Customer Reviews


147 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Her Majesty's Secret Service, 2006 double disc Ultimate Edition - An unusually emotionally charged Bond film
For superspy James Bond's sixth big screen outing, and the first not to star Sean Connery in the lead role, we were served up with a rather different style of film, which ranks up there with `From Russia With Love' as my favourite in the series.

There are several things that make this film stand out in the series. Firstly, for me, is the score. There are...
Published on 23 Aug 2010 by Victor

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Defective Blu-Ray
A number of Bond Blu-Rays in my collection are glitchy but this is the worst (I have had no other defects from other manufacturers). I ordered the first one in February 2013. It glitched, pixellated and then stopped just after 120 mins in. The Blue Ray player was getting on a bit so I bought a new one, it still wouldn't play. However, it was now past Amazon's...
Published 10 months ago by BrianD


‹ Previous | 114 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars James Bond's swinging sixties re-boot, 23 Dec 2012
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Her Majesty's Secret Service [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
Prior to the arrival of Daniel Craig, "On her majesty's secret service" was the first attempt to re-boot the series. Unfortunately, it is probably true to say that the effort to re-align Bond to the Swinging Sixties almost renders the film into pastiche and anyone familiar with the two excellent French films starring the brilliant Jean Dujardin (more familiar for his silent film "The Artist") as the Bond-esque buffoon Agent OSS 117 will struggle to take "OHMSS" seriously.

There are elements which clearly work. The theme is one of the best Bond tunes and the stripped down nature of the film with a more credible villain and the lack of gadgets makes it an interesting comparison with Daniel Craig's films that have chosen a similar route albeit to greater artistic success. Diana Riggs is excellent although there is too little of M and Q. The chase scenes at the end are good but ultimately there is simply not enough action and the over-dubbing of George Baker's voice when Bond is under disguise as Sir Hillary is extremely clunky - a genuine OSS 117 moment. As many other people have commented here, the film's conclusion is genuinely shocking when you encounter it for the first time and probably unique insofar that Bond is ultimately very much the loser in this story. Somehow, this film doesn't quite feel like part of the James Bond frachise even though it is supposedly the one film that is most accurate to Ian Fleming's novel.

This DVD is a very good restoration of the original print and the alpine scenes look terrific. There are moments where the film does appear to have originally been poorly edited esepcially during the fight scenes. Never quite understood why the baddies all have the olympic logo on their coats - perhaps a foretaste of the Queen's subsequent encounter with Bond during the 2012 Olympic opening ceremony? Also worth noting that Louis Armstrong's music makes an appearance in this film. I'm minded to be generous to this film and award it three stars.

Whilst it is interesting to measure up the various pros and cons of this film and whether it is indeed the turkey that some critic would lead you to believe, I think it is fair to say that the better parts are undone by George Lazenby's inability to act and bizarre portrayal of James Bond which effectively renders the spy as a bit of a knob. All in all, the film has it's moments and is something of an interesting familiar. It is certainly not an unrecognised masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who is george lazenby?, 17 July 2000
By A Customer
Audiences were pleased with the bond films so far with connery being the original james bond nobody was expecting a change,but when the next bond film came out audiences were shocked with the new bond also george lazenby had never been in any previous films so nobody knew who he was which made people uncertain about how the film will be and let me tell you it is petheticly boring,lazenby just doesn't fit the part for a secret agent wearing kilts and little perses instead of a smart suit with a bow tie and cufflinks it just took out the bond spirit,in the film it is all based on a mountain where blofeld is hypnotising his customers at a hotel and no matter what he won't let them leave so bond has to find out why,with very little action and a poor ending it just wasn't enough for our bond enthusiasts,i give this film 1 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disaster - certainly not a Bond film, 5 April 2013
By 
M. B. Richardson (Stockton - on - Tees, Cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: On Her Majesty's Secret Service [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
I am a great fan of all Bond films - some better than others, this one was like an expensive "B" movie and definitely the worst one ever made, with terrible acting (by everyone, including Diana Rigg), ridiculous storyline, boring monologue and very little action till the end, even that was disappointing. I commented while watching it, it was like a long episode of the Avengers, but not as good.

You can tell from the very beginning of the film that something is amiss, when Lazenby looks straight into the camera and says "that never happened to the other fellow" - shocking & amateurish!

Lazenby could'nt act, he could'nt do a proper English accent, he could'nt walk properly and he could'nt do any action scenes realistically.

The Bond character he played was not the Bond we all now - Bond would not have got married, especially to an unstable woman who tried to commit suicide for no apparent reason and her father who tried to capture or kill Bond in order for him to marry his daughter - thus the father was unstable as well. Still to do with the love match - Bond had the chance to check where Blofeld was after he came off the sled - he obviously was'nt doing his job properly and let him go to kill his deranged wife Diana Rigg after the wedding.

All these people giving this film anything more than 1 star - are crediting this movie with wishful thinking - how this movie did'nt kill off the Bond series after it was released is a mystery to me.

It should have been left on the cutting room floor.

Unfortunately if you want to have a Bond movie marathon like I am having at the moment - you have to watch this drivel as well as "From Russia with love", which only deserved 2 stars to complete the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 29 Oct 2005
Boring.
I cannot believe that a Bond film could be so bad. It was so slow moving that I was hoping that the end would come 30 mins before it did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Bond Film Ever..., 13 Nov 2006
By 
A lot of people I think just like to be different and say this film is good. It is not, It pathetically tries to join its self to the previous 5 Bond films with cheesy references yet contradicts this by having Bond and Blofeld not recognize each other. Lazemby is terrible, he mumbles throughout the film at times his mouth doesn't move at all it's so badly dubbed. The plot is so idiotic it belongs in an episode of the Avengers. Telly Savalas is a poor Blofeld, however probably not the worst. The action sequences are sped up like a Charlie Chaplin film, in fact it's like the whole special effects and stunt teams didn't care through the absence of Sean this is evident where during the Ski scene an ave lance kills what appears to be a badly drawn on stick man. I'm surprised this didn't kill the franchise, The only good thing is John Barrys theme. It's a shame that such an important part of the character, the death of his wife, was handled this way. I wish there had been a re-write with Sean or even if it was included in the Pre-Title sequence of Diamonds Are Forever as originally intended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Bond Movie Ever!!!, 15 Dec 2007
By 
T. H. Goss "Tom Goss" (Wales, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love the bond movies. I'm collecting them all, slowly but getting there. However, I'm not adding this one to my collection. George Lazenby is the worst Bond I've ever seen. Of course nobody will top the great Sean Connery but there have been other good bond actors (Roger moore, Pierce Brosnan) and Lazenby doesn't pull it off. The movie itself is boring and very poor. I haven't seen Daniel Graig as Bond yet but I'm sure he wont be as bad and the movie wont suck so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing to say the least, 23 Jan 2003
By 
M J CAPEWELL (Kidsgrove, Stoke-on-Trent) - See all my reviews
This film is probably the only one to make me yaun. For the first hour its mostly all talking and soppy love stories no action what so ever. It does pick up a bit towards the end and the plot is very good but if your like me and like action scenes then this one is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 114 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Her Majesty's Secret Service [DVD] [1969]
On Her Majesty's Secret Service [DVD] [1969] by Peter R. Hunt (DVD - 2012)
4.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews