Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Momentus!, 12 Sep 2012
By 
Martyn Hewitt (Faversham, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
This album has the Neal Morse trademark plastered all over it, so if you like what has gone before you will love this. I'm not one who dwells too much on production but what strikes me is the clarity of performance throughout the album with each musician in top form. Has Mike Portnoy played better? A flick through the special edition DVD highlights just how much each contributed to the whole process and all squeezed into a limited time for recording.Perhaps that, more than anything explains the freshness and vitality. As for individual tracks, five relatively short tracks by Neal's standards culminates in one mega long piece stretching out over 33 minutes. Each track takes the listener on a prog journey showcasing power ballads, softer moments and intricate instrumental sections. The songs compliment each other and they all stand out with nothing that can be construed as a filler. If, like me, you enjoy the whole experience of listening to music that inspires and moves in equal measure then check this album out and next time you want an uplift on a cold dreary Monday morning put the title track on and suddenly things will feel a whole lot better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than ever, 12 Sep 2012
By 
Bodhi Heeren (Copenhagen) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
After rising to fame with prog-supergroup Transatlantic Neal Morse had put out a string of Christian-influenced solo-albums. Both epic progworks and specific worship records.

On this 2012 offering it seems as if everything has come together for the enigmatic and charismatic artist. Combining shorter more melodic songs with the odd metres and virtuosity connected with the prog genre. A real stand out is "Freak" with its unconventional lyrics - could the freak u look down at be Jesus Christ? - and "Eleanor Rigby" influenced strings. Rounding out the album with a 33 min. suite that might be Neal's best effort in the genre.

More melodic than his previous albums and a lot less focused on 'guilt' and 'sin' this is no doubt his strongest record ever. And ofc the musicianship is stellar with long time partners Mike Portnoy and Randy George being a sublime rhythm section and with Paul Gilbert - with whom Neal plays in the magnificent Beatles-tribute Yellow Matter CustardOne Night In New York City - laying down some 6-string magic.

With another "Cover To Cover" album and the magnificent Flying Colors this has been a most rewarding year for Neal Morse and his fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gold, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
I got the bonus edition of this album with the DVD which is a very worthwhile pick up if you can get it.

This is simply fantastic Prog Music. Why i have not discovered Spock's Beard, Portnoy and Morse before the last 3 years I will never know, a must own for fans of modern Prog.

Portnoy, George & Morse, if you are reading this - you are complete legends, thanks for the music!

Tom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff Neal, 9 May 2014
By 
P. A. Caruana "ChristianProgger" (Dunstable, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
This is a really good album, no wonder SB wanted him back to co-write.

Highlights include

Thoughts Part V
Freak
World Without end

Fantastic album, the DVD that came with it was a weclome edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!!!!, 7 April 2014
By 
Werner Eeman "genesis" (belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
After listening to this new masterpiece, I'm quite sure: Neal Morse is the greatest living (musical) artist on planet Earth! I may not agree with his religious philosophy, but that doesn't matter. As a composer, a singer, guitarplayer and keyboardplayer he is unequalled. His epics (in this case World without End) are phenomenal, to be compared with the best of the classical masters. I can only hope he'll continue to enjoy us with these rare pearls of sheer beauty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 31 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
Neil shows why he is one of the greates rock musicians of the present time...Transatlantic need to reform so that his skills can be appreciated by many more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Momentum Review, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
Fantastic album as you would expect from Neil Morse. One of the finest progressive albums this year. Highly recommended purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Momentum, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
I first heard of Neal Morse a few years back when I bought an album of Spocks Beard from Amazon. I was very impressed with this band and bought a few more of their albums. Amazon then do that clever sales trick of ' well, if you liked that cd then you're gonna love these other 23 we recommend.' And I went for it. Next time buying Transatlantic ( Neal Morse ) , which I think is great, then Flying Colors which is excellent . To me this was just a steady progression to this new album from NM ( perhaps that what prog rock means ). I love it. And the DVD that comes with it. Another reason for buying it was that Paul Gilbert plays on the first track. So, yes I recommend it to all who enjoy this genre of music but listen to samples for yourself, never just buy a cd because of a review. I've bought stuff because of great reviews and been very disappointed. That's because we are all different, thank god.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man on a mission, 10 Sep 2012
By 
John R. Baird "The Sweatysock" (Tullibody) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
Neal Morse, what more do you really need to say.
Everything that this man touches turns into something that is entirely listenable and extremeley enjoyable. This latest opus is no exception.
My first dealings with the chap were with Spocks Beard and Transatlantic, as an aside if you have not explored their material do not delay invest immediately.
This is my first sojourn into the N. Morse solo output, if you can call it that as his main cohort and apparent side kick, the wonderful Mike Portnoy is again in tow.
I am sure these two must have a finger in the output of almost every thing that appears under the umbrella and I hate to use the description "Prog Rawk". Please do not let that label put you off into a flat spin. This is probably as good as it gets with all the left turn, two steps up, 23 back, 15 to the side changes in tempo and melody. The machine gun fire of Monsewer Portnoy is as you would expect, faultless and a great punctuation within the music, always crisp and precise.
Having attempted to become a passable guitarist over the past 40 years and still trying hard, it would make you want to spit, (in the nicest possible sense) when you hear the complete virtuosity of the Morse ability whether it be keyboard or string based. Genius.
I refuse to single out any tracks above others, just have a listen and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spock's hand (of God), 24 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
Neal Morse's Christian beliefs are well known and his live performances border on the evangelical. What cant be denied is the man's musical talent or ability or his genuine love of the music he creates. Together with ex Theater drummer, Mike Portnoy, Morse continues to forge a prog pathway juggling any number of projects at one time. This latest cd sees him take a proven formula and make it work again. There are shorter more concise songs with enough widdly bits to keep fans happy, combined with a sense of melody and possibly for the first time an awareness of what might be acceptable on FM radio America. Go no further than the title track to hear all these elements as Morse hits you right in the face! At the other end of the prog spectrum, is the huge sprawling epic World Without End where not only is the kitchen sink included, but also the freezer, the washing machine and dish washer, figurativley speaking, of course! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Momentum
Momentum by Neal Morse (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews