Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich, complex and rewarding tile based resource generation game
This is a complex tile based game, but is a lot of fun once you understand it. Not for new gamers, but rewarding if you like some depth.

The basis of the game is to build a thriving city with a good population.This is done through a mixture of commercial, industrial, civic and housing areas (hexagonal tiles)

You need to balance your income, town...
Published 2 months ago by Kheldon

versus
8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A board game that would be better on a computer?
You're each creating a city using hex tiles which have residential / industrial / office / etc features on them. Good stuff increases your reputation / population (and thus score) and/or increases your income. Bad stuff does the reverse. Many tiles do both (e.g. give you income but lower the tone) and many affect or are affected by other tiles: adjacent, yours, and/or...
Published 9 months ago by Ian Watters


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich, complex and rewarding tile based resource generation game, 25 May 2014
This review is from: Suburbia (Toy)
This is a complex tile based game, but is a lot of fun once you understand it. Not for new gamers, but rewarding if you like some depth.

The basis of the game is to build a thriving city with a good population.This is done through a mixture of commercial, industrial, civic and housing areas (hexagonal tiles)

You need to balance your income, town reputation, tile placement and tile purchase strategy. You aim for the highest population, but a bigger population is more expensive to maintain - so it is a constant balancing act. Add in the various achievements and it is a rich game that changes each time you play it.

There are no dice, it is all based on skill in purchase/placement of tiles for your town and stopping stopping your opponents getting the tiles you know they need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun city-builder, 29 May 2014
This review is from: Suburbia (Toy)
I really like Suburbia.

I think it's a very well balanced game that gives you a lot of options as to how to play, whilst never feeling frustrating or overwhelming. There are a lot of choices to be made, whether it's selecting what building you want to add or where you'll put it and doesn't take long for everyone at the table to have their own town with it's own personality.

There's not a huge amount of interaction between the different players, but you will want to keep an eye on what they are doing as some of their buildings may affect you and vice-versa. You also may want to pay over the odds for something to keep their hands off of it if you can see what strategy they are playing.

My main concern with this game when I first saw it was the artwork. I wasn't a big fan of the way the tiles looked and thought I may not be sucked into the theme because of it. And while it's still true your town might not look like a 'real place', you will grow attached to the way that it feels and the mechanics that hold it together. Now that I own it, I am totally fine with the artwork and actually think it's very well designed for presenting information.

Also, nothing bad ever really happens to you in Suburbia, only different levels of good. Whilst you might play a tile that decreases your reputation, this is usually balanced with a reward elsewhere. You'll find yourself building a town that works together, placing a tile that chains it's effects with several others will feel very satisfying and this happens often. However this ties into the only real criticism I have of it from a gameplay perspective as, especially in the late game, it can become a bit difficult to remember all of the different modifiers happening at once (on the flip side though, it really is in your interest to remember all of your potential rewards).

The contested goals that everyone can see will also vary each game from another - as these are large incentives for building a city a certain way. When you know there's a big reward for having the most houses, all of the players will be frantically snapping them up. Whilst the secret goals that each player has mean that there is also diversity in people's towns and it's interesting trying to work out what people's agendas are.

Overall Suburbia is a fun and balanced game that fills a nice gap in my collection. It's competitive, but not fiercely so and there's not much you can do to frustrate the other players leaving the gameplay friendly. Building a town is satisfying and gives you a sense of pride and ownership when you've customised it well. It can be a little bit fiddly working out all of the different modifiers, but to the game's credit this is minimised by great design and simple rules. It's easy to pick up, but has depth and each game will feel a little bit different thanks to randomised tiles and goals. I was a bit disappointed that the box doesn't contain an insert as it would be really useful, but this is a minor gripe really. This is a game that gets played a lot and one I'm happy to have on my shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, quick economy game, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suburbia (Toy)
This is a very fun, fairly easy hex based eco game, games last about 15 minutes per player.

You build up a city by buying tiles which give you:
income, affecting money gained each turn
reputation, affecting population gained each turn
or directly effecting the amount of money or population you have.

Planning and luck both play factors in this game, which I thoroughly enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suburbia (Toy)
greta game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A board game that would be better on a computer?, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Ian Watters "lovingboth" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Suburbia (Toy)
You're each creating a city using hex tiles which have residential / industrial / office / etc features on them. Good stuff increases your reputation / population (and thus score) and/or increases your income. Bad stuff does the reverse. Many tiles do both (e.g. give you income but lower the tone) and many affect or are affected by other tiles: adjacent, yours, and/or anyone's.

So there's plenty to think about with a complex economy to get going.. and if you're new and playing people who've played before, you will get stuffed. If you can't handle serious complexity in games, juggling dozens of factors, you will be stuffed. This is not for anyone new to modern boardgames, or anyone who thinks it's a slightly more complicated Carcassonne.

It's also not for people who don't like a very hefty dose of luck. You can spend your hour concentrating hard on everything that's played, by other people as well as you, and weighing all the options ('if I do that there, the value of that will fall, and that player's thing will become more valuable, however it means...') only to lose because of someone's secret massive bonus at the end ('Have fewest lakes: 20 points' sort of thing). The fewer players you have, the more luck is involved in that, but with more players it takes longer because of having to keep more towns in mind all the time.

The 'stop the runaway leader' mechanism is quite nice - the more points you have, the more your reputation and income fall - but I don't like the presentation. It grows on people, apparently, and I suspect this is a 'marmite' game that people either love or hate and most copies that are bought will never be played more than once.

Update: Oooh, I see I have annoyed the fans (0 out of 3 reckon this review is helpful!) even if they don't want to do their own reviews.

The good news, if you want to try this is that there is now an IOS version out for about 1/20th the price that will handle all of the 'they've played that tile, what does it do to my town's score and what does my town's existing stuff do to that tile's score?' maths that makes this such a brain ache unless everyone is really concentrating. An Android version is due early in 2014, and I will doubtless be getting a copy of that. But the physical boardgame? Never.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game is greate, 30 Dec 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Suburbia (Toy)
Guys I suggest checking Tom Vassels review on youtube ([...] before deciding if you want to buy this game or not.
For me the game is 10 out of 10 and I'am definitely getting my own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suburbia
Suburbia by Bezier Games
Used & New from: 74.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews