Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film Restoration Restores Some Pride in Bond Series
I have had to make do with watching the "old-style" Bond movies (pre Casino Royale) on ITV and ITV2 for quite a few years now. And after all these years it slowly became apparent that this is what the Bond films seemed to have been relegated to - the "nothing else is on TV so I might as well" genre. Indeed, when Casino Royale came out it just seem to compound this feeling...
Published on 31 Oct 2008 by hellodavey

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars non the best bond, but good start to the series
this film is not as good as some of the others in the series but it still remains a good film at the time and now with one of the better bond girls!
Published on 12 Jan 2001 by dave@fukks.com


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film Restoration Restores Some Pride in Bond Series, 31 Oct 2008
By 
hellodavey (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
I have had to make do with watching the "old-style" Bond movies (pre Casino Royale) on ITV and ITV2 for quite a few years now. And after all these years it slowly became apparent that this is what the Bond films seemed to have been relegated to - the "nothing else is on TV so I might as well" genre. Indeed, when Casino Royale came out it just seem to compound this feeling of the old films being nearly B-grade in terms of picture quality and farcical in action sequences.

However, this Blu Ray release of Dr. No seems to have breathed new life into the actual quality of the film. It was fantastic. It felt like Bond belonged on the big screen again. The range, saturation and vividity of the colours really stood out as did how clean and sharp the image was. Video bitrate was consistently between 30-35Mbps. Motion was also smooth which always helps iron out the creases in dated action sequences. A look at the 10 min special feature of how they created a 4K restoration of the film demonstrates well the care they put into improving the quality of this film.

One of the guys who worked on the restoration puts it well "the film now [nearly] looks like it was set in the sixties rather than made in it"

Having only rented it from Lovefilm for now, if the other Bond Blu rays appear this good, it might soon be time to finally permanently add Mr. Bond to the home film collection. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like Watching At Cinema, 2 Mar 2009
By 
father2 "father2" (England Europe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
I am not old enough to have seen Dr No at the pictures when it was released way back in 1962, but this blu-ray transfer makes me realise what it must have felt like to see it when first released.

The Blu-ray picture is very impressive, sharpe and vivid. The colours are great and there is little of the noise which has blighted earlier releases.

Personally I first saw Dr No when broadcast on ITV and then on VHS. Both of these were 4:3 and left me feeling less than impressed. Then came the DVD release but again this wasn't up to scratch. But the Blu-ray release has at long last proved satisfying, very satisfying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filmed now set in the 60's, 12 Jan 2009
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
That is how much improved the picture is on BLU RAY...You would think it was filmed yesterday...It is that good...

I'm sure if you are on here then you are a fan of the films so i won't spend to much time on the movie itself..
It is the first Bond film..No one knew what was to come so things that are established in future movies are in part missing here if you now what i mean but i think it is a better film for it..
To me the best Bond films are the ones that either stick closley to the original novel(this,FRWL,OHMSS) or indeed try to keep the character as close to how Fleming intended..Connery in his first 4 films did this..Lazenby,Dalton and Craig also keep true to how the character was written..
Connery nails Bond from the very first attempt and in part this is down to the director Terence Young for the stly and pace of the film...Connery's Bond is indeed a killer..he has that air about hi,..that danger element that sadly disappers as each film rolls on..

So the BLU RAY...well what can i say..Wonderful...The casino scene at the start i almost felt like i was sitting at the table with them...the smoke almost fills my room when Bond has a cigarette..you can tell that Sean had his nails done as they are clean as a button...
This is really what it must have been like watching it when it was first released back in 1962..
Roll on the next batch of films on blu ray....
5 stars...excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film (4-stars for the movie, 3 for the Blu-ray), 12 Mar 2009
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
Easy, let's not get too carried away! If you already own the Ultimate Edition DVD of Dr No & have watched it upscaled to 1080p, then IMHO you'll not notice much improvement in this Blu-ray disc (BD) version.

Indeed, the often quoted, "The film now looks like it was set in the '60s rather than made in it...", is actually taken from a promo documentary for the remastered 007 Ultimate Edition DVD series (2006); the 007 BDs are sourced from the same restored master tapes.

Compared to the Ultimate Edition DVD, the Dr No BD has slightly richer colours; a bit more detail in faces, clothing material etc; & slightly more depth of field. Also, those with surround sound will be disappointed that the majority of the soundtrack still emanates from the centre speaker. And it's a shame that the car chases & fight scenes are still sped up.

However, if your existing version is the DVD prior to the Ultimate Edition - then you WILL notice a big difference.

If you do want to see/hear a marked improvement from DVD to BD, may I suggest that you checkout the Matrix, Blade Runner or even Casino Royale?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bond, James Bond, 23 April 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dvd Info.
Running time 105 minutes approx.
Remastered edition, Frame by Frame restoration.

Trivia.
1)Creator Ian Fleming apparently quoted as saying this film was dreadful when he seen an advanced screening of the movie & disliked a Scotsman playing a British agent.
2)Noel Coward was offered the role of Dr No his reply was "No No No".
3)Cary Grant was offered the role of Bond but would only commit to one picture.
4)The budget on this film was $1 million dollars & overran by an additional $100.000.
5)Fom Dr No-Goldfinger stuntman Bob Simmons does the opening gunbarrel sequence not Sean Connery.
6)Ursula Andress voice was dubbed by voice artist Nikki Van Der Zyl.
7)Only SPECTRE Bond movie not to feature the character of Blofield.
8)Originally Bond shot Professor Dent 6 times but the censors asked for 4 shots to be removed.
9)Only Bond film that doesn't feature a pre-title sequence.

Synopsis.
British secret agent James Bond is sent to investigate the disappearance of John Strangeways & his secretary as there recent communications with thebritish government has been cut off.

Arriving in Jamaica Bond teams up with CIA agent Felix Leiter & Quarrel & learns Strangeways was investigating Crab Key a private island owned by a mysterious Dr No & discovers Strangeways & his secretary were both murdered.

Bond has to duel will hired killers, Aviod Deadly Tarantulas & sneak on to the island of Crab Key were he meets bikini clad Honey Ryder were 007 & Honey come face to face with the sinister scientist Dr No.

Dr No is a fanatical scientist with metalic hands who is working for SPECTRE a terrorist organization who's aim is for complete world domination, Bond learns Dr No has been disrupting the American rocket launches at NASA & plans to use his atomic radio beam upon the Project Mercury space launch at Cape Canaveral.

Bond must stop Dr No & end his diabolical plan & Rescue Honey who's been left to eventually drown but will Bond be successful in his mission?

Timelord Thoughts.
I've been a James Bond fan since I was 12 years old as I remember saving up my pocket money & buying the videos from Woolworths in the late 80's for 15 each.

This new dvd release has had frame by frame restoration & the results are stunning as the picture is vibrant & scratch free looking like a brand new print with stunning crystal clear sound restoration.

This is a good debut for Britain's greatest secret agent as all the ingredients are here from exotic locations, Great action scenes, Beautiful women & power mad villains all of which add up to a great 007 debut adventure.

Sean Connery nails the character of James Bond for me & is the definitive Bond in my personal opinion as he delivers great charm & charisma yet has a steely icyness in his interpretation & a look in his eye's that signifies cross him & he'll kill you without hesitation.

Ursula Andress rising out the water is the films most iconic scene as Ursula Andress oozes such sexually beauty yet sadly isn't given enough to do in this movie.

Joseph Wiseman as Dr No who appears in the films final 20 minutes makes an impact as Dr No who makes the character uite chilling without being at all threatening.

This was the vey first Bond film released in 1962 & who'd have thought over 50 year's later we'd now have 23 movies & counting, Which is all down to this excellent debut movie having the right mix of ingredients that makes a thoroughly entertaining debut for Mr Bond.

My only criticism is the original movie artwork not being used as a possible reversible cover as over the year's the Bond movie poster's have delivered some stunning artwork & it's a shame a reversible sleeve with that artwork wasn't included as a reversible sleeve.

Nevertheless a great debut for 007 with a stunning new restoration dvd transfer.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Americans are fools. I offered my services, they refused. So did the East. Now they can both pay for their mistake., 12 April 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Dr. No is directed by Terence Young and co-adapted to screenplay by Richard Maibaum, Johanna Harwood & Berkely Mather from the novel of the same name written by Ian Fleming. It stars Sean Connery, Joseph Wiseman, Ursula Andress, Jack Lord & John Kitzmiller. Music is by Monty Norman and cinematography by Ted Moore.

And so it all began here, what was until Harry Potter arrived on the scene, the most successful film franchise in history. James Bond, a name that would become synonymous with suave spies, deranged villains, beautiful women, exotic locations, gadgets, cars and sex. Ian Fleming's James Bond novels were big come the end of 1961, yet producers Cubby Broccoli and Harry Saltzman met some resistance from studios. It was never plain sailing, even after release the film garnered mixed reviews, but word of mouth and condemnation by the Vatican and the Kremlin propelled it to being one of the surprise hits of 62/63. At the box office it made 60 million Worldwide, this after being made on a budget of only 1 million.

Plot basically sees Connery's Bond flying out to Jamaica to investigate the disappearance of agent Strangways (Timothy Moxon). Once there he finds a case of murder is to be investigated and evidence points to the mysterious Dr. No (Wiseman), who resides on Crab Quay island, a place feared by the superstitious locals. Bond must keep his wits about him as he gets closer to the truth, for there are many obstacles in his way and not everyone can be trusted. Cue the suave and athletic Mr. Bond getting involved with lovely ladies, dicing with death, making friends, making enemies and just generally being an all round awesome anti-hero.

SPECTRE: Special Executive for Counter-intelligence, Terrorism, Revenge and Extortion.

There are a number of changes from the book and some censor appeasement was required to get the film a certificate enabling youngsters to see the film with an adult. What Dr. No rounds out as is a jolly good spy/action movie yarn. Some of the hints are there for what would make Bond such a profitable and well loved franchise, but there's no sign of the gadgetry, tricks and japes that would fill out so many of the titles that followed Dr. No. Here Bond is just armed with his Walter PPK 7.65MM pistol, Sunbeam Alpine car and his bravado and nouse.

Some future stalwart characters are given modest introductions (M, Felix Leiter, Monneypenney) and Ursula Andress sets the marker for all future Bond girls to follow. Ted Moore's capturing of the Jamaica location is sumptuous, something that really comes to the fore on the remastered DVD edition of the film. Connery is supremely cool and fearless, the theme tune and gun barrel opening are already in place, and Terence Young, who directs three of the first four Bond movies, keeps it zippy and suspenseful when story gathers up a flame throwing tank, car chases, fights and a quite brilliant tarantula sequence.

Quite a debut, uneven at times as it begins to find its feet, but even if it wasn't the first James Bond movie it would hold up as an entertaining bit of secret agent shenanigans. 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any Bond fan, 17 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
Wow, never seen this film looking so good as it does in this blu ray format. They've really done an excellent job in restoring this film. The picture detail is something else considering its age. It puts a lot of newer films in the shade. Go buy this classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. No, 2006 double disc Ultimate Edition - The original and best!, 22 Aug 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dr No [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
The James Bond series of films has been such a huge part of the last 50 years that it is hard to imagine the time before they existed. Dr No is the first of the films which introduced Sean Connery to the world as the suave yet ruthless secret agent. Look at other films from the same era, and you will see what a change this was, signalling a very new type of British thriller.

Connery here presents us with a Bond much closer to the Ian Fleming's creation than any of his later incarnations. A cold, ruthless machine most of the time, with an eye for danger, a talent for self preservation. He uses cutting one liners and a taste for beautiful ladies as a mask to hide his true self, but every now and then someone breaks through, and he can be a man of compassion. Connery imbues the character with a huge amount of charm and grace, qualities which have made Bond endure for such a long time.

In this first film Bond is sent to the Carribean to investigate some mysterious disappearances, and soon finds himself enmeshed in a plot from a new criminal organisation called SPECTRE to hold the world to ransom. It's thrilling stuff, as we watch him slowly tease at the threads of the mystery, leading up to the thrilling denouement as Bond, aided by the stunning Ursula Andress, confronts the mysterious Dr No in his secret lair.

This ultimate edition really is the best version of the film I have owned. The picture has been lovingly restored and cleaned up, and looks amazing. Really, I am not just saying that. It looks superb. The sound has been similarly treated and there is an option to listen to it in 5.1 DTS surround, which is truly exceptional.

As well as the superb presentation of the film, there is also a host of extras, original trailers, informative audio commentaries and the such. These are exhaustive and some of them quite interesting, especially the film detailing the restoration of the film. But these really a garnish for the main course, which is the film itself.

This is an excellent release, and does this classic film justice. This series of `Ultimate editions' really sets the standard for film releases. It really does not get any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first Bond, better than ever!, 8 Jun 2010
By 
Gabriel De Bourg (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
Dr. No was the start of the mega-franchise that would become James Bond. While the film is good, I actually prefer the book. But for this review I will focus mostly on this Blu-Ray edition.

First I actually own this one on DVD (single disc version) and I did a side-by-side comparison and what a huge improvement the Blu-Ray edition was. The picture was crispy and full of life, while the DVD looked rather muddy. It is also nice to have it presented in the original ratio of 1.66:1 rather than having it in 1.78:1. While picture did have a bit of grain, it was very natural and given for a film like this. The sound of the dialogue was lacking, but that was more because of the source material, rather than the restoration. The music however was booming out of the speakers and being very alive.

While the commentary is a bit lacking, being made from interviews it makes up for it in the documentaries. All of the ones included on set are of top-notch quality, with great interviews. I don't mind these not having been changed, as they remain as great today. As there is not much to add I don't feel that they would have needed more new material.

All in all I highly recommend stepping up with this collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect restoration, 24 Jan 2009
By 
Chris White (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr. No [Blu-ray] [1962] (Blu-ray)
Everything I wrote about From Russia with Love applies here also, as Lowry Digital have done a thorough renovation. Occasionally it's a little too good, as the now-apparent jitter in the opening gun barrel sequence reveals its optically-layered construction.

Nonetheless, the oldest Bond film now looks like a recent one and belies its 1962 vintage with some style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr. No [DVD] [1962]
Dr. No [DVD] [1962] by Terence Young (DVD - 2012)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews