Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bond movie, from the golden era
The second in the Bond movie canon, and a satisfying balance is achieved in this, Sean Connery's favourite of the series. The plot is satisfyingly spy-like, with decoding machines, double crosses and foreign venues...
Cold war politics are not emphasised here, but instead Spectre, a fictional terrorist and extortion organisation, is invented for 1960 political...
Published on 24 July 2007 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars James Bond
A good Sean Connery Bond film as usual but not bought for my use also watched it and it was quite enjoyable although seen it many times
Published 3 months ago by Susie


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bond movie, from the golden era, 24 July 2007
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The second in the Bond movie canon, and a satisfying balance is achieved in this, Sean Connery's favourite of the series. The plot is satisfyingly spy-like, with decoding machines, double crosses and foreign venues...
Cold war politics are not emphasised here, but instead Spectre, a fictional terrorist and extortion organisation, is invented for 1960 political correctness sake. However, with Terence Young once again in the director's chair we get a real cold war style spy thriller, as well as an element of the exotic we associate with Bond.
So what do you get for twice the money as Dr. No..? A then stellar cast, including the famous German cabaret star Lotte Lenya, playing Rosa Klebb, the villain who inspires the Connery quip `She's had her kicks', Daniella Bianchi who had just come runner up in Miss Universe, as well as two more beauty pageant contestants, who play the fighting gypsy girls. Robert Shaw plays one of the more convincing and genually menacing villains, and of course Q makes his debut.
The action scenes are varied, and satisfyingly interspersed with a real story, not so far removed from Fleming's original. Most famously of course, is the 6 minute fist fight between Connery and Shaw on the Orient Express, a scene which some producers at the time were worried was just too violent. Mostly, it is Peter Hunt's fantastic editing that makes the scene, and indeed adds a sense of style to the entire movie. Train fight aside, there are also set pieces including a gunfight in a gypsy camp, and a `money-shot' with exploding petrol canisters in a boat chase in a loch.
As for the remastering, the film is now spotless, although there is no one place one can say the restoration has made a startling impact. Indeed, in some places the improved colour correction has made a night scene darker than before, albeit with improved contrast. The sound has become clearer, but without obvious tricksy surround effects on the dts or dolby digital soundtrack.
The extras include all that the special edition had, plus one or two new items. Specifically, some archive material of Ian Fleming. The radio conversation between Raymond Chandler and Fleming is fascinating, while the other CBS interview and desert island disc appearance are of moderate interest but contain nothing surprising. However, even the original extras are worth revisiting, especially the documentary `Inside From Russia with Love', as the trouble shoot of this movie does have some fascinating stories behind it.
All in all, this was not yet quite the Bond movie that would emerge in its full overblown form in Goldfinger, but a terrifically good thriller, especially given its age, and more of a genuine spy movie than the movies to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like it was filmed yesterday, 23 Jan 2009
By 
Chris White (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Despite the fact that I knew of the major restoration of the Bond catalogue for the Ultimate Edition DVD releases, I avoided buying them since I knew that HD was around the corner in one form or another.

Now that they're here on BD, I can honestly say that this represents the best clean-up of an 'old' title that I've seen. It simply comes alive with rich, vibrant colour, rock-steady image stabilisation and not a single blemish. Details that were not apparent before, such as the cut of Bond's suits or the make-up of his leading lady, are now revealed in stunning clarity. As has been remarked elsewhere, it does indeed look like a period spy thriller filmed in 2009.

The sound has also had a makeover, and although a new mix of DTS HD Master Audio from the original mono makes you think that surround effects will be introduced for their own sake, they're not. Instead are subtle improvements that provide a crystal clear dialogue track and leave the wider soundstage for the musical score.

The special features are copious, with (as far as I'm aware) all the featurettes and documentaries from the previous releases being ported over.

Although it's still early days for my Blu-ray collection, if this is the standard for all the 007 films in the format, then I am in for a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Bond film in HD., 8 Jun 2010
By 
Gabriel De Bourg (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
From Russia With Love is my favorite of all the Bond films. While I could delve into explaining that I will mostly focus on this Blu-Ray edition.

I own most of the Bond, single disc DVD edition. As such I made a side-by-side comparison between them. The difference is huge. To start with the picture is clearer, with a crisp definition and lively colour. Overall it feels more alive and natural. The sound is also improved, especially the music has a larger dynamic range.

The extras are the same, but as I mentioned in my review of Dr. No I don't wish anything more. They are of such high standard that it doesn't matter to me. This is also the only one where Connery makes and appearance in there.

Overall it is a great step-up from the DVD when it comes to audio/visuals and as such I highly recommend to every Bond-fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Package and one of the best bonds, 19 Jan 2009
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the Bond film that gets the balance right between being a proper spy thriller and a few nice girls and one 'gadget'. The opening pre-credits sequence is one of the best ever made. Robert Shaw plays Red Grant a psychotic killer who is put to the test and kills Bond before the film starts.

If the film doesn't quite maintain this standard for the rest of the film it never falls far short. When Grant and Bond do meet for real nearer the end of the film its one of the best climaxes to any Bond film. Contrary to a previous reviewer I believe the sequence in the boat with Bond examining the 8mm film is included in this release.

The Bourne films forced Bond filmmakers to go back to making tougher more realistic spy thrillers. If the contempary filmmakers had watched this they would known where they were going wrong much earlier.

Amazingly, baring in mind this film was made in 1963, there is a directors commentary. Its a shame that Sean Connery hasn't contributed but you can't have everything. Overall a very good release now available at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another terrific Bond Blu-Ray, 13 Feb 2009
By 
K. O'Leary (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In my opinion, the quality of the image for From Russia With Love is not quite as good as Dr.No, but then again what is? This film's image quality is still top drawer though, and makes a lot of more modern releases look flat and bland. Even the titles are a treat, with their beautiful vibrant colours, and the shadowy dancers are now clearly defined with some startling detail revealed occasionally by the lighting.

The soundtrack is also a little off par with Dr.No, without that films weight and punch. It still has superb clarity, and subtle effects steering and surround use, which is in keeping with it's mono roots. Generally, it still sounds like an old film though, whereas Dr.No could have been made yesterday. Still, as I have already said, the first film set the bar extremely high, and maybe one of the best Blu-Ray transfers out there.

I believe the extras are identical to the Ultimate Edition DVD, which is fine as they are very exhaustive. A lot of the docs have been bumped to HD as well which is nice. I only have one note of concern, and that is with the length of time it takes to load the disk (at least, with my Sony player), it always looks like it's going to fail and spit it out, you just have to have patience, it does get there in the end (although I've read elsewhere that some early players have genuine problems).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A near-masterpiece from the Golden Age of Bond films . . ., 21 Nov 2002
This review is from: From Russia With Love [DVD] (DVD)
From Russia With Love remains one of the greatest of all Bond movies, in my view eclipsed only by Goldfinger. We are only second in what would prove to be an enduring series (recently added to by the twentieth and latest offering, Die Another Day) so the movie remains relatively true to Ian Fleming's original vision. Fleming died suddenly in 1964, the year after FRWL, and thereafter the film Bond diverged more and more widely from the quite brilliant novels, but here we have a comparatively faithful rendition of the book. You don't have to be a Bond purist to be one of the millions who regard Sean Connery, with his brooding undercurrent of genuine strength and menace not to say brutality, as the definitive Bond, and the late lamented Robert Shaw (here muscle-bound and peroxide blond of hair) makes a splendidly evil villain in the shape of Donovan 'Red' Grant (marvellously malevolent but still toned-down from the homicidal Northern Irish psychopath depicted in the book). As other reviewers have observed, the luscious Daniela Bianchi was surely one of the sexiest in a long line of Bond girls, so, in short, magnificent characters brilliantly played all round in magnificent sets, Istanbul in particular. Add on a tuneful title song from the velvet-voiced Matt Monro and the greatest fight sequence ever filmed (Connery and Shaw hurl themselves at each other on the train with jaw-droppingly realistic savagery) and you have Bond (almost---see above) at his very best. Buy film in format of your choice: watch: repeat regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Bond, 29 Jan 2013
By 
John O' Flynn (Midleton, County Cork Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Russia With Love [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Great movie ,brings me back to my youth.Connery has a presence that no other Bond had and a kind of toughness to make it convincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Russia With Love [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I saw this movie many years ago with my father
This is the best best bond movie ever made and Sean Connery the best Bond
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic James Bond, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From Russia With Love [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
Very much a period piece now (showing many scenes of the 60s), this is classic James Bond action film. Sean Connery is established in his role of OO7 after the strong entrance of Dr.No, and plays it cool once more with the ladies. The film is not overly violent or sexist but does introduce some 'new' gadgets to the screen. Of all the 'old Bonds', and personally I rate this as one of the best. It captures the mood (both politically and internationally) at the time and sits well amongst my top 5 favourite Bond movies up to now. It's appropriate for all ages (unlike some of the newer productions) but does show show clear signs of a more leisurely way of life and gentlemanly code of behaviour, even from 'the baddies'. It is good value for money and comes with some entertaining and many informative extras. Certainly worth a score of 8/10 in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic quality., 30 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not going to get into all of the technical guff that I see a lot of reviewers spout forth about. I am a Bond fan and I own a simple Sony blu ray player and have it connected to a 40inch Sony Bravia 1080p TV. This film is almost 50 years old and yet some of the scenes look like they were filmed last year. There will always be scenes that date, however this is classic Bond and you can tell that time, care and attention to detail has gone into the transfer. It is one of the very best of Connery's Bonds and as a lover of the books, is one of the few Bond films to remain faithful to Flemings novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Russia With Love [DVD] [1963]
From Russia With Love [DVD] [1963] by Terence Young (DVD - 2012)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews