Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reissue sets don't really come much better than this...
It's all a matter of personal taste. Having read the other customer reviews of this magisterial set, I can see the points raised about the poor quality of some of the live stuff featured on here, and also the questioning over the inclusion of Bond's laryngitic vocal demo for Decca, but to me, I like these inconsistencies, because I don't (and this is a personal view) find...
Published 18 months ago by Og Oggilby

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelmed.........
After all the years of waiting.....I'm left with a feeling of what might have been!

I certainly applaud the effort that was obviously necessary to pull together a package of this size, but the inclusion of under-par performances (such as with Graham's dreadful sore throat vocals at the Decca demo session) and the raft of stuff with dodgy sound really detracts...
Published 18 months ago by Rob Morton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reissue sets don't really come much better than this..., 15 Feb 2013
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wade in the Water' - Classics, Origins & Oddities (Audio CD)
It's all a matter of personal taste. Having read the other customer reviews of this magisterial set, I can see the points raised about the poor quality of some of the live stuff featured on here, and also the questioning over the inclusion of Bond's laryngitic vocal demo for Decca, but to me, I like these inconsistencies, because I don't (and this is a personal view) find them to be a detraction from the whole. I don't like so-called 'perfect' albums, becasue I am sufficiently old-school enough to see weaker tracks, or even filler stuff on albums as being an essential part of the listening experience - it makes the good tracks sound even greater. Pete Brown and Repertoire have done yeoman service to Bond's memory by putting this set together, and providing as full, indeed warts 'n' all projection of Graham Bond and the band. The internal creative friction of the protagonists is well to the fore, and Bond's stylish Hammond Organ work is lustrous and groovy in the extreme. The production sound is perhaps of its time, but once you immerse yourself in it, it is truly wonderful stuff, and at thirty quid, there's a lot of good bangs for your buck. Totally recommended for those that want to do more than just scratch the surface of the early 60s brit R&B scene. Love the Duffy Power tracks, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic box set, 29 Dec 2012
By 
Stephen Johnson "stevie boy" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ordered this way back in August on the pre release price of 19.
Then with all the delays thought about cancelling but am i glad i stuck with it.
Fantastic 4 cd set covering Graham Bonds career.I must admit to not owning anything of the GBO
but knew of him via Ginger Bakers Airforce.
So was over the moon to see so many tracks with Ginger Baker and Jack Bruce.
The packaging is excellant with tons of really informative reading.Ok it takes a little
getting used to the cd holders but even i got the hang of it in the end.
In a nut shell this is what a box set should be all about.4 cds full to the brim,great packaging and value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mighty 60s R and B Originators, 30 Sep 2013
By 
A. J. Mcconnachie (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No other band on earth quite sounds or sounded like the classic line-up of the Graham Bond Organisation. The combination of definitively cool 60s Hammond organ, Bond's throaty and vaguely malevolent vocals, Heckstall-Smith's fluid sax and of course a great rhythm section set the Organisation apart from their peers. Unlike most of their British R and B contemporaries, the sound wasn't based on guitars, maracas and rave ups, but slow-burning very black sounds closer to jazz and soul than Chicago Blues.

For years, their modest back catalogue (two studio albums, a few singles and a posthumously released live album) lay hidden away, occasionally spotted in a cut out bin or a stray track on a 60s compilation. But "Wade In The Water" solves all this. In four lovingly compiled cds, we have (almost) the complete recorded works of Graham Bond (vocals, organ, alto sax), Jack Bruce (vocals, bass and harmonica), Dick Heckstall-Smith (saxes) and of course Ginger Baker (drums).

The Organisation were a force of nature at their best - although the wildness of their live act was never quite captured on record, "Wade" includes a bunch of hitherto unreleased live takes, hardly pristinely recorded, which give some idea of the band's vision and drive. The studio albums have their moments as well, although a combination of some odd song choices ("Tammy" for one) and not wholly sympathetic production lessens their effect. Then there are intriguing previously unheard oddities like "Johnny Comes Marching Home".

As with many box sets, there are multiple versions of some tracks (the title track weighs in with seven) and perhaps too many early recordings (with Duffy Power for instance), but on the whole this a comprehensive, long-overdue attempt to comprehensively cover one of the most intriguing bands ever. Die hard completists will cavil at the exclusion of the Klooks Kleek live recordings, but they can be easily obtained elsewhere.

All in all, this set is a worthy tribute to a ground-breaking bunch of musical eccentrics - while Bruce and Baker found huge fame and success with The Cream, the GBO are often sadly overlooked. "Wade In The Water" does a fine job of setting that straight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelmed........., 6 Feb 2013
After all the years of waiting.....I'm left with a feeling of what might have been!

I certainly applaud the effort that was obviously necessary to pull together a package of this size, but the inclusion of under-par performances (such as with Graham's dreadful sore throat vocals at the Decca demo session) and the raft of stuff with dodgy sound really detracts from the overall quality and enjoyment. Also, as the 4-CD set is clearly not restricted to studio recordings, why were the Alexis Korner's Blues Incorporated RADIO broadcasts (i.e. "BBC Jazz Club" from 1963) not included? After all, they feature Bond, Dick Heckstall-Smith, Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker shortly before they departed Korner to form their own group!! I would have thought that material ("Early In The Morning", "Philboyd Sturge", "The Organiser" etc.) would have been ESSENTIAL to include and, from my standpoint, would be FAR more interesting to fans than the variable and previously-released stuff with Duffer (sic.) Power that has made it into the set! Of course, when it comes to radio broadcasts, there's also the super 1966 "BBC Jazz Beat" session that has been strangely overlooked. Radio broadcasts aside, you certainly can't make a credible argument that (as the set title suggests) only GBO stuff was eligible for inclusion, as the recordings with Power were by the GB Quartet and those with Ernest Ranglin and Winston G. certainly didn't include ALL members of Bond's group of the time!

I can't imagine anyone undertaking a similar project of Bond's work in the future, so must say I feel a BIG opportunity has been missed to get a definitive set (both in terms of material and audio quality) released for the enjoyment of a worldwide audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long In The Waiting:Well Worth The Wait, 4 Feb 2013
By 
William T. Luther (NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For a better part of a decade and a half grahambond.org has trumpeted the existence of unreleased Graham Bond Organization tracks and alternate mixes in the vaults. Well at the end of 2012 Repertoire records came through and released them in this amazing four CD set.

"Wade In The Water" contains all of the G.B.O's U.K. 60's singles with A's & B's (6 total), 7 tracks recorded backing Duffy Power, 7 tracks recorded with Jamacian guitarist Ernest Ranglin, all of the tracks from their two British LP's ("The Sound of '65" and "There's A Bond Between Us"), two tracks backing Winston G., their B-side of The Who's "Substitute" ("Waltz For A Pig" released as "The Who Orchestra") and a motherload alternate takes, live tracks and unreleased gems (including Ginger Baker's songwriting debut "Cold Rain").

The quality on some of the live tracks varies and is however suspect at times so that only completists and G.B.O. fanatics(like myself) would appreciate them. There is nary a trace of the oft released/repackaged crap quality "Live at Klook's Kleek" material.

A worthwhile package for Graham Bond fans everywhere and Dick Heckstall Smith, Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker ones too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wade in.., 27 Jan 2013
By 
Robert Lee (MANCHESTER U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a fantastic obviously lovingly put together compilation for a band that only ever had two albums released i was always aware there was other stuff out there and indeed had made up my own compilation of the decca recordings.
this set rounds up everything and presents it in great quality considering the age,i cannot recomend it too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historically important, but could have been better still, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Neil Mawer (Lincoln, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After years of waiting, the GBO box set arrives, and has some very high points, but as is often the case with box sets, just falls short of perfection.

GOOD POINTS

1. The fantastic stereo remixes of Sound of 65 & There's a Bond between us albums. Far superior to the 60s mono,, and the reverb heavy stereo remixes on the individual Repertoire album issues.
2. The complete ultra rare singles, EPs & session work by the GBO in best ever sound quality. Far better than the old 45s!
3.Great booklet notes , by Pete Brown.

POOR POINTS

1. The live tracks are just terrible sonically & detract greatly. They are nowhere near as good as the 1963 tracks on Solid Bond or the 1964 I Met the Blues at Klooks Kleek CDs
2. The 1964 Decca demo session has Bond trying to sing with laryngitus. Terrible and again distracts greatly. Only the 3 instrumental tracks from the session should have made it to release.
3. Yes. as noted, the disc packaging is far too complicated, likely to break & damage the discs. A re-think needed there.

So if you were to delete the 14 sonically unacceptable tracks, you could then fit in the nine 1966 stereo recordings by the Bond, H-Smith, Hiseman trio from Solid Bond. The box would then become a 4 CD Complete Studio Recordings. The sonically acceptable 1963 & 64 Kooks Kleek recordings could be added as a bonus live disc. That would give you a 5 CD set of every listenable recording by the GBO in one package.

So a missed opportunity for the perfect box set, but it should still be your first buy in a Bond Collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars *** IMPORTANT*** Don't Buy the Expensive Version of this CD Set, 10 July 2014
By 
John Gilmore (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This 4CD set is available under two product numbers.

One sells for about 30 and the other for about 70.

They are both exactly the same product and both include the 48 page booklet.

It was just re-numbered for the first UK release. This was confirmed by the manufacturer Repertoire Records.

They can be identified by the product code 'REP 5250' with barcode 4009910525029 (this is the cheap one) and 'REP 5281' with barcode 4009910528129 (this is the expensive one)

Remember, they're both exactly the same so don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential., 25 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful job by Pete Brown in putting a comprehensive collection of the GBO. Too bad some of the Jon Hiseman era stuff had to be left out. All in all, a great set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true Innovator, 15 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. B. Cannon "Bluesfan" (West Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album showcases the imense talent of Graham Bond, Jack Bruce, Ginger Baker and Dick Heckstall Smith that influenced so many artists of the 60s and 70s..
Excellent packaging and superb notes and photographs.
Highly recoommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wade in the Water' - Classics, Origins & Oddities
Wade in the Water' - Classics, Origins & Oddities by Graham Bond Organization (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews