Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great kids literature
My 6 year old loves reading the Winnie the Witch stories, and he really enjoyed this book from the series. The characters are funny and well depicted. The writing style is perfect for children around 5-8, easy enough for them to read on their own or to enjoy reading with parents. If your child likes Winnie then they will love this
Published 5 months ago by Stracs

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as magical as the picture books
I must confess that both of my children enjoy the Winnie the Witch books much more than I do. (I always look at the illustrations like a sanitised version of Ralph Steadman for children...) Nonetheless we read the picture books frequently and they remain popular at bedtime.

This collection of prose stories and illustrations, however, didn't capture their...
Published 5 months ago by P M Buchan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great kids literature, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Stracs "Stracs" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My 6 year old loves reading the Winnie the Witch stories, and he really enjoyed this book from the series. The characters are funny and well depicted. The writing style is perfect for children around 5-8, easy enough for them to read on their own or to enjoy reading with parents. If your child likes Winnie then they will love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Winnie, 5 Oct 2013
By 
pacem et amorem (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Winnie books are great and remain popular with the kids. Whilst she is scatty, she is never stupid and there are usually important life lessons mixed into the madcap story. This little book contains more than one tale and is more like some of the Horrid Henry books that contain mini-stories that are roughly chapter length. I have only previously had experience of the Winnie picture books so was delighted to find this. I would recommend this delightful book to any Winnie fan and also as a good read alone for kids.
Word of warning: After reading the Nitty Winnie story you may experience some mild scalp irritation in sympathy with the protagonist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Tim Roast (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an excellent book, even if a little short.

There are four all-new Winnie the Witch stories in here:

* Winnie's Wet Weekend
* Jurassic Winnie
* A Wedding for Winnie
* Nitty Winnie

The first story sees Winnie having a flooded house so she escapes to a beach where she builds a sandcastle and magics herself to live in it. The second story sees Winnie magic her way back to when dinosaurs were around. The third sees Winnie marry off her sister, and the fourth sees Winnie get nits.

All the stories interestingly start with sounds ("Plip! Plop!", "Snip-snap!", "Bing-bong!" and "La-di-tiddly-doo-daa!") and there is a real quirky use of language throughout. Like the alarm clock being called the alarm croc, or Winnie exclaiming "flying fish fingers" or "you look as lovely as a little lamb licking a lolly."

There are also lots of busy, interesting pictures to accompany the text which are just as quirky. However the book is just about 45 minutes in length, but this is probably more to do with the age group this is aimed at (newly confident readers).

The whole package is perfect for youngsters who have a sense of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another great Winnie the Witch book, 4 Sep 2013
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My seven year old daughter loves Winnie the Witch books, and this was no exception. This book contains 4 stories, with lots of illustrations and the usual funny stories from Winnie. It certainly appeals to younger readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winnie weaves magic again, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My young daughter loves Winnie the witch and it was only with this collection that I realised that there was some books for the older child.

The picture books were brilliant and these books follow the same vein. The storylines are similar and obviously not so visually based but Winnie's adventures are always amusing. And Winnie with her heart of gold trundels through them in unconventional Adamms Family manner- amusing,slightly macabre,occasionally nutty, but wise and loving in the end.

Font is clear and easy to follow for the aspiring reader. Lots to love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great as a transitional book for early readers, 18 Nov 2013
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As an adult I enjoy the Winnie books! The stories are always good and engaging and even thought they can be a little naughty the tone is always positive. The word play is also great fun and can be a challenge for more able readers.

This small paperback is a great transitional book for those children who are moving from full colour picture books to `proper' reading books as they can read about familiar characters and still enjoy Korky Paul's marvellous illustrations.

I'd really recommend this book and as the mother of a daughter I also appreciated the message about friendship being more important than looking for a boyfriend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 24 Oct 2013
By 
S. Hammond "Steve" (Frinton-On-Sea, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My daughter absolutely loves the Winnie the witch series of books, and she's collected others in the series...this one does not disappoint, keeping her amused for ages, didn't take her long to read, as she gets so engrossed in it.

Its funny, illustrated, and ...well its Winnie the Witch!

highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very popular with my children (but not our cat!), 22 Oct 2013
By 
JB (Chudleigh, Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My two daughters (three and six) really like the Winnie stories and previously we
have enjoyed Winnie under the sea and Winnie's Midnight dragon.

This particular book contains four stories with lovely black and white illustrations.
The titles are 'Winnie's wet weekend', 'Jurassic Winnie', 'A wedding for Winnie' and
'Nitty Winnie'. Jurassic Winnie is rather popular with my six-year-old as she
currently has a fascination for all things dinosaur!

All the stories contain wonderfully silly and yucky elements, for example Winnie
putting nits on her `frogspawn rice pudding' for lunch, or when Winnie has `nice
ditch-water tea' and a toasted scrumpet.

The stories were entertaining and kept our three-year-old enthralled and our six
-year-old daughter was really intrigued about what Winnie would do next.

Oh, and our cat now has to endure being called Wilbur much to her disdain!

Marvellous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nitty Winnie, 2 Oct 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Winnie the Witch and her cat, Wilbur, are just fantastic characters and it is lovely to see the stories in this format - a first chapter book for newly fluent readers. This book has four stories: Winnie's Wet Weekend, Jurassic Winnie, A Wedding for Winnie and Nitty Winnie. In Winnie's Wet Weekend, Winnie's house is flooded, so she uses magic to live in a sandcastle. In Jurassic Winnie, she goes back to the time of the dinosaur's and discovers a T-Rex. In A Wedding for Winnie, she plays cupid for her sister, Wendy and in Nitty Winnie - obviously, she finds she has some unwelcome visitors.

This book is just ideal for children moving on to chapter books, with funny stories that will engage them and loads of vibrant illustrations (black and white, but that certainly does not take away from their impact). It is pitched just right to nurture a love of reading, with familiar characters and enjoyable stories. Winnie has long been a favourite with my own children and this book is the perfect length for my six year old daughter - or wonderful, indeed, to read aloud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humorous tales with amazing illustrations, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Nitty Winnie is a fun book that contains a number of little stories encapsulated in one book. Winnie is a witch and is presented here with her cat Wilbur. Winnie goes to a wedding and does a lot more as she such as goes through dancing ribbons and getting nits. Another narrative `dinosaur collecting cards', and being a sand princess and getting puffed out while arranging a wedding.

The character Winnie is a rather funny and I would recommend her stories on the comedic value alone. The age range for these tales 5-9 year olds. I particularly the way the author has put lots of stories in one book and coupled them amazing and quirky illustrations in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaec2da50)

This product

Nitty Winnie (Winnie the Witch)
3.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews