Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and entertaining
This short book gives an interesting and entertaining insight into the world of martial arts and makes the crucial distinction between traditional martial arts performed barefoot and in costumes versus reality-based self-defence systems designed for real-world fighting. The author also gently chides those martial artists who - how shall I put it? - take themselves too...
Published 8 months ago by Seamus Martin

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A lot of words to say nothing
Very lightweight and along the lines of "no, monks aren't likely to be bulletproof because they are made of skin and bone", plus several paragraphs continuing to expand on the bleeding obvious. I doubt that anyone actually had being bulletproof as anything other than a film fantasy.

Apparently Jet Li jumping 20 feet into the air is also impossible. The...
Published 11 months ago by CJ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and entertaining, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Seamus Martin (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martial Arts: The Truth Behind the Myths! (Bullshido, Baloney and Bruce Lee!): The Martial Arts and Self Defense Secrets You NEED to Know (Kindle Edition)
This short book gives an interesting and entertaining insight into the world of martial arts and makes the crucial distinction between traditional martial arts performed barefoot and in costumes versus reality-based self-defence systems designed for real-world fighting. The author also gently chides those martial artists who - how shall I put it? - take themselves too seriously. Well worth a read, especially given the paltry price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars intersting, not ground breaking, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martial Arts: The Truth Behind the Myths! (Bullshido, Baloney and Bruce Lee!): The Martial Arts and Self Defense Secrets You NEED to Know (Kindle Edition)
Written by a passionate martial artist debunking some of the myths that are floating around. It's an interesting read, but not very long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing worse than stopping your reading to get the dictionary out, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martial Arts: The Truth Behind the Myths! (Bullshido, Baloney and Bruce Lee!): The Martial Arts and Self Defense Secrets You NEED to Know (Kindle Edition)
Phil has a real talent for writing in a way we can all understand and relate to. It's clear and he doesn't use fancy words. Nothing worse than stopping your reading to get the dictionary out. Humour is put to great effect, but he is never disrespectful to any martial art. I am not a big reader (sometimes takes me months to get through a book) but love these books and read them quicker than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A lot of words to say nothing, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martial Arts: The Truth Behind the Myths! (Bullshido, Baloney and Bruce Lee!): The Martial Arts and Self Defense Secrets You NEED to Know (Kindle Edition)
Very lightweight and along the lines of "no, monks aren't likely to be bulletproof because they are made of skin and bone", plus several paragraphs continuing to expand on the bleeding obvious. I doubt that anyone actually had being bulletproof as anything other than a film fantasy.

Apparently Jet Li jumping 20 feet into the air is also impossible. The book is full of that sort of thing.

A total waste of my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good well thought out essay on the martial arts., 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martial Arts: The Truth Behind the Myths! (Bullshido, Baloney and Bruce Lee!): The Martial Arts and Self Defense Secrets You NEED to Know (Kindle Edition)
In my humble opinion he has summed up most of the problems with the arts, and their place in modern society quite nicely. I'm a little sad he didn't mention the art I study, tai chi Chuan, but hey ho you can't have everything in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT !!, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martial Arts: The Truth Behind the Myths! (Bullshido, Baloney and Bruce Lee!): The Martial Arts and Self Defense Secrets You NEED to Know (Kindle Edition)
Mr Pierce gives an honest opinion and informative view of things that frankly most other so called Martial Artists would not as they have their heads firmly stuck up their own Arses feeding their students rubbish that may lead themselves injured or worst in a real self defence situation. every human being is totally different, a few are hard as nails but the rest of us are not, I don't care if you have 50 black belts in loads of different styles, doesn't mean your ''Hard'' and going to come out on top when attacked by two pissed up idiots from the local pub !!. Bruce Lee Hard ? Maybe, maybe not he's not here to prove either way so he ranks in legends like the Lock Ness Monster and Bigfoot, Do any of you out there know any human being alive at he moment who is 5ft.7'' tall, 160lb and is that much of a Bad Ass he can beat anyone, any size out on the street ??. I may be wrong, Bruce was Amazing but only for his size !. Anyway, enjoyed the book once again well done Mr pierce....

Andy,
UK...........................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mildly Interesting But Shallow, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Martial Arts: The Truth Behind the Myths! (Bullshido, Baloney and Bruce Lee!): The Martial Arts and Self Defense Secrets You NEED to Know (Kindle Edition)
As someone who has been involved in martial arts for even longer than the author, I was interested to see if his insights were similar to mine. What I found was a collection of short and shallow chapters that did nothing to capture the enormous depth of martial arts. Although I agreed with some of his prepositions, the casual and offhand way in which he justified them demonstrated a lack of in depth knowledge and research. I found the chapter on Bruce Lee particularly disappointing.
This booklet is one person's opinion and because of it's lack of depth, leaving more questions than answers, is no more valid than the opinion of the guy you sat next to at the bar last night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews