Customer Reviews


988 Reviews
5 star:
 (682)
4 star:
 (186)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 96 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "When he speaks he never says it twice"
Most others who enjoyed this movie approached it with low expectations and came away shocked by how good it was. My expectations were high because I'd read a lot of positive reviews by the time it reached my part of the world, but my reaction was pretty much the same.

This is the kind of simple, taut action movie I thought people had forgotten how to make. It...
Published 11 months ago by A.C.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, poor Bluray
The movie is really good and was looking forward to owning this on BD, but the upscaling has been done a bit badly. Pity. As a film like this deserves to be seen in HD. I think having the 2D and 3D versions on the same disc effected quality?!
On a positive note, it does have the 3D version as well, not that I care for 3D really, but handy for those who do.
Published 13 months ago by Rincewind


‹ Previous | 1 2 399 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did it fail?, 24 April 2013
This review is from: Dredd [DVD] (DVD)
I was a huge 2000AD fan back in my day and still hold onto a neat stack of comics in my attic. When they announced the film I drooling, when I saw the trailer the saliva flowed and when I saw the film I damn well almost drowned. I have read much on the net written about why it did badly, from adult rating, poor release timing, bad marketing and 3D only. I will not venture an opinion, but I have hardly read a bad review and both critics and audience lavished it with praise. I love this film and only wish that the sequels could somehow get made (come on Euro lottery was need a +£100 million payout)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST REMAKE AROUND, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie is a really good remake the world looks really good the story simple to follow with dredd taking on a rookie with physic powers to show her the ropes to see if she makes the grade when they stumble across a gang related murder and are then trapped inside the tower block one of many in the city and are hunted down in this setting yes it the main setting of the movie but it works the bad guy ma ma trying to protect a secrete from coming out about whats shes doing by trying to kill one of her gang members from talking

Karl urban does a really good job of playing the judge dredd he made the role his own I felt throughout dredd was a complete badass doing what had to be done with no compromise his rookie also does a good job of holding her own shes not just a boring sidekick or to look pretty she kicks ass also this movie has really cleaver witty writing andthat is key in any good movie because the writing or script can really kill a movie it does it realy well

in conclusion this is a solid remake with decent amount of action witty writing my only problem is it left me wanting more or at least should of been 30min longer not because it needed it but deserved it I paid £7.50 for it its was a steal and on Blu-ray with 3D version included
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last....Justice for Dredd, 22 July 2013
By 
C Schalck "Carlos The DJ" (Denton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Now that's how you slap a comic book on the screen!

Amazing visuals (even in 2D), ultraviolence, ultraswearing and ultrafaithful to the books.

Karl Urban's grimace is the single best piece of casting I've seen in years, and Lena Headey really is turning into screen badass badguy of choice.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judgement Time, 21 July 2013
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dredd [DVD] (DVD)
Karl Urban playing Clint Eastwood playing Judge Dredd is just one of the pleasures of this all-action (and lots of film blood) film. It seems to me much closer to the original comic than the Stallone film and it uses the structure of the block to generate a first-person shooter feel as our heroes fight their way through. Since many of its target audience are experts in both comic and games this is an excellent move. The film lovingly embraces the technology of Dredd and the back story of Megacity. The villains are horrid but not one dimensional, and Rookie Anderson introduces a new element to the plot. I really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A deserving live-action for The Judge, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Marcelo Duarte Ferrari (Ribeirão Preto, SP - Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dredd isn't very well known outside the UK, so it's understandable that this movie didn't get the attention it deserves. It goes without saying that this is a must-have for any Dredd fan, but it's also a great addition to your collection if you're like gritty, violent, distopian-future films. You're gonna love the super slow-motion shootouts.

The character itself is very well treated. Both the direction and the script respects and acknowledges the source material, with Karl Urban keeping his promise of never — ever — removing his helmet onscreen.

Don't expect the usual from adapted material: this movie won't cover world-changing events, it's just one more day in the job for the most badass Judge of Mega-City One and the rookie he grudgingly has to evaluate. Expect explicit violence, vocabulary and imagery. This isn't a pretty world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dredd (Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray), 3 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome Movie, I would strongly recommend this one for an evening watch. Great special effects and some very good acting, puts Sylvester Stallone's version to shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 29 April 2013
This version of Dredd is awesome.. it is a comic film that is made as it should be with no holds barred
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He is the Lawwwwwwwwwww, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing film, very gory and amusing in places. I am told it is a hell of a lot closer to the 2000AD comics Judge Dredd than the Stallone version. I saw it in 3D at the Cinema (I'm not made of money so no 3D TV for me) and it was really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable violence., 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I grew up with dredd and loved reading the comic stories. After the mess that was stallones film I was slightly trepidous about this however i really enjoyed it. There are no boundaries broken and the story has been done before and better in the recent Malaysian film but this was really enjoyable. Urban is very good as dredd and you get more of what the original character was like. The uniform and bikes are toned down but still good.
Extremely violent and in certain places is quite o.t.t such as the apartment bust from the point of view from the druggie.
Didn't get much from the 3d and I wouldn't pay extra to specifically have it but feel the film is well worth an evenings watch and certainly has replayable value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dredd good, 14 Dec 2012
The basic aim of Dredd is simple - it needs to be bold, true to the source material and full of juicy violence, enough to wipe out the memories of the notoriously poor Stallone attempt of 1995 that threw plenty of money at the screen without bothering to work on anything resembling a decent script.

e film is written by long time fan Alex Garland (28 Days later, Sunshine), and has had plenty of input from Dredd's creator (and still main writer even now) John Wagner. Filmed in South Africa on what passes for a tight budget these days (especially for Sci-Fi), it could be compared to District 9 in terms of the sheer effort put into it, with a result that is similarly impressive although aesthetically miles apart. Director Pete Travis (Endgame) does an excellent job, and between them they have turned in a film that will stand the test of time as a superior, adult action movie.

The premise is reasonably simple, something that works well as an introduction to what is, in the comics at least, a sprawling future world. Dredd is accompanied on patrol by rookie Judge Anderson, very well played by Olivia Thirlby, who is on the verge of failing her final assessment but is being given a second chance because of her powerful, and rare, psi abilities. A routine triple homicide (it's that sort of city) turns into a siege when they are trapped in a massive tower block by criminal nutjob Ma Ma (Lena Headey) and forced to fight their way out and stop her manufacturing the addictive new drug, Slo Mo. Obviously there's a bit more to it than that, but this is the basic set up and it works very well indeed, allowing for plenty of violence, some character development and no few explosions.

I can't write this review without focusing on Karl Urban, who has previously stood out for his excellent turn as Dr McCoy in the Star Trek revival. Not afraid to go through an entire movie with a helmet on, he is spot on as Dredd. He gives us an emotionless machine, a man who cares for nothing but the law, but a man you want to get behind and cheer on as he splats bad guys left right and centre. The humanity comes from Anderson, and it helps that Thirlby doesn't have to wear a helmet herself, with the handy excuse that it interferes with her psi abilities. Between them they give us the tired old wardog and the 21 year old rookie on the streets for the first time, and you sympathise with the life of a Mega City Judge.

Some people have criticized the apparent similarities between Dredd and the recent film The Raid: Redemption, in which Indonesian cops storm a tower block and much chop sockey ensues. To be honest, I was a little worried myself, but having seen both films I can happily confirm that they are nothing alike. Whilst The Raid is a pretty intense martial arts film which is rather dull between fights (although the fights are awesome), Dredd is a tight film all the way through, with the plot more than an excuse to go from fight to fight.

In conclusion, I can heartily recommend this film, in case you hadn't guessed. It's sort of like a cross between Robocop and Die Hard, all moderned up and with better music. It's no coincidence that those are two of the most kick ass action films ever, and Dredd borrows from the best, although as Robocop stole from Dredd in the first place it's more like recovering pinched property. The 3D is actually worth shelling out for, and there are some beautiful sequences where it comes into it's own, whilst the film itself is gritty and dirty, although not without a few lighter moments amidst the carnage. The humour in Dredd's comic strips comes from the city around him rather than his own actions, and here's hoping we'll see Alex Garland penning a sequel that allows us to wander through Dredd's world. Quite simply a superior action film, and whilst it's no masterpiece (then again, it's not supposed to be) it's as good as fans could ever have hoped. Here's to the sequels...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 399 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac20e6cc)

This product

Dredd [DVD]
Dredd [DVD] by Pete Travis (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews