Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent summary of the facts
I did the course and brought this book on the premise that VMware would not release a guide which is inadequate. The bad reviews had me nervious but the reviewers are wrong. The underlying premise of the VCP510 exam is the application of your knowledge in scenario-based situations. There are therefore two levels tested:
1. Your ability to grasp the facts.
2...
Published 11 months ago by Pass on Alba dvd-players

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not use this for exam preparation
This book will not prepare you for the exam in any way. If you don't know the stuff that's in this book then you probably shouldn't even be thinking of taking the exam. There is no in depth detail at all, and based on the exam that I sat, a large number of topics aren't covered.

I sat the practice exams that come with the premium edition of this book and...
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not use this for exam preparation, 21 Nov 2012
This book will not prepare you for the exam in any way. If you don't know the stuff that's in this book then you probably shouldn't even be thinking of taking the exam. There is no in depth detail at all, and based on the exam that I sat, a large number of topics aren't covered.

I sat the practice exams that come with the premium edition of this book and scored 480/500 on my first attempt, without reading the book precisely because they are not detailed, in-depth questions. Topics such as VAAI, MPP's, stretched HA clusters are hardly mentioned or not mentioned at all but are covered on the exam A much better book would be Mastering VMware vSphere 5 by Scott Lowe.

The mock exam questions on the VMware website are more useful than the book and these aren't the most detailed either.

Think of this as VMware for Dummies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Start for the exam but actual exam covers much more than what has been covered in this book, 14 Nov 2012
By 
I bought this book for my VCP exam. It only explains the basic concepts but exam covers lot more in depth scenarios, which is what is missing in this book. This book tell what each means and how you can do basic tasks, which you can get from documentation. but the exam is testing real time scenarios. I wish they could have done a better job covering a bit more in depth content/exhibits type questions at the end of each chapter.I passed my VCP, but i can honestly say Just reading this book will not make you pass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Want to take the exam ? Get a different book !, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a waste of time and m oney this book is !

You would think that buying the Official Guide would get you to the right level, especially as the author worked from the oficial exam guidance - but no.

The only think working from the guidance does is introduce topics out of step with reality - so you are being told about some advanced features before you have the basics ! How on earth are you supposed to learn that way ? It's like saying "I want to be a doctor" and then doing brain surgery before any training !

As to the practice exams - forget them, they bear no semblence to the actual ones. I don't just mean in the content (these ones are very simplistic !) but also in complexity. It took me no time at all to get full marks on them - and a poor mark in the real exam, that these practice exams told me I was ready for !

Look around, and buy something better - they are out there !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Little use for VCP Exam, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Official VCP5 Certification Guide (VMware Press Certification) (Kindle Edition)
I agree with all the other reviews that this book will not help you prepare for the VCP510 exam. To stand any chance of passing the exam you need to be working on the kit day in day out. For more detail try "Mastering vSphere 5" but there is not substitute for experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, 30 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as it was the official cert guide and I had previously used MS official guides and thought they were quite good. This book is pretty hard to follow and it doesn't cover subjects in any great depth. Also the end of chapter review questions were repeated and there was no explanation in the answers as to why the answer was right or wrong.

Save your money and buy something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Woefully Inadequate, 28 Nov 2012
By 
Craig Dalton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I consistently scored high marks in the end of topic questions in this book. I scored over 85% in the VMware mock exam on mylearn.vmware.com and scored 472/500 on the practice PearsonVue test provided on the DVD. When it came to the actual exam I just managed to scrap a 328/500 pass.

At best, this is a useful introduction to vSphere 5 for inexperienced IT professionals. This is very poor exam preparation material. It is extremely light on detail, littered with numerous pointless screenshots and failed to cover a lot the topics that featured in the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent summary of the facts, 31 July 2013
I did the course and brought this book on the premise that VMware would not release a guide which is inadequate. The bad reviews had me nervious but the reviewers are wrong. The underlying premise of the VCP510 exam is the application of your knowledge in scenario-based situations. There are therefore two levels tested:
1. Your ability to grasp the facts.
2. Your ability to apply this knowledge in particular situations to resolve issues and/or to arrive at the appropriate solution.
The latter requires an excellent grasp of the former. In other words, the exam is not about your ability to rote learn.

The book provides an excellent summary of the facts which is incredibly useful in the exam which I took and passed this morning.

I would - and did - use the book in conjunction with Scott Lowe's "Mastering VMware vSphere 5" which gives a flavour of some real-world situations on a very readable and informative style. Of course, there are also numerous blogs and practice exams out there which will provide examples of the style of questions asked on the exam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice flow, loads of practical examples, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book follows the exam objectives in order. It also has loads of example steps which tell you how to make the changes just learnt. It's flows nicely and has screenshots included. I have an HP mini server with ESXi 5 on it but you can install ESXi on a VM on VMWare workstation 9 if you don't have a server to put ESXi on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Official VCP5 Certification Guide (VMware Press Certification) (Kindle Edition)
I highly recommend this book. It covers all the topics required for the exam and is presented in an engaging way. I'm going to schedule the exam and do some further study, but I know I'll be referring back to this book quite a bit. It's not just full of figures like the configuration maximums, so you will need to refer to those separately, but it would have been a much harder read if it had been. I've left a star off because there a few typos and formatting errors but nothing substantial.

This book is very good value for money when you think about the raise you'll get when you pass your VCP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews