Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film Restoration Restores Some Pride in Bond Series
I have had to make do with watching the "old-style" Bond movies (pre Casino Royale) on ITV and ITV2 for quite a few years now. And after all these years it slowly became apparent that this is what the Bond films seemed to have been relegated to - the "nothing else is on TV so I might as well" genre. Indeed, when Casino Royale came out it just seem to compound this feeling...
Published on 31 Oct 2008 by hellodavey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars non the best bond, but good start to the series
this film is not as good as some of the others in the series but it still remains a good film at the time and now with one of the better bond girls!
Published on 12 Jan 2001 by dave@fukks.com


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blue ray upgrades, 18 Jun 2010
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
The blue ray versions of DR. No and From Russia with love, which I have also purchased, are vast improvements on the original DVDs. My only disappointment is that the soundtracks are not stereo which I assume were on the master film tapes.I have the complete collection of James Bond movies and will gradually update the lot to blue ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Say yes to Dr. No, 14 May 2009
By 
D. Klaassen (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
This movie is a good example of the benefit of having the blu-ray media.
The picture has been transferred from the original material that was used for recording the movie and has been meticulously checked and corrected.
The result is very good.

The blu-ray itself has some issues with freezing and skipping part; amazon has resolved this by refunding the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Dr No Is A Big Yes!, 14 Sep 2007
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
First off, let me just explain what a massive James Bond I am. I grew up on the novels by David Niven and used to enact many of the scenarios from the stories with my brother Anders in our garden. Naturally, I would be Bond and my brother would choose to play the female love interest. On occasions, this would call for him to wear skimpy clothing and wigs. I remember one episode where Bond (me) had tied Honey Ryder (my brother) to an apple tree and was extracting information from her, by means of brute force. My brother really got into the spirit of the part and actually encouraged me when I suggested we use real bamboo canes as a form of torture on Honey Ryder's back....ahh the memories.

Onto the film version, 'Dr No' is based on the novel 'From Russia With Love', only with different characters. Interestingly, the character of Bond is made a lot more masculine in the movie. In the book, he is withdrawn, a little camp and tends to avoid confrontation. It is therefore refreshing to see Bond get involved in the action onscreen.

The role of Bond was originally going to go to Marlon Brando, yet due to ill health, Sean Connery stepped up to the mark. Irish born Connery is quite simply legendary in his performance. Though at times his accent is thick and confusing, his presence more than makes up for the fact that he was plucked straight out of obscurity for the part. His arch nemesis, Dr No is portrayed by renowned stage and screen icon Simon Callow, who brings an air of disdainful menace to the role. This is also the first time that we are introduced to veterans like M and Moneypenney. M, is a miserable old man of about ninety, who has little to do except stand behind a desk and fawn over Moneypenny (Lois Chiles).

The plot is pretty run of the mill. Bond is sent to Zaire to investigate dubious goings on a tea plantation, which soon turns out to be a cover for a drug farm. The Pinewood studio doubles up well for the exotic locations, though I did notice the sound crew visible in a few shots and saw the set wobble twice. The action comes thick and first, from the introduction, where Bond has a punch up in M's office, to the end finale, where he wrestles an alligator in nitric acid.

The Bond theme is present and correct, yet dubiously played in a stylophone all the way through. This was down to budget restrictions. My only criticism, the decision to have Bond play most of his scenes for laughs. All the quips he made became increasingly tedious. Upon the villian's demise Bond turns to the camera, winks and jokes 'Well that's called taking the plunge.' I had to cringe, though I understand several cuts of the film ommitted this dreadful line.

On the whole, this is a rewarding and exciting Bond film and is also a landmark in film history, for featuring the first black person in a speaking role, Bond's loveable sidekick Quarrel (played with affectionate charm by Earl Gosset Junior).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU LOVE BOND....., 24 April 2006
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
I myself love the James bond films and books, and although i would give every single film 5 stars, this is my favourite. It is the first film in the series, and shows off the acting talents of Sean Connery and Joseph Wiseman. I love this film as it stars my favourite Bond so far (connery) and is slightly more relaxed in some scenes unlinke the latest films such as die another day. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sensitive restoration of the original Bond classic, 12 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
FILM - Dr No is one of the best of the James Bond films, and one of only three or four that remain pretty much true to their source novel. It is prevented only from being a top class adventure by Sean Connery's slightly hesitant performance as James Bond (his first appearance in the role), and a clunky feel more akin to British action films of the 1950s. However, you would never guess the budget was extremely restricted, as every penny of it is spent on superb sets and gorgeous colour photography. It also has a superb supporting cast. And for film fans, the most interest is in its groundbreaking editing and sound.
DVD PRESENTATION - a superb print, very little dust and no scratching. Great sound. Some improvement of the scene with the spider may have gone on, the glass under which Connery's arm rested not looking as obvious as on video or the prints shown on TV. The film appears to drag a little at the end, as the music sounds slightly slowed down. But this is not a fault that should cause much problems, as it occurs in the last few seconds of the end titles only.
DVD EXTRAS - Interesting documentaries, ably narrated by Patrick McNee. Well restored trailers and TV spots. A very good documentary about Terence Young (the director of Dr No, From Russia With Love and Thunderball), which provides a great deal of information about his contribution to the feel of Bond films. Not first class, but much better than many so called extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film to get the ball rolling., 24 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dr. No [VHS] [1962] (VHS Tape)
This was a good Bond film to start of the James Bond phenomonom as it introduces Felix Leiter. It is a bit slow compared to today's films but it still features a good villain and a good girl. A good film to get you into Bond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good start, 2 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dr. No [VHS] [1962] (VHS Tape)
The first ever bond flim and it was made in 1962 and today it is still good but not as good some of the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Cold War Thriller, 29 April 2005
From Russia with Love, along with its successor, Goldfinger, represents Bond at his best. Although the series has run for more than thirty years with seventeen "official" entries, it has yet to better, or even equal, what it achieved in 1963-1964 with the release of these two films. By combining solid storylines, tightly-paced action sequences, memorable villains, and Sean Connery in top form, Russia and Goldfinger mark the cinematic apex for Ian Fleming's 007.
The elements of From Russia with Love move the movie closer to the recognizable "Bond formula" than was the case for its predecessor, Dr. No. Here, the action scenes are more numerous and generate added tension, the title sequence has a familiar flavor, John Barry's distinctive score replaces the workmanlike music of Monty Norman, Q makes his first appearance, and Connery tones up 007's sophistication while downplaying his cold-bloodedness.
Unlike the megalomaniacs in later Bond films, the villains in From Russia with Love aren't after world domination (at least not immediately). In fact, they want something significantly less ambitious: a Russian decoding device. Two of SPECTRE's top operatives are on the mission: #3, former KGB agent Rosa Klebb (Lotte Lenya), and #5, Kronsteen (Vladek Sheybal), a chess master who has meticulously plotted every move and weighed all alternatives. The pair reports directly to the mysterious #1, Blofeld, whose face remains hidden until You Only Live Twice.
Kronsteen's manipulative plan involves using Bond and Russian cipher clerk Tatiana Romanova (Daniela Bianchi) as pawns. Once the British agent has obtained the decoding device from Tatiana, SPECTRE thug Red Grant (Robert Shaw) is to take it from him, leaving behind a corpse. The plot is suitably complicated (but not so convoluted that the viewer will get lost), and, even though 007 suspects a trap, the lure of a beautiful woman and a valuable espionage coup is too enticing to resist. So he travels to Istanbul, where Tatiana has arranged to meet him.
Connery, who felt his way through parts of Dr. No, has mastered his character by this outing. He acts the role with confidence and familiarity, easily establishing his reputation as the inimitable 007. He is surrounded by an interesting supporting cast that includes Miss Universe 1960, Daniela Bianchi (whose voice was dubbed over), and Lotte Lenya as an especially vicious adversary. Playing his part with the perfect combination of toughness and sly wit, Pedro Armendariz (in his final acting appearance) is delightful as Kerim Bay, Bond's Turkish ally.
From Russia with Love is among the most tightly-plotted of all the Bond films, and, as a result, is one of the shortest. It moves briskly, blending intrigue, romance, and action into an immensely satisfying whole. Russia exudes style, as typified by a fight in a gypsy camp where Bond offhandedly dispatches rogues to the strains of John Barry's "007 theme". This movie has several such memorable moments, including an inventively choreographed fight sequence with Bond and Grant going at it in the confined space of two train compartments. Shortly after that, there's a death-defying chase between Bond and a helicopter.
Standing at the pinnacle of the series, From Russia with Love shows how good a Bond film can be when all the ingredients mesh. This movie isn't just a fun popcorn-munching action adventure flick; it's a good motion picture by any standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lucky Connery got in first., 23 April 2005
By 
P W Jones (Huddersfield, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Often praised for creating a new genre of film. In fact it is a below average Bond film in which Connery seems to shout and snarl at most people. A first performance as Bond that is much below the much maligned Lazenby's first and only performance in the brilliant OHMSS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Historical interest - but poor DVD quality, 5 July 2000
By 
Dr. Brian Matthews "Croydonian" (South Croydon, Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
I have the Region 2 DVD.
The movie is a little dated now, but is not improved by poor sound quality on the DVD - certainly not what should be delivered! 'Wow' to match an old compact cassette (remember them?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr. No [DVD] [1962]
Dr. No [DVD] [1962] by Terence Young (DVD - 2012)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews