Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining
Good plots, well written. Makes you want to keep reading when you should be doing something else. Made me read some more of her books
Published 7 months ago by Megowen

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spoiled by terrible editing
When a murderer is released on the grounds of an unsafe conviction, it falls to Joseph to reinvestigate the old case of a young girl who was murdered in a small town in Wales supposedly by a local man with the mind of a ten year old boy. Everybody in the village is certain that he was the killer so getting to the bottom of the story isn't going to be easy. But the clues...
Published 9 months ago by Mrs Ferret


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spoiled by terrible editing, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Mrs Ferret (Wirral, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corpse's Tale (Trevor Joseph Detective series Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
When a murderer is released on the grounds of an unsafe conviction, it falls to Joseph to reinvestigate the old case of a young girl who was murdered in a small town in Wales supposedly by a local man with the mind of a ten year old boy. Everybody in the village is certain that he was the killer so getting to the bottom of the story isn't going to be easy. But the clues are there, just keep your eyes open.
It's a good story (although much shorter than I realised when I bought it) & I really like the Trevor Joseph / Peter Collins combination & think their partnership works well.
What did really spoil it for me (which is why I've given it for so few stars) was the editing.
1) For some reason the font size changed from page to page or even sentence to sentence.
2) Occasionally the next word would be on the following line. When this happened during a conversation, trying to work out who was saying what made for very difficult reading & stopped the flow of the story. An example of this & the font size change would be location 789 -
".........saying Anna had boyfriends. Did you interview any
of
them?"
(Them in normal font size, the rest in smaller).
3) Words were run into each other e.g. remainedand (remained and) hismam (his mam)
Such a shame that more care wasn't taken but it's still a good short story & well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor editing, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corpse's Tale (Trevor Joseph Detective series Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
I found it hard at times to follow the story as I had to keep rearranging all the jumbled words and different type settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corpse's Tale (Trevor Joseph Detective series Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Good plots, well written. Makes you want to keep reading when you should be doing something else. Made me read some more of her books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corpse's Tale (Trevor Joseph Detective series Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
i think this was a really good book, thats why i gave it 5stars whole series is good would recommend
,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A `quick read' whodunit, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corpse's Tale (Trevor Joseph Detective series Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
A `quick read' whodunit, A Corpse's Tale was a good story set in Wales. A young man with learning difficulties is sentenced for the murder of a local girl just as she is about to set off on an acting career. Dai serves ten years in prison before being released on appeal though the locals are still certain of his guilt. Enter Sergeants Trevor Joseph and Peter Collins who take on the job of re-opening the case and seeking out new evidence without much co-operation from the villagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 14 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. Te Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corpse's Tale (Trevor Joseph Detective series Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant short story once you start reading it is impossible to put down, keeps you guessing until the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corpse's Tale (Trevor Joseph Detective series Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
As usual as many twists and turns as can be fitted into a tale. Nothing too gruesome and always a good ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRIPPING STUFF, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. H. Griffiths "fev" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corpse's Tale (Trevor Joseph Detective series Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
WELL WRITTEN, GRIPPING PLOT, REALLY ENJOYED THIS WRITER WILL BUY MORE OF HER BOOKS. FIRST TIME FOR ME TO READ ANYTHING OF HER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good novella, 25 Nov 2012
By 
kittycat 2000 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Corpse's Tale (Trevor Joseph Detective series Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
This is another excellent story featuring detectives Trevor Joseph and Peter Collins. This time the pair are sent to Wales to reopen a 10 year old case. As this is only a short book it is not difficult to work out the identity of the murderer but it is nonetheless an enjoyable read. The story is set after book 4 "The Black Daffodil" and I would recommend that the books are read in order beginning with "Without Trace" followed by "Midnight Murders" and "Murder of a Dead Man"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trevor Joseph is as good as ever, 6 July 2014
By 
Cathy (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Corpse's Tale (Trevor Joseph Detective series Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
A lively fast paced short story. Trevor Joseph is as good as ever. However this is more than can be said for the dreadful formatting. Changes of font size and words running together - if I was Ms John I would be furious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews