Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read
I bought this book because it is based in Cambridge where I live and, to be honest, because of it's low price. I'm glad I did. It's a well written book that gives an interesting insight into the life of a university department with it's rivalries and frustrations. This is the background to the thriller which has many twists right to the last page. The characters are...
Published on 28 July 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better editing might have helped
I enjoyed the book and the characters but found the first half too drawn out. I am not sure it was necessary to go into the complexities of the university relationships. The main story would I think have been better told without those details.
Published 9 months ago by ganaois


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Red (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book because it is based in Cambridge where I live and, to be honest, because of it's low price. I'm glad I did. It's a well written book that gives an interesting insight into the life of a university department with it's rivalries and frustrations. This is the background to the thriller which has many twists right to the last page. The characters are believable and engaging and especially in the latter half, I found it to be a real page turner. It's a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Husband alert: don't keep secrets from your new wife!, 23 Oct 2012
By 
David Franks (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Red (Kindle Edition)
This book seems to be popular with readers, like myself, who live in Cambridge. It does paint a realistic picture of Cambridge: there's a real university there with departments in which academics work, with all their rivalries and misbehaviour, not just the ancient colleges that the tourists visit. The departmental politics and machinations are convincingly displayed, much the same all over the world, of course. The body count is quite high, and is increased towards the end, and looked for a time as if even more characters might be wiped out. The real message of this novel was, I thought, don't keep things from your new wife. It's fairly clear who the murderer is, so four stars, but then it is the hardest thing to keep that hidden right up to the end. It's a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Red (Kindle Edition)
I read this mostly because of the Cambridge connection. The description of the intrigues in a Cambridge University Department is probably more realistic than one might think. The characters are certainly entertaining. Not much in the way of thrills in the first half of the book and the murderer is fairly obvious, but these are minor blemishes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twists and turns aplenty, 3 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Red (Kindle Edition)
This is a great read. I couldn't put it down! Carew combines a fast paced narrative with a vivid picture of Cambridge, and, perhaps best of all, a wonderful sense of humour. I look forward to reading future books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Factually spot on, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Red (Kindle Edition)
Like other reviewers I bought this book because I live in the area.

Geographically it was spot on, but I was most impressed with the other details such as the mention of the Dean of Pembroke's garden and his Burmese cat.

I knew this Dean and his cat (U Thant)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story set in Cambridge, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Red (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, and found it hard to put down. Good, believable characters, a good story and some unexpected twists. Recommended for crime/suspense lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Red (Kindle Edition)
I'm familiar with Cambridge and I enjoyed reading the story and I also had fun recognizing the places that were mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Book, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Red (Kindle Edition)
Cambridge Red is a great read, especially if you live in or near Cambridge, you will recognise lots of places and areas of the town.
intrigue, murder and lots of intensity makes for a truly great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cambridge Red, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Red (Kindle Edition)
Cambridge Red
Good story, great interesting location a good twist at the end. Never really knew who had carried out the murders until the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better editing might have helped, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cambridge Red (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the book and the characters but found the first half too drawn out. I am not sure it was necessary to go into the complexities of the university relationships. The main story would I think have been better told without those details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cambridge Red
Cambridge Red by Siobhán Carew
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews