Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filmed now set in the 60's
That is how much improved the picture is on BLU RAY...You would think it was filmed yesterday...It is that good...

I'm sure if you are on here then you are a fan of the films so i won't spend to much time on the movie itself..
It is the first Bond film..No one knew what was to come so things that are established in future movies are in part missing here if...
Published on 12 Jan. 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Dated But Watchable
This was the film that introduced James Bond to the cinematic world and also made a huge star out of Sean Connery. It was the first ever Bond film and its importance as such should never be forgotten. However, time has not been kind to this film and it has dated more severely than all of the other Bond films. There are very few memorable set-pieces, very little action...
Published 3 months ago by FJY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars dr no, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
my brother wanted this on blu ray even though he already has it on dvd so it must be his favourite
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, especially as it the first bond film that ..., 29 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant ,especially as it the first bond film that the stage for this iconic character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Beginning, 10 Jun. 2000
By 
Mr. S. Carlin "arca20" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
For those who don't know (and can there be such a person), this is the first film in the Brocolli Bond franchise, Bond 1 (TWINE being Bond 19). The film itself is excellent and it is interesting to note the similarities between Dr No and TWINE. Characters are reluctant to speak about Dr No./ Renard and the principal villain makes only a few brief appearances.
Beyond that though Dr No is a better film. I enjoyed TWINE but there was a freshness to Dr No that the franchise needs to get back.
The DVD itself is excellent - a brilliant transfer and plenty of features including radio spots! A film for both the Bond and the DVD enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A legend, 27 April 2005
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
no matter how much people may critisize this film it is a legend. You must remember this film was made 40 odd years ago for 1962 i think it's pretty impressive.
You have to get this film its the first one in the series no matter how bad people say it is it's still the first ever James Bond. I recommend any buyers searching for a bond who not yet have Doctor No i reccomend buy it!
thank you. Schrew
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice picture let down by poor sound remix, 25 May 2009
By 
M. A. Bennett (Wiltshire,England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
It was a joy to see such a clean looking version of this first Bond film.
Even some dated and laughable effects and set design (see the car pursuit and try not to be reminded of Airplane!) cannot detract overall from an entertaining movie experience.

He was finding his feet here, although there are a few scenes which show Bond's callousness and willingness to kill in cold blood that are lacking from later movies in the series.

The blu ray looks VERY clean and colourful due in no small part to the frame by frame restoration work. Some may find it too 'over processed' though.

My only real gripe is with the soundmix options, ie none (there is no original/restored mono track, so we are forced to endure this so-called DTS-MA surround track which adds nothing).
Even worse, during the exchange of words just before Bond offs the traitor at Miss Taro's, the sound echoes badly at one point (around 38 minutes in I think).
This is unacceptable and reminds me of some cheapo Anchor Bay dvd 5.1 remixes (at least they had a mono or 2.0 option).

This echo effect is not present on the SE dvd dolby5.1 or dts soundtracks, all bitstreamed from same Sony bdp-s550 to receiver via hdmi.

The menus are hard work too,e.g. subtitles cannot be easily toggled on/off (you can switch on with one button press but have to go down through around 17 choices to get to 'off'), although perhaps other players have a subtitles off button?

For this reason alone I will stick with the SE dvd, as the picture is still quite remarkable and certainly better than the original dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Dr No Is A Big Yes!, 14 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
First off, let me just explain what a massive James Bond I am. I grew up on the novels by David Niven and used to enact many of the scenarios from the stories with my brother Anders in our garden. Naturally, I would be Bond and my brother would choose to play the female love interest. On occasions, this would call for him to wear skimpy clothing and wigs. I remember one episode where Bond (me) had tied Honey Ryder (my brother) to an apple tree and was extracting information from her, by means of brute force. My brother really got into the spirit of the part and actually encouraged me when I suggested we use real bamboo canes as a form of torture on Honey Ryder's back....ahh the memories.

Onto the film version, 'Dr No' is based on the novel 'From Russia With Love', only with different characters. Interestingly, the character of Bond is made a lot more masculine in the movie. In the book, he is withdrawn, a little camp and tends to avoid confrontation. It is therefore refreshing to see Bond get involved in the action onscreen.

The role of Bond was originally going to go to Marlon Brando, yet due to ill health, Sean Connery stepped up to the mark. Irish born Connery is quite simply legendary in his performance. Though at times his accent is thick and confusing, his presence more than makes up for the fact that he was plucked straight out of obscurity for the part. His arch nemesis, Dr No is portrayed by renowned stage and screen icon Simon Callow, who brings an air of disdainful menace to the role. This is also the first time that we are introduced to veterans like M and Moneypenney. M, is a miserable old man of about ninety, who has little to do except stand behind a desk and fawn over Moneypenny (Lois Chiles).

The plot is pretty run of the mill. Bond is sent to Zaire to investigate dubious goings on a tea plantation, which soon turns out to be a cover for a drug farm. The Pinewood studio doubles up well for the exotic locations, though I did notice the sound crew visible in a few shots and saw the set wobble twice. The action comes thick and first, from the introduction, where Bond has a punch up in M's office, to the end finale, where he wrestles an alligator in nitric acid.

The Bond theme is present and correct, yet dubiously played in a stylophone all the way through. This was down to budget restrictions. My only criticism, the decision to have Bond play most of his scenes for laughs. All the quips he made became increasingly tedious. Upon the villian's demise Bond turns to the camera, winks and jokes 'Well that's called taking the plunge.' I had to cringe, though I understand several cuts of the film ommitted this dreadful line.

On the whole, this is a rewarding and exciting Bond film and is also a landmark in film history, for featuring the first black person in a speaking role, Bond's loveable sidekick Quarrel (played with affectionate charm by Earl Gosset Junior).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sensitive restoration of the original Bond classic, 12 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
FILM - Dr No is one of the best of the James Bond films, and one of only three or four that remain pretty much true to their source novel. It is prevented only from being a top class adventure by Sean Connery's slightly hesitant performance as James Bond (his first appearance in the role), and a clunky feel more akin to British action films of the 1950s. However, you would never guess the budget was extremely restricted, as every penny of it is spent on superb sets and gorgeous colour photography. It also has a superb supporting cast. And for film fans, the most interest is in its groundbreaking editing and sound.
DVD PRESENTATION - a superb print, very little dust and no scratching. Great sound. Some improvement of the scene with the spider may have gone on, the glass under which Connery's arm rested not looking as obvious as on video or the prints shown on TV. The film appears to drag a little at the end, as the music sounds slightly slowed down. But this is not a fault that should cause much problems, as it occurs in the last few seconds of the end titles only.
DVD EXTRAS - Interesting documentaries, ably narrated by Patrick McNee. Well restored trailers and TV spots. A very good documentary about Terence Young (the director of Dr No, From Russia With Love and Thunderball), which provides a great deal of information about his contribution to the feel of Bond films. Not first class, but much better than many so called extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Arrived in good time, no problems...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] (DVD)
I ENYOY WATCHING MOST BOND FILMS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] (DVD)
I love the classic James Bonds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr. No [DVD] [1962]
Dr. No [DVD] [1962] by Terence Young (DVD - 2012)
£8.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews