Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw
This short book is the transcript of an interview with a London prostitute. In it, she reveals the contradictory thoughts and feelings she has about her job, her clients, herself and her prospects of having a normal relationship with a man.

A powerful and honest insight into the mind of a working girl.
Published on 29 July 2012 by R. E. Holmes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A small insight into a big issue
This interview extract provides an insight into an underworld rife in London. It is written as the interview was conducted so some information is difficult to link together. It has intrigued me enough to find out more from the interviewer and linked me to the website for further information.
Published on 28 Sept. 2012 by MISS P BARTLEY


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw, 29 July 2012
By 
R. E. Holmes "R Holmes" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Her Own Words... Interview with a London Call Girl (Kindle Edition)
This short book is the transcript of an interview with a London prostitute. In it, she reveals the contradictory thoughts and feelings she has about her job, her clients, herself and her prospects of having a normal relationship with a man.

A powerful and honest insight into the mind of a working girl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 29 July 2012
This review is from: In Her Own Words... Interview with a London Call Girl (Kindle Edition)
Insightful, frank and disturbing - this is a must read for anyone interested in the dynamics of the dark side of human interaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important work, 11 Aug. 2012
By 
A. Read (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Her Own Words... Interview with a London Call Girl (Kindle Edition)
This is a really important work which is so necessary amongst all the glamourising Belle de Jour type rubbish we are fed these days. It shows the stark, abusive reality of life as a prostitute. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing., 7 Aug. 2012
By 
Paul D Brazill (Bydgoszcz, Poland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Her Own Words... Interview with a London Call Girl (Kindle Edition)
A harrowing and sharp slice of life, as Q details her experience of working as a prostitute. An intense and delerious short story which gives a brutally honest picture of a London call girl's life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such strength and insight., 6 Aug. 2012
By 
Mr. I. A. Young "Ian from England" (Northern Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Her Own Words... Interview with a London Call Girl (Kindle Edition)
Wow!!!

Very Powerful book.
It really makes me think. And it makes me wonder.
When I remember all the working girls I've known as friends in my life, never did it occur to me that this was what was going on for them in their minds.
That said, in my previous world, I always had respect for working women and I thought I understood the trip they were on. Clearly I didn't, based upon "Q's" words and experiences.

There is such relevance in this book.
Thank you for representing and being so strong Ruth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A small insight into a big issue, 28 Sept. 2012
By 
This review is from: In Her Own Words... Interview with a London Call Girl (Kindle Edition)
This interview extract provides an insight into an underworld rife in London. It is written as the interview was conducted so some information is difficult to link together. It has intrigued me enough to find out more from the interviewer and linked me to the website for further information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think, or rethink, 21 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Her Own Words... Interview with a London Call Girl (Kindle Edition)
I hadn't noticed the length so was somewhat surprised when it suddenly finished but I have given my rating based on the content and the cause. If something can make you think and reassess how you look at someone it has done its work, and done it well. Being 'in her own words' made the sentiment immediate and engrossing. The confusion, in her own mind, was palpable and I really wanted to find out more and what happened to this person but in an empathetic manner not a voyeuristic one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't just read the words; read between the lines, 23 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Her Own Words... Interview with a London Call Girl (Kindle Edition)
I read this and I felt compelled to write something about it but I'm struggling to find the right words. I don't think it's possible for me to emphasise this as much as I want or need to, but this is the story of a girl that has been abused since childhood and has had her mind and thoughts damaged so much that, even after the rapes and the judgement and the bathing in bleach and crying herself to sleep and wanting to push guys off but not being able to and after realizing she'll never trust a guy or make love or even respect her own body, after all that, to say that she loves it and that she gets a buzz out of it - that is the saddest and most sickening thing I've ever heard. Don't for one minute get me wrong; I'm not saddened or sickened by the girl in question - quite the opposite.
I'm sickened by the fact that this girl ended up loving being destroyed because it was the only way she could go on. Tell that to the next person who says the sex trade doesn't hurt anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard Hitting and Raw, 7 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Her Own Words... Interview with a London Call Girl (Kindle Edition)
A graphic insight into the dangerous world in which call girls operate, In her own words really opens the lid on the sometimes over-simplified subject. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortable reading but totally necessary., 18 Jan. 2013
By 
VPeanuts (Newcastle-upon-Tyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Her Own Words... Interview with a London Call Girl (Kindle Edition)
Have you ever watched / read 'Secret Diary of a Call Girl' by Belle de Jour? How about Tracy Quan's '...Call Girl' series of books? Did they make you laugh? Did their lives sound exciting and liberating? Did prostitution begin to sound like a viable, safe way to make extra money? Well, it's not.

Ruth Jacob's 'Interview with a London Call Girl' reveals the harsh truths behind a profession that, over the past few years, has been sensationalised, with the stigma attached to prostitution being lessened with the appearance of each glamorous tale.

Following an interview with a call girl in the late 199os, Ruth Jacobs has written a series of novels and published them on her blog, soul-destruction.com

'In Her Own Words' is the unedited transcript of the interview Ruth conducted with a call. It exposes the negative social, psychological and physical effects on the woman who sold her body for money. The answers given by the interview are unflinching, brutally honest and utterly heartbreaking. It doesn't make for comfortable reading but it is a necessary read.

Ruth Jacobs published this anonymous interview following the death of the subject in the hope of highlighting the true nature of this exploitative profession. All proceeds are going to Beyond the Streets - a charity that helps women escape prostitution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews