Customer Reviews


616 Reviews
5 star:
 (387)
4 star:
 (104)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


114 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate version of this Bond film
Rather than focussing on the film, which is well reviewed, here is a quick run-down of the extras on this "Deluxe Blu-Ray" version over the DVD Collector's Edition and original Blu-ray versions and the DVD Deluxe Edition.

Firstly, those interested in the Blu-ray version over the DVD will be keen to know that all of the extras are in high definition, with the...
Published on 25 Oct 2008 by K4872

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A new JB, but is this more Jack Bauer than James Bond?
This has a few of the reference points that assure you that you're watching a Bond film: the Aston Martin, 'M', the exotic locations and the girls. But as others have said, there's no Moneypenny or Q, and not many gadgets besides a mobile phone obsession -- Sony Ericsson must have paid a fortune for the repeated product placement.

But it's in the changing pace...
Published on 7 April 2007 by Gavin Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

114 of 121 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate version of this Bond film, 25 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rather than focussing on the film, which is well reviewed, here is a quick run-down of the extras on this "Deluxe Blu-Ray" version over the DVD Collector's Edition and original Blu-ray versions and the DVD Deluxe Edition.

Firstly, those interested in the Blu-ray version over the DVD will be keen to know that all of the extras are in high definition, with the exception of the "Bond Girls" and "Chris Cornell music video" extras which are DVD resolution. Obviously there are some shots within the other extras that aren't full HD quality.

Disc 1 extras:
- crew commentary
- picture-in-picture visual commentary (Blu-Ray only)
- James Bond quiz (Blu-Ray only)

Disc 2 extras:
1 deleted scenes (x4)
2 Road to Casino Royale
3 Ian Fleming's Incredible Creation
4 James Bond in the Bahamas
5 Ian Fleming: Secret Road to Paradise
6 Death in Venice
7 Becoming Bond Documentary (from original edition, HD)
8 James Bond: For Real documentary (from original edition, HD)
9 Bond Girls are Forever (from original edition, low definition)
10 Art of the Freerun
11 Catching A Plane storyboard to screen
12 Freerun Chase storyboard sequence
13 Filmmaker Profiles
14 Chris Cornell music video (low definition)

Of the new features, most fall into the category of interview-based documentaries with clips of the final film, although a few (items 6 and 10 in particular) are behind the scenes "how did they do it" material.

I would recommend this version if you have the earlier DVD version but have since bought a Blu-ray player, as the Blu-Ray quality is excellent and there are some good new features. If you have the original Blu-ray version, only buy it if you really want the extra documentaries and like watching people sitting talking! If you haven't bought any previous version and have a Blu-Ray player then the extra cost over the DVD Deluxe Edition is certainly worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cut to the chase..., 30 Aug 2009
By 
R. G. Burrows (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb Blu-ray release in all aspects apart from one: it is cut in the torture scene. Most of us would agree that the film itself is an exciting modern incarnation of Bond, and the quality of this release certainly does it justice. Picture and audio quality are sublime, and the extras are first rate.

If you can live with the cut, this is the Blu-ray for you. If you can't, buy the deluxe edition from amazon.fr. It is uncut, region B (same as UK) and features the same high quality transfer and extras. The English audio is still presented in TrueHD, and the menus even load up in English. The box for the French Blu-ray doesn't have the swish cover, and it costs you a little more to import it, but the delivery service from amazon.fr is exemplary, and it's more than worth the trouble.

If you are a purist like me who hates cuts and wants to watch the film as the director intended, this is the Blu-ray for you. Casino Royale might have moved to Montenegro in this film adaptation of the book, but if you want the real Casino Royale, France is still the place to look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do I look Like I Give a Damn? You Should - Casino Royale DeLuxe Edition, 20 Oct 2008
By 
Bored@Work (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Right, unless you've lived on Mars for the past two years you will already know what an excellent film we have here, so there should be no need to go through the plot details, instead onto a review of the DVD itself.
I have to say this really is the DVD version we should have had two years ago. Presented in a cracking thick cardboard slipcase, and opening out with into a tryptich digipak, disc one on the left, two and three on the right and in the middle a glossy booklet in a slip pocket. Each outside surface features a cracking picture, Bond, Vesper and Bond & Vesper, all beautifully reproduced in a lovely matt finish. Excellent packaging.
First off, the menus. Thankfully they have been re-done as the original release had possibly the worst menus ever seen (almost! - well, certainly to grace Bond DVDs), these now feature a deck of cards tumbling toward the viewer, with the Casino Royale logo on back, (following the style of Daniel Klienman's most excellent titles, probably the best of the whole series) I think it is a shame they didn't follow the format of the Ultimate Edition DVDs but a welcome update anyway.
Disc One, is as previous issue - except for two commentaries - the first features director Martin Campbell and co-producer Michael Wilson, the second by the crew.
Disc Two is a straight lift from the previous release, featuring, Becoming Bond, James Bond for Real, Bond Girls Forever and Chris Cornelle's video for 'You Know My Name' - a theme tune that is definitely a grower.
Disc Three - this is where it gets interesting! A shed-load of features and featurettes, dealing with Casino Royale, from book to small screen, to big screen spoof and onto the excellent film we have here. It's all kicked off with a half-dozen or so deleted scenes, the best being the post-torture rush to hospital and recovery, but a nice collection all together.
There are featurettes on Ian Fleming and his incredible creation, Paradise Island which has a long history with both Fleming and James Bond, there are explorations into the filmmaking process, showcasing the Venice finale, the Freerun chase and the Miami airport thrill ride! Profiles and storyboards. All-in-all an exhaustive collection covering just about everything you would want to know about the 21st James Bond film.
If you don't own Casino Royale, buy this version, if you do own Casino Royale, drop it into your local charity shop and buy this version.
And once you gone through the excellent extras, slip in Disc One and reacquaint yourself with this excellent and, dare I say, classic piece of Bond that this film is. The series was due for a re-boot after the dire Die Another Day and what better way to do it - back to the beginning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bond Is Rebooted & Reloaded, 10 Aug 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casino Royale [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Casino Royale (1Disc DVD)

DVD Info.
Format: Widescreen, PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: English, Hindi
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English
Audio Description: English
Region 2
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 - 2.40:1
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 12
Running Time: 138 minutes

Cast.
Daniel Craig as James Bond -007
Eva Green as Vesper Lynd
Mads Mikkelsen as Le Chiffre
Judi Dench as M
Jeffrey Wright as Felix Leiter
Giancarlo Giannini as René Mathis
Simon Abkarian as Alex Dimitrios
Caterina Murino as Solange Dimitrios
Ivana Miličević as Valenka
Isaac de Bankolé as Steven Obanno
Jesper Christensen as Mr. White
Sébastien Foucan as Mollaka
Tsai Chin as Madame Wu
Tobias Menzies as Villiers
Ludger Pistor as Mendel
Claudio Santamaria as Carlos
Richard Sammel as Gettler
Clemens Schick as Kratt
Joseph Millson as Carter
Ben Cooke as Williams
Darwin Shaw as Fisher

Box Office.
Budget $150 million
Box office $599,045,960

Trivia.
1)The three-piece suit worn by James Bond at the end of the film is a navy version of the gray suit worn by Sean Connery in Goldfinger (1964).
2)Daniel Craig actually rejected the part of James Bond a year before as he had felt that the series had settled into a standard formula, He changed his mind when he read the finished script.
3)In one afternoon's shooting, three Aston Martin DBS cars valued at $300,000 each were destroyed for the car roll sequence.
4)The opening parkour chase took 6 weeks to film.
5)The way Bond orders his first vodka martini is lifted directly from the Ian Fleming novels.
6)Daniel Craig gained 20 pounds of muscle for the role.
7)Roger Moore was reportedly so impressed with the film that he went out and bought a DVD copy of it.
8)The scene where Bond comforts a distraught Vesper in the shower after she's witnessed her first death was shot in one take.
9)Richard Branson cameos as a man at airport security.
10)Before Daniel Craig was officially announced to play James Bond there were several other actors considered for the part, Julian McMahon, Hrithik Roshan, Dominic West, Gerard Butler,Goran Visnjic, Sam Worthington, Alex O'Loughlin & Superman actor Henry Cavill who almost got the part but was considered too young.
11)Casino Royale is director Martin Campbells second Bond film.

Whats The Story.
Recently promoted to 00 status after two successive kills, James Bond is assigned his first mission which takes him to Uganda where he is to spy on a terrorist, Mollaka. Not everything goes to plan & Bond decides to investigate, independently of MI6, in order to track down the rest of the terrorist cell.

Following a lead to the Bahamas, he encounters Dimitrios & his girlfriend, Solange,Bond learns that Dimitrios is involved with Le Chiffre, banker to the world's terrorist organizations while Secret Service intelligence reveals that Le Chiffre is planning to raise money in a high-stakes poker game in Montenegro at Le Casino Royale.

MI6 assigns 007 to play against him, knowing that if Le Chiffre loses, it will destroy his organization. 'M' places Bond under the watchful eye of the beguiling Vesper Lynd, Bond is at first skeptical of what value Vesper can provide, Bond's interest in her deepens however as Bond lets down his armour by falling in love with Vesper, the duo brave danger together & even torture at the hands of villainous Le Chiffre.

In Montenegro, Bond allies himself with Mathis MI6's local field agent, & Felix Leiter who is representing the interests of the CIA, The marathon game proceeds with dirty tricks & violence, raising the stakes beyond blood money that leads up to a terrifying climax & the ultimate sacrifice.

Timelord Thoughts.
Casino Royale was the first novel of author Ian Flemings series to feature British secret agent James Bond & so MGM & Eon Productions have gone back to basics & stripped back the gadgetry & have opted instead for a more realistic take on the James Bond character, but the question is does this grittier reboot enhance of hinder the franchise?

Well both in my opinion as while parts of the movie does feel like a James Bond film other parts don't & seem to be more in vein of the recent Jason Bourne movies featuring Matt Damon.

Gone are the larger than life megalomaniac villians, gone are the gadgets & hi-tec vehicles, instead Casino Royale success depends entirely on the new actor chosen to play James Bond for the 21st Century, the actor the producers have chosen is Daniel Craig.

Daniel Craig gives an excellent performance as James Bond who's interpretation is more a sadistic 007, a cold-hearted killer with little sense of empathy & with Craig's piercing blue eyes gives he gives the look of somebody who can kill, while Craig does deliver the odd burst of humour, he's far more convincing in the action & fight sequences department which are far more brutal in this movie as every punch or kick seemingly hurts & shows Bond or his assailants bleeding.

Mads Mikkelson is perfect casting & delivers a superb villainous performance as Le Chiffre, a baddie so bad he weeps blood from his tear duct.

Eva Green is superb as Vesper Lynd, a woman who can melt the heart of even the cold hearted 007 as Green is not only a stunningly beautiful woman she can also act & gives Vesper a mysterious enigmatic side to her characters nature as the audience can't quite place what Vespers true motives are.

Judi Dench is wonderful as ever as 'M' who shares many great scenes with Daniel Craig's Bond & delivers some of the movies best lines.

Director Martin Campbell's second Bond film is skillfully directed featuring great action sequences, the free running chase sequence in particular being the movies standout sequence & one of the best chases ever to feature in a Bond film.

After a strong first hour the card game sequence at Casino Royale does drag on a little slowing down the movies pace during the middle part of the movie but this is merely a minor quibble as the pace soon picks up to deliver a excellent final action sequence wih Bond pursuing Vesper & Mr Whites henchmen through a abandoned hotel in Venice & while the movie is a stand alone affair the ending does set up some plot point's of the next Bond movie & sees Daniel Craig delivering the iconic "Bond, James Bond" line.

Overall, Casino Royale is not without faults as at times it doesn't feel like a James Bond film at all with it's darker tone & more realistic action scenes replacing the CGI & gadget excesses of Die-Another Day.

Instead the movie delivers a entertaining spy thriller with actor Daniel Craig portraying a excellent James Bond - 007 who makes the audience believe his James Bond could actually kill, with great acting support from Eva Green as Vesper Lynd & Mads Mikkelson as the sinister Le Chiffre, Casino Royale sees James Bond steering the franchise into 21st Century realism, as to whether you'll enjoy this new direction or not will depend on the type of Bond film you enjoy & while I did enjoy the movie, I prefer my Bond movies to be a little more tongue 'n' cheek, far fetched & to include world domination megalomaniacs.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Bond ... superb Blu Ray demo disc ... superb., 4 Aug 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Casino Royale (Deluxe Edition) [Blu-ray] [2006]

Any review of this film must fall under two headings:

BLU RAY - The image quality is stunning, and the film material shows Blu Ray technology in its best light, Dark Knight and Batman Begins are technically as great, but in my opinion this beats them as a demonstration disc.

CASINO ROYALE - I consider most of the earlier Bond films as great for family viewing on Christmas afternoon or Boxing Day, otherwise there is always something better to watch (personal opinion of course).

However this is taking Bond to the realm of serious consideration. Daniel Craig leaves the tongue in cheek efforts of previous Bonds behind and is a far grittier and believable 007, still retaining a few well delivered one liners.

In Vesper Lynd (Eva Green) we are treated to a real feisty woman, a great foil to Craig's Bond.

However Bond needs better villains, Le Chiffre as played by Mads Mikkelsen has a certain menace, with so much time spent on the poker games maybe he doesn't get a fair chance.

Also the high tech weaponry is left behind (with Q) and instead we have breathtaking stunts on cranes 180 feet in the air, and the incredible Venetian palace self destructing into the canal, this must be one of the greatest pieces of construction for a stunt ever.

Definitely this Bond will not be relegated to the festive season in my home, cannot wait to view Quantum of Solace.

So as a film or Blu Ray demonstration disc this is a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The less likeable is Bond, the better the experience, 29 April 2009
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With almost 300 reviews already online for this DVD, my contribution might get lost in the action, but here goes anyway for my first ever 5-star Bond movie review. (I have all the others up to this one.)

This was Martin Campbell's second Bond movie. He did Pierce Brosnan's opener `Goldeneye', and here he does the same for Daniel Craig. This is not only a new Bond, but a new style of Bond - and I like it. In fact, I would go so far as to say, that Craig is arguably the best Bond so far. In this review, I hope to explain my reasoning for that statement, but for me the best thing about Craig's Bond is that he is not a likeable character. He's a trained killer with a dirty job to do; we are not supposed to like him. This was the problem with other Bonds, that made their roles so incongruous with their desire to be loved by their audience.

What other reasons are there for praising this film as a breath of fresh air into the franchise? Well, the production, first of all, demonstrates a new imagination; the choice of filming the pre-credit sequence in black & white was a good idea. Next, the credit sequence itself dose not have a naked woman in sight; full marks for toning down the sexism. Then we actually see Bond get blood on his face; full marks for injecting a much needed element of realism.

The film is also significant for what it leaves out. No Q - or R - hurrah! The sense of starting afresh and being rid of outdated traditions extends to other areas that might have been thought as sacrosanct: "Vodka Martini", demands Bond of the barman. "Shaken or stirred?" "Do I look as if I give a damn?" And Bond has a car crash and ends up not looking too good: this isn't supposed to happen in a traditional Bond movie.

It's rare of course for bond to have deep emotions for the opposite sex, and this film certainly strays into `On Her Majesty's Secret Service' territory with the relationship between Bond and Vesper Lynd. Some have criticised this element, but over the years it's amazing how OHMSS has risen in the estimations of Bond aficionados.

There are still the usual Bond thrills and spills. Watching it for the first time in the cinema, the African scenes had me almost suffering vertigo. One has to question why anyone being chased would choose to climb upwards, but the scene graphically illustrates the craze of free-running as an art form, and the choreography is fantastic nevertheless. Equally amazing is the CGI on the collapsing Venetian palazzo.

And there is still some humour, as demonstrated with the parking of cars at the Bahamas hotel. The humour also strays in a more fully developed mode than usual into Bond's relationship with the leading lady. When moving towards the hotel lift, Vesper says she'll take the next one: "There isn't enough room for me and your ego." The humour is there but not in the form of groaning throw-away one-liners that plagued previous films. The humour is interactive - with Vesper, with M, with Le Chiffre - rather than solely addressed between Bond and the viewer.

The one area of which I did not approve was the torture scene, which I thought went a little too far; I am amazed that the film received a 12 classification. Was this scene really needed? And surely Le Chiffre is being ironic when he states that he never understood "all these elaborate tortures". What! In a Bond movie? But the scene is so well-acted all the same. Can you imagine Roger Moore doing it? Or even Pierce Brosnan?

Finally, one piece of plotting to ponder: M is surely wrong to tell Bond at the end that he was kept alive because Vesper pleaded for his life - surely he was kept alive because he had the password to the account!

This is a review of the 2-Disc Collector's Edition, so here's a word about the extras. We have a 25-minute film called `Becoming Bond', which is a `making of ...' documentary. The emphasis, we learn, was to be on a tougher, harder Bond. Judi Dench as M is the only character to return from previous films; as Daniel Craig explains, she is the balance to Bond's misogyny. The feature `James Bond For Real' concentrates on the stunts - for real! `Bond Girls Are Forever' sees Maryam D'Abo (from `Living Daylights') interview former Bond girls from Ursula Andress and Honor Blackman all the way up to Halle Berry and Rosamund Pike and Eva Green. This is a very professional production, co-written and co-produced by D'Abo. Finally, there is the music video of the theme song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sean who?, 24 Jan 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
As one of the only 12 people who was genuinely delighted at Daniel Craig's casting when it was announced , I must admit I was more than a little worried about Casino Royale. Not the kind of paranoia that those newcomers who'd never experience the changing of the guard the series goes through every decade or the staggeringly venomous hate-mongering of the more fanatical Brosnan fans who felt compelled to start libellous hate-sites, though. After all those months of arguing that he was the perfect choice for the role (especially after some of the more moronic suggestions), was I setting myself up for a fall if he turned in a disappointing performance? Similarly there was the film itself. While the producers were making all the right noises about going back to basics, they'd done exactly the same with Licence To Kill and chickened out to deliver a sub-Roger Moore effort with Wayne Newton as a comedy relief villain, inept ninjas, pointless gadgets, laughable violence and monster truck stunts. Too often in the past the franchise had been over-reliant on the goodwill generated by the earlier films, rehashing earlier vehicles to decreasing returns secure in the knowledge that the audience would turn up anyway. Take away the Bond brand, and too many post-OHMSS entries simply wouldn't have stood up to scrutiny in the marketplace on their own merits: Bond had become a tradition, a ritual like going home for the holidays that you knew was never going to be as good as it was when you were a kid but which you still went through out of a mixture of hope and obligation.

I needn't have worried. Not only is it the best Bond film in 37 years, it's as if the Roger Moore and Pierce Brosnan years never happened. After Brosnan's surprisingly lazy and slightly seedy turn in DAD, Craig delivers the most physical Bond since Lazenby, but this time matched by the acting chops to make the most of the best script the series has had in decades - at once plot and character led - as the rookie blunt instrument bulldozes his way through his mission until emotional awakening and betrayal starts to finesse him into the Bond we knew from the Connery days. Brosnan never could have delivered this kind of performance, either physically or emotionally, and, truth be told, neither could Connery in his prime: Craig is the first one to convince you that he's not a movie star or an actor but that he really IS James Bond.

The updating of the plot from the Cold War era to a post 9/11 world works surprisingly well, with the first act managing to provide a convincing motive for the high stakes poker game centrepiece while also providing a couple of superb action scenes that don't become too absurd and serve the plot in a series where in the past the plot was too often an excuse for the action. The much-criticised change from baccarat to poker is a smart one too. Where Baccarat is purely a game of luck (as Fleming himself found out when he went bust in three hands trying out the novel's premise on a Nazi spy), poker actually involves both strategy and psychology, making for more satisfying drama and tension.

There is, sadly, one concession to gadgetry that veers into the absurd - c'mon, who keeps a defibrillator in their glove compartment? - and is an unwelcome reminder of the days when old Roge would get out of a scrape with his buzz saw wristwatch or his projectile dart cufflinks thanks to lazy writing, but elsewhere it settles for using existing technology (most of it manufactured by Sony for some reason that escapes me) rather than veering into total fantasy. And it's good to see a Bond who needs hospitalisation after the villain goes Quasimodo on his nuts with a bell rope. The film's final sequence promises one helluva follow-up, and one can only hope the producers don't lose their nerve and throw it all away the way they did with Diamonds Are Forever. The real James Bond is indeed back.

While the 2-disc DVD was a disappointment by the standards of the previous EON entries, this three-disc deluxe edition goes some way to making up for it, though it's annoying to have to double-dip when many of these features were ready to go more than a year ago. Aside from redesigned menus, the only additions to the first disc are the two audio commentaries, with the second disc the same as the two disc edition - three puff pieces from the film's theatrical release and an updated version of the Bond Girls Are Forever documentary. For significant new features, you need to go to the third disc - a number of new featurettes, storyboard comparisons and deleted scenes. There are still ommissions (where are the trailers?), but it's not a bad hand, especially if you're a first-time buyer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely Deluxe, 30 Mar 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 3 disc set is packaged in the thickest card and has a velvet covering. A really well produced package, with a sumptuous booklet too.

The first disk has a new commentary which is insightful and entertaining.

The second disc is as it was on the 2 disc version.

The extras on the third disc are all new and go into great detail and are very much worth viewing.

All in all, a superb set... I hope they do the same for Quantum of Solace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bond is Back, 18 July 2007
Daniel Craig was given a very hard time when he was chosen to replace Pierce Brosnan as James Bond. Personally I always thought he was a good choice, having seen him in 'Layer Cake' with a steely glint in his eye and that great voice. But the proof really is in the pudding. The whole idea of who and what Bond is has been rejuvenated - but without sacrificing the quintessential elements of Bond that we know and love: namely the car, the car and the car (sorry but it was PAINFUL to watch what happened to it), the beautiful leading lady (who is a little more complex than our usual Bond girls), exotic locations, incredible action sequences (the opening action sequence is jaw-dropping), some humour (I defy anyone not to cringe and laugh during the torture scene), a quirky bad guy, gadgets galore and a finger at rather than a nod to some of the other Bond-isms ('Would you like your Martini shaken or stirred?' Do I look like I give a damn?'). Not to mention the incredible credit sequence, thankfully replacing the chauvinistic dancing girls we usually get - and a fantastic theme tune by Chris Cornell which sticks in your head.

But the most interesting aspect of 'Casino Royale' for me is the way we see Bond as never before: as a rough diamond, a thug, before his job truly took his soul. We see him struggle with his feelings about killing, how he learns to trust no-one and how his heart gets broken. Judi Dench is, as usual, wonderful as M and the chemistry crackles between her and Craig as they develop their relationship which often resembles that of exasperated parent and wilful child.

There are some nice extras on the 2-disc edition which is worth having - but just make sure you get the film. In my opinion the best film of 2006 and possibly one of the best Bond films ever. Now THAT'S how to answer the critics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray full product details, 10 Aug 2008
By 
Florin O. (Bucharest, RO) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Since Amazon never publishes the full details here they are:

Audio: Czech 5.1, English 5.1, English PCM 5.1, English Audio description track 5.1, Hungarian 5.1, Polish 5.1, Russian 5.1, Turkish 5.1

Subtitles: Arabic, Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, English (Hard of hearing), English, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Polish, Romanian, Slovene, Turkish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 262 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casino Royale [DVD] [2006]
Casino Royale [DVD] [2006] by Martin Campbell (DVD - 2012)
£3.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews