Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars40
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 October 2013
My ancestors are almost exclusively Scottish While I can see the book being very useful to people with English predecessors I was disappointed in it especially as there was no indication on the Amazon website that areas outside England were not covered.
33 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
Generally very useful , but found it a bit difficult to follow at times.
Found the early work not detail enough to use as a source for tracing data
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
This is an exceptionally dry book of sources and ways to find you way back in your family research, saying that it is an excellent source for all the ways that you would never think of yourself to get back that couple of generations further
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
Purchased this to enable me to go further back in my genealogy research, after reaching a point where there seemed to be no clear direction in which to go. however, reading through so far it seems to be more of a history text book, a timeline of events in British history, which whilst I'm no academic, I'm pretty much aware of. The layout is good & concise in an easy to digest format so although it doesn't exactly tell you where to look & which records to access, you could pick out bits of information that would give you an idea of avenues to explore based on what, when & where these events were taking place. I haven't finished reading the whole book though, so can only rate it so far, hence the three stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
A wonderful tool which fills the gap between what is available and what is still a mystery!
Full of gems you wouldn't necessarily know about, such as the apprenticeship of orphans so the parish did not have to keep them, and charity registers, which give details of how and where the wealthy left their money to buy land or stock with the interest paying to keep the poor of the parish. Fascinating through and through! For family historians, a must buy, definitely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
I received my copy in good time and was pleased with the delivery time.
I found the book a difficult read and needed a good level of concentration, all the information is in there to help the researcher but I feel you would need to be a very determined person if you were to follow the advice in the book.
Having said that no one said it was going to be easy.

George
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
lot's of hints for where to look when the internet and the parish records don't cover very early records and index's
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
First book that I ordered for kindle.As a keen genealogist,there were some useful information,I had not thought of before.So I
generally liked the book and now that it is on kindle,it will be a useful reference for me.A good buy in all respects.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
A very good book, with lots of information on how to trace your family back to the 11th century. It tell where you can find this information and the advantages and problems you may encounter.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2014
The book is set out in easy to follow format. The writing is factual but in no way is it like a dry old text book. Would recommend to any one interested in family history. Excellent book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)