yards of. Into his life comes Jennifer Lawrence's 'Tiffany,' a straight talking widow working through her own 'issues' as she deals with her husband's death. What evolves from here is the effect these two damaged and abrasive individuals have on each other in a progressively funny, touching and yes, uplifting film.

Indeed it is an often laugh out loud experience with much of the humour coming from both characters inability not to say whatever is on their mind. Occasionally though, just as you are laughing, a scene edges into drama and reveals the darker side of their personalities and how their behaviour affects those close to them and we are reminded that these characters are not simply just `wacky' or `quirky' but are complex people living with a degree of mental illness that sometimes manifests itself through frustration and violence.

Bradley Cooper is good in the lead role but the stand out is Jennifer Lawrence who sparkles when on screen and proves here that she can handle comedy as well as sci- fi {'Hunger Games'} and indie {'Winter's Bone.'} The praise she has gotten for this role is fully justified. Watch the scene where she takes on Robert Deniro {as Cooper's father} to be impressed by her talent.

In the last quarter the film basically ditches the theme of mental illness and lets it's 'rom com' heart loose going for a more typical 'Hollywood' ending as it races towards a largely sentiment and schmaltz free conclusion in a dance competition plot climax.

A hugely enjoyable and funny film that should'nt be taken too seriously and is probably only worth 4 stars but gets an extra one just for Jennifer Lawrence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and charming, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Mark B (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Based on the novel by Matthew Quick (an excellent adaption, by the way - if you liked the film you'll almost certainly enjoy the book, and vice versa), this is an original and thought-provoking romantic comedy, but don't let those two words' usual Hollywood connotations put you off.

The actual story centres on two troubled individuals each trying to come to terms with tragedy and mental illness in their lives, and their impact on those around them, who find themselves drawn together despite themselves.

Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence are both absolutely glorious (Lawrence rightly won an oscar for her performance, Cooper was nominated but lost out, almost inevitably, to Day-Lewis' Lincoln), and the film's worth watching just for these two alone, though the supporting cast is equally fantastic (yet more nominations!). The subtle weaving of pathos and hope with humour and humanity really makes this film stand out. I saw Ruby Sparks at around the same time, too, and I'd put them together as two of my favourite films of the year.

Silver Linings Playbook has become one of my favourite films altogether.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crazy In Love, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. J. Ryden (In your mind, in the part you've forgotten about.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
I was determined not to like 'Silver Linings'. I set my stall out in advance; knowing I wouldn't enjoy yet another chick flick, as it was the wife's turn to choose. However I figured i'd be the bigger person and not make my disdain evident. As it happens, five minutes in I knew I was going to like it; by the end it was all I could do to hide my enthusiasm ('ha, see I told you!).

Bradley Cooper plays Pat brilliantly, recently released from a psychiatric hospital whose only goal is to be reunited with his estranged wife; convincing himself that if he only shed a few pounds and became a better person they could pick up where they left off. Jennifer Lawrence is equally excellent as Tiffany (with issues of her own) whom he befriends as a vehicle to establish contact with said estranged wife. De Niro is weirdly cast against type - which works really well - as Pat's father, clearly uncomfortable around his son (I found it highly amusing as his OCD behaviour only escapes attention by virtue of Pat's illness). With Jacki Weaver as his wife - quite possibly the only 'sane' character in the story.

At heart Silver Linings 'is' the archetypal love story (will they; won't they) however with far more depth and pathos than I expected. It does very well to toe the fine line between being overly mawkish or dispiriting. While at times it is an extremely sad film (musn't let the wife see me cry, dammit) there are enough moments of levity to maintain the right tempo. Overall the fact that it manages all this in an understated manner is a testament to the director and very able cast.

In short, a wonderful feel good film which tackles the themes of loss, mental health and love with a measured hand. Definitely my favourite non-horror film of the last year or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jennifer Lawrence is outstanding, 10 Jan 2013
I don't think I can wait any longer for this film to come out on DVD. I think it shows perfectly the amazing acting talent that is the stunning Jennifer Lawrence. This film is light, funny and enthralling for saying it has a focus on mental illness. Definitely a feel good film, with great lead characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, must-see film, 19 May 2013
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
Mental illness isn't a typical topic for a Hollywood film, but hurrah for the fact they were brave enough to make this film. With powerful, poignant performances from leads Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence, and a great supporting cast, this is far from typical rom-com froth.

Pat, newly released from a psychiatric facility, has one obsession - getting himself back on track so he can win back his wife Nikki. His dysfunctional family just want him to be ok. Life changes for Pat when he meets Tiffany, a woman who has problems of her own, and who offers to help him get in touch with his wife, provided he does something for her in return.

This is a story of real people, real lives, and what it's like to have - or have a loved one with - a mental illness. It's an intelligent film, and while there are some funny moments, it's more a drama than a comedy in my opinion. Gripping, gritty, poignant and real, I really warmed to Pat and Tiffany, and this film stayed with me after watching. It's an important film because mental illness is very common but still very much a taboo, and very isolating for those who suffer. Anything that helps to break down barriers has to be a good thing, and I believe this film gives a good insight into bipolar conditions. I highly recommend it for this reason, and for the incredible performances from the leads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelsior, 2 May 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
Want to meet a family obsessed? Welcome to Pat's family. Pat played by Bradley Cooper has signed himself out of a Baltimore Mental Facility, his mother, Delores, played by JackiWeaver, picks him up. Another patient wants a ride home, but Delores finds out he is not released. Home they go to Pat, Sr played by Robert DeNiro. This may be Deniro's best role in awhile. He plays an obsessed Philly Eagles fan, he bets money and runs an illegal game. He can't go to the stadium because he was kicked out for fighting. Pat, Jr 's goal is to get back with his wife. He caused some violence in their marriage and went for therapy in Baltimore in lieu of jail. He has been diagnosed as Bi-polar. The family obsessed!

That is the intro, into the mix comes Tiffany, played by Jennifer Lawerence, a young widow who has played around a lot. She has a goal to enter a dance contest and needs a partner, enter, Pat Jr. A rollicking funny, fast , sad time ensues, and we meet more family and friends. This is a love story and a story about people with problems who try to find their way.

Deniro's deserved an Oscar or his role. I loved his character. JackiWeaver, Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence were all terrific. A terrific film. I urge everyone to see it.

Recommended. prisrob 05-02-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 April 2013
This for me was the best film of 2012 - I go the cinema every week and watch pretty much everything that comes out. This film for me was surprisingly brilliant. It had me hooked from the getgo to the very end.

I have read the book and the film is quite different to the book. The father's character, the dance comp and a few other bits. I enjoyed both equally.

Jennifer's character was very funny (and worthy of the Oscar) and Bradley again had me in stitches, especially when he doesn't like reading a certain book. You could really feel the chemistry between the characters.

A feel good film that makes you believe in Silver Linings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing Film & Cast !, 14 Feb 2013
This review is from: Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best films i'v seen in a long time. A good example of a film that explores the elements of a good hybrid film, depicting conventions of romance, comedy and drama. The acting is superb, even down to the smaller parts i.e Chris Tucker. Jennifer Lawrence is definitely a stand out, hence why she's won pretty much every award possible for her portrayal of the eponymous 'Tiffany'. David O Russell continues his winning streak with this film, Absolutely amazing and a definite must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silver Linings Playbook [DVD]
Silver Linings Playbook [DVD] by David O. Russell (DVD - 2013)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews