Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for price
Hipstreet Wi-Fi 9 inch Touch Screen Tablet Flare (ARM Cortex 8, 1.2 GHz, 4GB DDRM, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich)

Been looking for a new tablet for a while. Saw this on Black Friday. When I got it and used it was better than the one I had before. As for the apps there are plenty if you go to the right sites. Plays all types of film formats and picture...
Published 23 months ago by Derby County

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unknown Product compatibility issues.
A good tablet to use as a web browser but compatability issues with most if not all apps on android market google play etc so overall average product with alot of issues that need addresing. I would rather go for a branded product that is more compatible with apps etc if i had a chance to purchase again i would avoid product.
Published 24 months ago by mark boucher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good for price, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hipstreet Wi-Fi 9 inch Touch Screen Tablet Flare (ARM Cortex 8, 1.2 GHz, 4GB DDRM, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich) (Personal Computers)
Hipstreet Wi-Fi 9 inch Touch Screen Tablet Flare (ARM Cortex 8, 1.2 GHz, 4GB DDRM, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich)

Been looking for a new tablet for a while. Saw this on Black Friday. When I got it and used it was better than the one I had before. As for the apps there are plenty if you go to the right sites. Plays all types of film formats and picture quality is very good. Use it a lot as I work away and stop in hotels and guest houses ect and have no problems in connecting to there wifi signal. I am pleased with it and would recomend it to other people if asked what it was like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unknown Product compatibility issues., 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hipstreet Wi-Fi 9 inch Touch Screen Tablet Flare (ARM Cortex 8, 1.2 GHz, 4GB DDRM, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich) (Personal Computers)
A good tablet to use as a web browser but compatability issues with most if not all apps on android market google play etc so overall average product with alot of issues that need addresing. I would rather go for a branded product that is more compatible with apps etc if i had a chance to purchase again i would avoid product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointing, 12 May 2014
This review is from: Hipstreet Wi-Fi 9 inch Touch Screen Tablet Flare (ARM Cortex 8, 1.2 GHz, 4GB DDRM, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich) (Personal Computers)
Given to me as a gift by someone who paid £140 for it, unfortunately. It is unbearably slow, it crashes, freezes and glitches frequently. It is tied to Amazon, has no google play, therefore provides few of the apps I would have really liked. Apps it does have soon require updates which cannot be found. Frustrating and disappointing. Not being used as too time wasting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Broken Screen...end of its life!, 31 Dec 2013
By 
H. Johnson "radgie" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hipstreet Wi-Fi 9 inch Touch Screen Tablet Flare (ARM Cortex 8, 1.2 GHz, 4GB DDRM, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich) (Personal Computers)
The only way to repair a broken screen is to send to the USA at a cost of $100. Can get a screen off ebay for £20...just struggling to find out how to fit it as its such a low cost tablet that no one seems bothered to fix it. May as well just throw it in the bin and buy a proper tablet...a branded, supported tablet. Kindle fire hd is cheaper and much better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars impossible to get repaired!!!, 21 Oct 2013
By 
H Gomersall (hull, east yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hipstreet Wi-Fi 9 inch Touch Screen Tablet Flare (ARM Cortex 8, 1.2 GHz, 4GB DDRM, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich) (Personal Computers)
Excellent little tablet but nowhere on the planet will repair it, it is impossible to get spare parts including the screen.. one unhappy little girl just a few weeks after Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars utter rubbish - don't waste your money, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Martha (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hipstreet Wi-Fi 9 inch Touch Screen Tablet Flare (ARM Cortex 8, 1.2 GHz, 4GB DDRM, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich) (Personal Computers)
Had this device 2 days, got it as a xmas present, when everything crashed & there is now no sound. Think the speaker has blown as it works with headphones! Lost everything i spent ages downloading as well. Very slow, very unreliable & now doesn't have sound! Sending it back, not worth a fiver never mind 150 quid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just not what was expected., 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hipstreet Wi-Fi 9 inch Touch Screen Tablet Flare (ARM Cortex 8, 1.2 GHz, 4GB DDRM, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich) (Personal Computers)
It's really hit and miss with budget tablets which have flooded the market in recent times - a bit of a lottery. I spent a couple of days looking around for a tablet for my sons birthday and really wasn't looking for anything spectacular however this product still failed on a few points, even after a second replacement:

- no charger came with this, even the replacement still had this missing.
- the amount of memory which was advertised is 4Gb however the settings displayed 1Gb.
- no google play, however this was expected anyway so cant really fault for that - however the 'getjar' alternative marketplace barely works and there was more failed downloads than successful ones.
- the screen resolution is quite blurry and not that crisp.

Amazon has kindly offered a refund for this which I will use to seek out an alternative tablet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good with a couple of niggles, 16 Mar 2013
By 
Steve F (Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hipstreet Wi-Fi 9 inch Touch Screen Tablet Flare (ARM Cortex 8, 1.2 GHz, 4GB DDRM, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich) (Personal Computers)
A cheap tablet which does what I want. Negatives - it takes a while to start up, it has frozen a couple of times (a press of the reset button quickly solves this), no google play as it is not a google approved device and the solutions given on the net to this either don't work or require in depth technical knowledge, this means some apps are not available eg sky go, the battery condition display is unreliable (the battery simulation shows full but it may only be 70% full on the other display, it takes a long while to recharge. Positives - it is reasonably priced, has a good display, great as an e-book reader being neither too small nor too large at 9 inches, battery does last a long time even if not showing 100%, lots of apps are available from other markets and no quibbles about the music playing either. The speaker may be small but it is acceptable and plugging in external speakers gives decent sound.
My first foray into the tablet market has given me no regrets. It may not have the street cred of an iPad but it is not the price of an iPad either. I suits me and is well worth the money but the lack of google play may deter some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I would love to get an other one, 21 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hipstreet Wi-Fi 9 inch Touch Screen Tablet Flare (ARM Cortex 8, 1.2 GHz, 4GB DDRM, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich) (Personal Computers)
I would love to get an other one . There is one problem that really worrys me is the charger is so delicate. Over all I love iit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stopped working after 3 months. No backup from Hipstreet., 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hipstreet Wi-Fi 9 inch Touch Screen Tablet Flare (ARM Cortex 8, 1.2 GHz, 4GB DDRM, Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich) (Personal Computers)
After 3 months of gentle usage ie. internet browsing the tablet came up with the message 'dolphin browser has crashed'. After several attempts to retrieve it including restoring factory settings I used the Hipstreet website message system to ask for help and received no response. After reporting it to Amazon and getting little help I tried twice more to contact Hipstreet without success. After contacting Amazon again a replacement tablet was sent but this failed immediately I completed the start up. It was also evident that this item was not new.
I would not recommend this product to anyone and Hipstreet after sales/customer services system is non existent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews