Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


379 of 411 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anti-Climax???
This film is an introduction to a day in the life of Dredd, it doesn't need to be complex, it just needs to show one Judge's belief in getting the job done...and that's what DREDD has done. The pre-release interviews state it's for the fans and the comics were always about Dredd dealing with situations, no character building only Justice.

For the reviewers...
Published on 8 Nov. 2012 by Razor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vast improvements on the first incarnation
Dredd is an efficient, brutal action film which finally does justice to a brand all but destroyed but the misguided efforts of Sylvester Stallone. Brilliantly portrayed by Karl Urban this Dredd is powerful and imposing and doesn't throw out any cheesy one liners. He has menace and a sense of justice long forgotten.

The story is slight and well executed. Here...
Published 17 months ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 2134 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

379 of 411 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anti-Climax???, 8 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Dredd [DVD] (DVD)
This film is an introduction to a day in the life of Dredd, it doesn't need to be complex, it just needs to show one Judge's belief in getting the job done...and that's what DREDD has done. The pre-release interviews state it's for the fans and the comics were always about Dredd dealing with situations, no character building only Justice.

For the reviewers stating this film has an anti-climax, you really didn't get it.....OK there was no "boss fight", but that was the point, to Dredd, Ma-Ma was just another Perp in an everyday event in Mega City One, she derserved no more screen time at the finale than Dredd gave her, his job is to enforce Judgement to Criminals, that's what he did, then went straight back out to tackle more scum in Mega City's crime ridden existence. He is old Stoney Face, and his committment to the Justice Dept. is his chartacter, this film has always been for the fans, I for one am glad of the low budget and lack of interference from the Hollywood Gloss and Dross.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


178 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Urban Dredd, 24 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dredd [DVD] (DVD)
Best action film I've seen in years. Short of starring Clint Eastwood in his prime you could not wish for a better Dredd than Karl Urban. He is Dredd.
And it is not a horrible PG watered down action film either. It's proper blood spraying old school violent. The soundtrack is great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He IS the Law!, 19 Sept. 2013
By 
J. Child "John" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
I have been dying to see a true adaptation of the Judge Dredd comics and it seemed to take an awful long time for someone to stand up and say 'Hey, lets remake Judge Dredd' and what with comic book movies being the main revenue source of most films companies these days, I'm really surprised this wasn't picked up earlier. Even Spiderman AND Superman got rebooted twice in less than 10 years!

This film is the true incarnation of the comic, yes minus the huge golden shoulder pads. It's set in a futuristic America after a global war. People are reduced to living in an extremely over populated 'Mega City' where crime is rife. The government found that the only way to combat the ever increasing crime and disorder were to give the police the ability to judge a criminal there and then... That premise to what Judges do alone creates an interesting scenario on its own.

This film is violent, without a shadow of a doubt and I do hear a lot of people not custom to the Dredd comics complaining about this. But to take away the violence would then strip the nature of what life is like in the Mega city and thereby removing the necessity for the Judge's role.

The story in the film itself is generic. Good guys stuck in a building with the odds greatly stacked against them, having to make their way to the top to take out the boss. The different here is that this is Judge Dredd with a rookie partner, who happens to be psychic, making their way to the top in the most calculative, violent way possible.

What has tarnished this is the Stallone version that came out in 1995. That and the fact that most theatres didn't show this long enough, there was only a 3D option when it was showing and very little to no PR went into it. Once word of mouth got around at how good it is it was already taken off from theatres.

Dredd is a good action movie that sticks closely to the source material which makes a nice change for a comic book movie. Karl Urban to me has found his Christopher Reeve to Superman. You don't need to have read the comics to understand what's going on. Also a nice change to mention is that the film goes straight into the plot, there is no hour and a half origin plot followed by 30 min of action. It's b**ls to the wall straight to the point. Get this. Watch it. Enjoy it and sign the petition to get the sequel!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He IS THE LAW...(And finally someone has done him justice!), 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
O.k. I am a huge fan of the comics. I never got into the safe, coffee table marvel comic story lines and always fel Dredd to have more of an edge with its drug addicts, terrorists, mutants and serial killers that filled the story lines. For years i looked forward to the movie...then Stallone did one that was NOT anything to do with the comic OR character.......and that was that!...until now!

The Good-
Its shot in a dirty, grimy way (as Mega City One should be) some people are complaining about this but i understand this was done to make the 'Slow Mo' scenes much more clear and sharp which moves me onto my next point. The Slow Mo scenes were absolutely beautiful, they were shot in extreme slow motion with a track that sounded like Loscil's 'Argonaut'. The effect was a tiny glimpse into the mind of a poor drug taker seeing a snatched moment of perfection in an otherwise ugly world...i remember the scene with Ma Ma in the bath and the droplets of water looked like a a shower of diamonds floating in the air. Cinematically combining these moments with the grey, grim futuristic settings with only flashes of sickly and nuclear yellows to draw the eye i was impressed.
Its Good Vs Evil in a strictly darwinian way. The justice is doled out in a totally impartial way...many people have said this is pure fascism but these people obviously do not know the story behind the judges...retirement is called 'the long walk' and means leaving Mega City One to wander the cursed earth and try to bring justice to the mutant wastelands. The Judges are selfless upholders of the law who reap no reward other than seeing a perp get what they deserve.
Dredd the man was a job well done by Mr Urban, admittedly its not the hardest role to act but it requires a little subtlety in his growls that Dredd fans like myself saw and appreciated. Anderson was as fragile and uncertain as any rookie would be on the job (i loved her mental battles with the gang member 'Kay') MaMa was probably the most evil (and skanky) looking female criminal i have seen on the screen in a long time! i really felt for the tech guy who was terrified of her! Yes their was no glorious end-of-level shoot-out with the boss...MaMa was just another perp to Dredd and he summed up the understatement when the Chief Judge asked him at the end what happened here and he simply replied '...Drug bust'

The Bad-
These are just little gripes of my own as a huge fan...I would have loved to have seen more of Mega City One and its huge range of interesting sub-cultures. The city looked a little sparse and it should have been a little more like bladerunner complete with hover pods flying about. It did not feel as futuristic as the comic.
The marketing and the 'Stallone Dredd Factor'...basically killing this film at the box office as everyone thought "oh they have re-made that crappy movie?" and thus it did not make it its targets for a sequel deal however....Its wonderful to see this has become an instant cult classic and the Blu Ray & DVD sales and fan interest will probably put the baddest Lawman in the planet up where he belongs!

Summary-
Loved it!I cannot wait for the sequel!!!...then i can start getting excited for Dredd 3!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bullet in the Face!, 25 Mar. 2013
By 
Charles - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dredd [DVD] (DVD)
Judge Dredd is a Dirty Harry style tough guy law enforcer in a fascist police state where the police (called judges) are judge, jury and executioner dispensing instant justice on the crime ridden streets of future America.

This film is more grittier and believable than the comics it's based on or the previous terrible Stallone movie. Karl Urban makes a very good Dredd and true to the comics his face is always hidden by his helmet.

This is most definitely a violent 80s style action flick. There is not much story line, Dredd and rookie Anderson become trapped in a massive block of flats after a drugs bust goes wrong, they end up fighting their way to the top to take out drug lord Ma Ma. Ma Ma is the manufacturer of a drug called Slow Mo that slows down a person's perception of time. Slow Motion is used to great effect in the movie for scenes like slow motion gun fights, showing people getting shot in the face in slow motion is both gruesome and beautiful at the same time.

This may be a simple story line action movie but I think there is some interesting social commentary here about the use of drugs as a source of happiness in hellish environments and even some small character development in the Anderson character (and maybe even in Dredd??).

There have been some complaints about the movie not having a climax as Ma Ma does not put up much of a fight, but in my opinion the big end movie fight comes from the corrupt judges Ma Ma calls to her aid not Ma Ma herself.

When this movie came out a big fuss was made about the 3D effects, unfortunately I have only seen the DVD version which is not 3D so I cannot comment on the 3D effects. I suspect that the movie loses something without the 3D effects so you might want to get the 3D Blue Ray version instead of the no 3D DVD version.

Extras on the DVD are English subtitles, some interviews with the actors, writers and directors. There are also some very short segments about the original comic, special effects and other stuff.

A very violent 80s Dirty Harry style action movie that will appeal to people who like those kinds of films or fans of the comic but is unlikely to sway people outside that group and I think this explains the mixed reception it's getting from reviewers. Personally I am a fan of the comic and thought the movie was pretty cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dredd offers more bullets than words, 26 Jan. 2013
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dredd [DVD] (DVD)
Judge Dredd is an icon of British comics, being the mainstay of 2000AD since Prog 2. The comic strip has a lot of fans, and this film has been loving put together by some of them. From a fans point of view the film is jam packed with little references and in jokes that show a respect for the original material. 2000AD was the original home of the creators of The Losers, The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, Watchmen, V for Vendetta and A History of Violence.

Karl Urban supplies a suitable chin and growl to play a laconic Dredd, offering more bullets than words. The story is humanised by Olivia Thirlby as Cassandra Anderson, and their captive perp. The plot is straightforward, but just manages to avoid tipping into torture porn, psychedelic slo mo, or endless video game shoot em up style footage. If you have seen Robocop then you know what to expect. There is a constant momentum to the story, and a good selection of classic Dredd lines, things slacken off slightly towards the end, and the final showdown is a little limp, but things end on a suitable note, setting things up nicely for a sequel.

There are a good selection of extras, nice to see such 2000AD luminaries as John Wagner (legend) and Jock, but the interviews don't so much seem to have been edited as chucked on the floor, cut up and glued back together by monkeys. Some of the interviewees seem distinctly shell shocked, as if they had just been briefed moments before. The menus are also distinctly so so.

For non fans this is a decent enough action film if they are willing to stick with it beyond the first twenty minutes where the tone shifts uneasily from action to uncomfortable intensity. The film sets up the potential franchise nicely, with a wealth of potential Dredd stories still to be told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't wait to get this on DVD., 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dredd [DVD] (DVD)
The Film:

Usual story, Hollywood stays faithful to the source material, doesn't compromise on rating, get's a great actor to play Dredd... and the filmgoing public stay away. But don't be disheartened, for finally Dredd has come to the silver screen and even if there will be no more sequels, we can still enjoy this outing for Dredd courtesy of Alex Garland's no-compromise script.

Whilst I'm a little disheartened that Mega City One seems to be a bit more of a futuristic Glasgow (and they got the violence about right too), it doesn't really have the hussle and bussle of the comic. This may be down to budget, but the film looks superb and the aesthetic they've gone for works well too.

Also, the costumes are excellent as well. Rather than going for the ornate version from the comics, the Judges uniform is more akin to riot gear, bashed, dirty and as though they've been put through their paces every single day.

I do miss a little bit of the humour from the comic, but this is 100% pure Dredd. Karl Urban get's the "Dirty Harry" vibe just right, and Judge Anderson is superb as well.

The DVD:

The extras are fair enough (and a welcome addition), but the DVD quality with regards to box and disc itself are rather poor. The menu system looks like it was slapped together during someone's lunchbreak in Photoshop. But it's the film that matters here and the film quality seems to be very good.

I'm hoping that if this release sells well, then we might get a nice collector's box at some point. Dredd has the makings of a cult film and may prove to just be a slow burner for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dredd - Blu-Ray, 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
As a now middle aged, former childhood fan of the 2000 AD comics, like many others I had been waiting for a good film to come out based on one of the many great characters these comics produced. Like most people have said before Sly's version of Dredd is really the only offering until now. (Sly's film in my opinion was a reasonable effort back in the day & featured many of the the Dredd characters, but was lacking in many areas).
Now comes Karl Urban's take on a day in the life of super cop Dredd, and wow for me this film is the real deal. It is what I think a Dredd film should be like & can only hope this is the first of a new franchise. For fans of the character, I think they will appreciate what the film is trying to do & staying as true to the original stories as possible. (It's good that the film doesn't waste time trying to explain little things like Dredds gun, the law giver, and how it works etc). The only slight let down was Dredd's bike, which I thought could have been bettered and made to look more like the bike I remember. (Think Batmans bike from the recent films).
As for the Blu-ray film itself, I personally did not really notice any "grainy" effects as others have mentioned. I would definately recommend this film to any man / boy sci-fi lover into action films. The only other slight let down is the extras. These are a bit short & repetetive for me. Otherwise buy & enjoy a future classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 23 Jan. 2013
By 
D. Woods (DURHAM, DURHAM United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
This is a very gritty, very uncompromising film that has harsh violence, some dark comedy and brutal action. In fact, everything you could possibly want from a film about Judge Dredd! Its such a shame the box office returns were not better, as it could hamper the chances of a sequel, but I would absolutley love to see Karl Urban don the helmet once again. Olivia Thirlby also does s superb job as Judge Anderson - bringing the 'heart' to the film. Every other character is played perfectly as well, including Lena Headey as the villainous 'Ma-Ma'. A character that so easily could have been over the top, but instead she plays it with quiet, controlled menace. The low-ish budget prevents us from really getting a good look at Mega City One, but we see enough to give us an idea of the 'life' of the city. The CGI is used sparingly and well. I only wished I could have seen the film in 3D, as I can see how some of the scenes have been designed for it - and they would look fantastic! A lot was said at the time of release that this film is very similiar to The Raid - a movie that shares almost the same exact plot (cops get caught in an apartment building ruled by a drug lord, then have to fight their way out), but I would say both films have a different 'feel', different types of action and different approaches. In fact, I think they would both make a pretty good double-bill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uber cool action picture, 21 Jan. 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dredd [DVD] (DVD)
Dredd is the perfect anti hero and this dark action picture hits the mark dead on. He's like a tougher combination of Snake Plissken and Robocop and I thought Karl Urban was very convincing in the role. The set-up shot of the cursed earth as it crawled towards the walled mega city did a great job of setting the scene for me, as did the sweeping shots looking down at the streets below. I though the set dressing was perfect, giving a real sense of scale and depravation in terms of the massive mega blocks. I thought the inhabitants were a superbly realised version of what the future might hold for us "normal poor people". The movie itself is dripping with bloody and brutal action which is entirely in context to the situation that Dredd and his rookie partner find themselves in. I foolishly believed some of the early bad reviews and had prepared myself for a lacklustre experience. The reviews and the trailer gave me misconcieved ideas about Lena Heady being the only villain of the piece, and the Anderson character, thinking that she wouldn't have much impact. Thankfully the movie delivered in both style and substance and I found myself enjoying every minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2134 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray)
Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) by Pete Travis (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews