Customer Reviews


1,296 Reviews
5 star:
 (885)
4 star:
 (249)
3 star:
 (78)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


376 of 406 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anti-Climax???
This film is an introduction to a day in the life of Dredd, it doesn't need to be complex, it just needs to show one Judge's belief in getting the job done...and that's what DREDD has done. The pre-release interviews state it's for the fans and the comics were always about Dredd dealing with situations, no character building only Justice.

For the reviewers...
Published on 8 Nov. 2012 by Razor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 3D only
Bought this film from tesco and quality was snowy and crackly, took it back and tried another which was the same - just assumed it was a bad batch so got a refund. Bought this one and had the same problem very poor quality. I have a blue-ray player which is fine for every other film so im wondering if its because this film is dual 3D + blue-ray, it wont play properly...
Published 8 months ago by andrea rowland


‹ Previous | 1 2130 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

376 of 406 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anti-Climax???, 8 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Dredd [DVD] (DVD)
This film is an introduction to a day in the life of Dredd, it doesn't need to be complex, it just needs to show one Judge's belief in getting the job done...and that's what DREDD has done. The pre-release interviews state it's for the fans and the comics were always about Dredd dealing with situations, no character building only Justice.

For the reviewers stating this film has an anti-climax, you really didn't get it.....OK there was no "boss fight", but that was the point, to Dredd, Ma-Ma was just another Perp in an everyday event in Mega City One, she derserved no more screen time at the finale than Dredd gave her, his job is to enforce Judgement to Criminals, that's what he did, then went straight back out to tackle more scum in Mega City's crime ridden existence. He is old Stoney Face, and his committment to the Justice Dept. is his chartacter, this film has always been for the fans, I for one am glad of the low budget and lack of interference from the Hollywood Gloss and Dross.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A deserving live-action for The Judge, 5 Jun. 2013
By 
Marcelo Duarte Ferrari (Ribeirão Preto, SP - Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Dredd isn't very well known outside the UK, so it's understandable that this movie didn't get the attention it deserves. It goes without saying that this is a must-have for any Dredd fan, but it's also a great addition to your collection if you're like gritty, violent, distopian-future films. You're gonna love the super slow-motion shootouts.

The character itself is very well treated. Both the direction and the script respects and acknowledges the source material, with Karl Urban keeping his promise of never — ever — removing his helmet onscreen.

Don't expect the usual from adapted material: this movie won't cover world-changing events, it's just one more day in the job for the most badass Judge of Mega-City One and the rookie he grudgingly has to evaluate. Expect explicit violence, vocabulary and imagery. This isn't a pretty world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did it fail?, 24 April 2013
This review is from: Dredd [DVD] (DVD)
I was a huge 2000AD fan back in my day and still hold onto a neat stack of comics in my attic. When they announced the film I drooling, when I saw the trailer the saliva flowed and when I saw the film I damn well almost drowned. I have read much on the net written about why it did badly, from adult rating, poor release timing, bad marketing and 3D only. I will not venture an opinion, but I have hardly read a bad review and both critics and audience lavished it with praise. I love this film and only wish that the sequels could somehow get made (come on Euro lottery was need a +£100 million payout)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dredd good, 14 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
The basic aim of Dredd is simple - it needs to be bold, true to the source material and full of juicy violence, enough to wipe out the memories of the notoriously poor Stallone attempt of 1995 that threw plenty of money at the screen without bothering to work on anything resembling a decent script.

e film is written by long time fan Alex Garland (28 Days later, Sunshine), and has had plenty of input from Dredd's creator (and still main writer even now) John Wagner. Filmed in South Africa on what passes for a tight budget these days (especially for Sci-Fi), it could be compared to District 9 in terms of the sheer effort put into it, with a result that is similarly impressive although aesthetically miles apart. Director Pete Travis (Endgame) does an excellent job, and between them they have turned in a film that will stand the test of time as a superior, adult action movie.

The premise is reasonably simple, something that works well as an introduction to what is, in the comics at least, a sprawling future world. Dredd is accompanied on patrol by rookie Judge Anderson, very well played by Olivia Thirlby, who is on the verge of failing her final assessment but is being given a second chance because of her powerful, and rare, psi abilities. A routine triple homicide (it's that sort of city) turns into a siege when they are trapped in a massive tower block by criminal nutjob Ma Ma (Lena Headey) and forced to fight their way out and stop her manufacturing the addictive new drug, Slo Mo. Obviously there's a bit more to it than that, but this is the basic set up and it works very well indeed, allowing for plenty of violence, some character development and no few explosions.

I can't write this review without focusing on Karl Urban, who has previously stood out for his excellent turn as Dr McCoy in the Star Trek revival. Not afraid to go through an entire movie with a helmet on, he is spot on as Dredd. He gives us an emotionless machine, a man who cares for nothing but the law, but a man you want to get behind and cheer on as he splats bad guys left right and centre. The humanity comes from Anderson, and it helps that Thirlby doesn't have to wear a helmet herself, with the handy excuse that it interferes with her psi abilities. Between them they give us the tired old wardog and the 21 year old rookie on the streets for the first time, and you sympathise with the life of a Mega City Judge.

Some people have criticized the apparent similarities between Dredd and the recent film The Raid: Redemption, in which Indonesian cops storm a tower block and much chop sockey ensues. To be honest, I was a little worried myself, but having seen both films I can happily confirm that they are nothing alike. Whilst The Raid is a pretty intense martial arts film which is rather dull between fights (although the fights are awesome), Dredd is a tight film all the way through, with the plot more than an excuse to go from fight to fight.

In conclusion, I can heartily recommend this film, in case you hadn't guessed. It's sort of like a cross between Robocop and Die Hard, all moderned up and with better music. It's no coincidence that those are two of the most kick ass action films ever, and Dredd borrows from the best, although as Robocop stole from Dredd in the first place it's more like recovering pinched property. The 3D is actually worth shelling out for, and there are some beautiful sequences where it comes into it's own, whilst the film itself is gritty and dirty, although not without a few lighter moments amidst the carnage. The humour in Dredd's comic strips comes from the city around him rather than his own actions, and here's hoping we'll see Alex Garland penning a sequel that allows us to wander through Dredd's world. Quite simply a superior action film, and whilst it's no masterpiece (then again, it's not supposed to be) it's as good as fans could ever have hoped. Here's to the sequels...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


175 of 194 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Urban Dredd, 24 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dredd [DVD] (DVD)
Best action film I've seen in years. Short of starring Clint Eastwood in his prime you could not wish for a better Dredd than Karl Urban. He is Dredd.
And it is not a horrible PG watered down action film either. It's proper blood spraying old school violent. The soundtrack is great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Film - Great Blu-ray - Disappointing Extras, 6 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
DROKK IT!!!! This is one of only 3 movies I saw theatrically last year which saw me leaving the cinema grinning from ear to ear. For my money, forget The Dark Knight Rises, Dredd was THE coolest comic book character brought to big screen life in 2012.

A no nonsense, straightforward, hyper reality violent throwback to the movies of Paul Verhoeven like Total Recall and Robocop, Dredd glowers and grunts his way through this 90 minutes just like he should. I wont go into the specifics of the movie as anyone who knows already knows but the team behind Dredd deserve huge credit for giving us an adult action movie which really delivers. Karl Urban OWNS the role of Dredd now and Olivia Thirlby is brilliant as rookie Judge Anderson. Lena Heady also gives us an understated turn as baddie Ma-Ma.

The Blu-ray picture is crisp, clean and sharp as I would expect from a newly shot movie and the sound is superb. The 3D, I havent been able to verify, not having a 3D TV as yet, but in the cinema it was quite impressive. (and Im usually not a fan of 3D) However, I must knock a star off this product as I think the extras are very meagre. A 15 minute look at the history of Dredd which, while good, should be at least double the length. A 15 minute look at the VFX of the movie, a snippet on the gadgets in the film, a trailer, a look at the tower block location and a couple of interviews round up the selection we get. I would have loved a more in depth look at the evolution and making of the film and possibly a commentary or two from the guys behind it.

The lack of significant extras aside however this is a winner every day of the week and I would urge everyone with even a passing interest to buy a copy of the movie. In fact, buy two!!!! It did well here in the UK but bombed relatively hard in the US, taking a paltry $15 million at the box office. So we need it to recoup its $50 million budget on the home video market to at least give us a chance to see a sequel!!! So buy, buy, buy, buy. Now!!! It IS the law!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 2 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
After hearing that it did not do well at the box office I was not expecting much. However, it was terrific and clearly did not pander to the sort of market that the lamentable Stallone one did. I really hope that this earns the studio a sleeper hit and they make their money back because I would love to see another one like it.
Urban was just what was needed and I thought Thirby did pretty well too. Heady was not bad either.
The slo mo idea was good and the no holds barred violence was well done as a result.
The sentence is...excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I am the law!, 19 Jun. 2013
By 
Brock Lesnar (Weston Super Mud, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dredd [DVD] (DVD)
I've been waiting for this film since first reading 2000AD when I was about 10. Karl Urban is great as Dredd, very much like his younger Apocalypse War version, complete badass! This is such a great set up film much like Batman begins led to the awesome Dark knight. Great flowing action, I really hope they make a series of films featuring all of Dredds great enimies 'The Dark Judges' 'Orlok' 'PJ Maybe' there are so many to choose from. Anyway a must for any comic or action fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 29 April 2013
This review is from: Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
This version of Dredd is awesome.. it is a comic film that is made as it should be with no holds barred
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 23 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Gritty, dirty, dark. Dredd is not Spider-Man. He's not a nice guy. This isn't a movie about saving the word from eminent destruction. It's a movie about another s***ty day in the life of Judge Dredd. And it kicks ass!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2130 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray)
Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray) by Pete Travis (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews