Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and thoughtful, but mostly fun
I really enjoyed this book. It follows a well-worn path with lots of originality and humour. Julia's husband admits that he has been unfaithful after walking a neighbour back from a meeting at their house. Julia is horrified, hurt and angry but that is nothing to her fury when he confesses that it is the second time that it has happened. She throws him out and starts to...
Published on 11 Aug 2012 by Mrs. K. A. P. Wright

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
I thought it would be better than it was. her style of writing is hard to take in at some points
Published 6 months ago by natalie green


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and thoughtful, but mostly fun, 11 Aug 2012
By 
Mrs. K. A. P. Wright - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julia Gets a Life (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It follows a well-worn path with lots of originality and humour. Julia's husband admits that he has been unfaithful after walking a neighbour back from a meeting at their house. Julia is horrified, hurt and angry but that is nothing to her fury when he confesses that it is the second time that it has happened. She throws him out and starts to rebuild her life with varied success.

She recognises that despite the feelings of anger and betrayal she is ambivalent about her feelings, because there are good points about being single as well as bad. She gets an opportunity to extend her work as a freelance photographer which complicates her life but really boosts her self-esteem.

This book looks at quite major questions in a very gentle way - love - betrayal - fidelity - loyalty - without ducking the issues, but the touch is light and funny. Things happen to Julia that don't very often happen to recently betrayed wives, but the writer's skill is such that these events seem quite normal and don't jar.

It's a good story with likeable and credible characters. It involves you, makes you laugh and leaves you in a good mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, pacy and easy to read, 17 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Julia Gets a Life (Paperback)
One that is great to read over a weekend. You can relate to many of the characters and only hope that you would have as much fun and ignore the children in the same situation. Loved the lists and the relationship with Julia's teacher ! It's only problem was that when reading it in company of others, it's annoying for them when you keep laughing out loud. It's not often that I do that with a book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous, 22 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Julia Gets a Life (Paperback)
Finally! A book about the perils, trials, tribulations and eventual success of a single women - one with a heroine who is intelligent, and not some lost petite thing in a nothing job in London. I loved Bridget Jones and similar, but liked Julia more: she's gutsy, honest and a "pull your socks up and get on with it even though life can suck" kind of woman. She's not invincible, but then none of us are, and that's what I loved. Definately a laugh out loud read. At one point others requested I leave the room while I was reading the book! Can't wait for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pace, pace, pace!, 6 Sep 2000
This review is from: Julia Gets a Life (Paperback)
That's what this book has - in gallons. It dashes along at a frenetic rate (rather like Lynne, herself) so by the end, you feel it has whizzed past you in a blur - exactly as you suspect Julia, the heroine, must feel herself about what happens to her in the novel. Economy of words, no doubt learn as a result of honing the many magazine stories Lynne has had published, gives the book an in-your-face feel - we are never distracted from the action by huge passages of descriptions of scenery which is totally right for this book. The whole story is told from Julia's viewpoint, the reader is right inside her head - and, for the most part, scenery passes her by and so it must pass us by too. This style evokes total empathy with Julia and the reader cannot help but care what happens to her. The end is worthy of any twist in the tale story - kept right to the last sentence... turning all the readers assumptions on their heads. If you're looking for a fast, furious and fun read - this is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't start reading unless you've a weekend to lose...., 9 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Julia Gets a Life (Paperback)
This is a novel about love, death, redemption, the costs and joys of parenthood, and reclaiming one's inner child.......no, scratch that drivel......this is a book about Cardiff, Croydon, Sainsbury's, offal, forgetting to act one's age, and coming out, and for every woman who has ever dreamed of being that rock star groupie ushered into the inner sanctums of arenas and music festivals, VIP tags flapping. Oh, and for anyone who has ever spent an hour/evening/weekend/lifetime saying "yes, mum" absently while their mind was completely engaged elsewhere. Except that you don't need to know anything about any of these to enjoy this totally brilliant and engaging book. Julia's new life and exploits are so entirely fabulous and MEGA, but yet so utterly believable, that we can all live vicariously through her while feeling throughout just the tiniest bit sorry for poor deluded Richard. I read most of this on the porch in sunny San Diego, G&T (OK, several) in hand, and was transported back home to the UK in a moment. A totally fresh voice and one of the funniest books I've read in a long time; Julia Potter will be with me for quite a while. Not advisable for those who should be doing the washing/making packed lunches/doing the ironing/darning socks/cleaning the loo, unless you can get an au pair in for a day or two. Hence, the perfect holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great storyline, 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julia Gets a Life (Kindle Edition)
A great story with very believable characters. Julia is quite humourous and has a lot of realistic moments i'm sure many women could relate to. I was lucky enough to pick this up as a free read but would have been happy to pay for it, will be reading more from this author definately :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable, hilarious, a major new talent, 9 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Julia Gets a Life (Paperback)
It's hard to believe this is a debut novel. Lynne Barrett-Lee arrives on the scene with a female narrative voice as strong and idiosyncratic as Nick Hornby's is for the other sex - only much funnier. A wildly comic book, with a plot whose breakneck speed is never slowed by the dozens of sly observations upon modern suburban life and relationships which pepper the way, Julia Gets A Life will appeal to any woman who's ever been let down by a man. Julia is an endearing heroine who not only gets a life, but her own back too, and manages to fulfil every fortyish woman's favourite sexual fantasy into the bargain. A book which actually deserves that over-used word, unputdownable. I read it in two sittings and can't wait for Barrett-Lee's next, she's a major new talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a laugh, 3 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julia Gets a Life (Kindle Edition)
I have enjoyed a few of this author's books now, they are light hearted and sometimes laugh-out-loud funny; this one no exception. I won't recount the story, as this review is just my opinion, but it lived up to my modest expectations and I would recommend it. Lynne Barrett-Lee's characters tend to follow a pattern, always in the first person, being a leading lady who has separated from her (usually cheating) husband and launches herself onto a single path of rediscovery, with all that that entails. She always has a mother who many of us will recognise, and children, usually older / teenagers, who are also well drawn. In this instance I didn't connect with her 'romance', but nevertheless I enjoyed the book, and for the money, heartily recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't even finish it, 1 April 2014
This review is from: Julia Gets a Life (Kindle Edition)
So disappointed. This is the first book I've bought in years that I've been unable to finish. It's very slow going, the writing style isn't my cup of tea at all. I find myself drifting off thinking of other things whilst Julia is continuously ranting about one thing or another. Not for me I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Nice, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Julia Gets a Life (Kindle Edition)
This was just something new to try for me and I liked this book. I did not read any reviews before buying because I like to take a chance on some writers, I was glad I did with this one as I discovered a book I really enjoyed. The writing is up to the minute and I loved the characters. It was a light read really good for an hour or so relaxation. This kind of story has been done many times before but without giving anything away I will just say this one had panache and a fresh voice so that really didn't matter. So far with kindle choices I have not been disappointed and will be looking for more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Julia Gets a Life
Julia Gets a Life by Lynne Barrett-Lee
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews