Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid But Sample First
Deadman Wonderland; the happiest place on earth. Like a dystopian Disneyland, where prisoners are the puppets on the "It's a Small World" ride.

The story of Deadman Wonderland focuses on the life of Ganta Igarashi; a boy framed for a crime he didn't commit by the horrific actions of the "Red Man". In order to carry through his sentence of Capital Punishment,...
Published 23 months ago by Mr. William Prior

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars great series but heavily edited and censored dvd and blu ray
I love the idea of the show and the execution and rate it really highly but the actual uk disks are censored really badly.

now don't get e wrong there is still a lot of swearing and violence but they have masked a lot with shadows and smoke that were never there in the true original japanese release. even the intro is censored and masked with shadow that was...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. A. Nash


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars great series but heavily edited and censored dvd and blu ray, 29 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. A. Nash (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love the idea of the show and the execution and rate it really highly but the actual uk disks are censored really badly.

now don't get e wrong there is still a lot of swearing and violence but they have masked a lot with shadows and smoke that were never there in the true original japanese release. even the intro is censored and masked with shadow that was never there in the first place....

after looking into it. it seems that manga entertainment never even submitted the full version to the bbfc for rating and instead settled for the sub-par version...

for most people they may not care but when i know that this has been done to a series for no good reason (bearing in mind the disks are still 18's) I just feel cheated..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid But Sample First, 10 Aug. 2013
By 
Deadman Wonderland; the happiest place on earth. Like a dystopian Disneyland, where prisoners are the puppets on the "It's a Small World" ride.

The story of Deadman Wonderland focuses on the life of Ganta Igarashi; a boy framed for a crime he didn't commit by the horrific actions of the "Red Man". In order to carry through his sentence of Capital Punishment, Ganta is sent to Deadman Wonderland; a prison turned theme park in which the convicts work and maintain the rides. From the eccentricity of the Dog Race to the horrors of the Carnival Corpse and the brutality of the Undertakers, danger lurks around every corner for Ganta. It's a long road ahead of him in his search for the Red Man, to prove his innocence. Get busy killing or get busy dying.

Personally, I really liked this series. The animation is amazing to watch and flows really nicely, and the accompanying soundtrack always manages to set the right tone and really emphasise emotion. Aside from the main character's theme, you will very seldom hear the same track twice, with an extremely broad range on the music. In terms of voice acting, both the dub and the sub are solid; with amazing voice actors all around, such as Monica Rial, Patrick Stewart and Eric Vale. Greg Ayres as the lead is also a powerhouse of emotion, however I would be lying to you if I said that the voice doesn't occasionally grate. During epic moments, he shines, however in casual conversation Ganta does come across as very whiny.

In terms of issues found with the series, the latter half of the show does spend a substantial amount of time building up secondary characters' backstories. Personally, I didn't mind this as that was the part of the original manga series that I loved: showing the prison through the eyes of people other than the main character. However, if you are a very straightforward kind of person, you may not enjoy this as much as others. Another issue that everybody seems to be picking up on is the fact that the show lacks an ending, so to speak. Very little is actually resolved, so it is safe to assume that this series was intended as a set up for a multiple series show (evidenced by the fact that there are 47 manga chapters and only 12 episodes, that cover approximately one third of the series if that). This didn't affect me as much, considering I had already read the manga when the series came out, however for first time watchers or people new to the franchise this may be a bit of a disappointment. My advise to this is to read the manga first before you watch the series. You will end up feeling more fulfilled, and desperate for a second series release even more.

Deadman Wonderland is very much a show that you need to feel you can commit to before buying. I would advise sampling the first episode on legal streaming sites such as funimation's official website to see if you like the show enough to purchase it. Reading the manga would also aid in forming an opinion on the show, however this is very much not essential, just a recommendation.

Fans of shows such as Mirai Nikki, Another and the Blood franchise will really like Deadman Wonderland; due to the overlaying themes of mystery, as well as sometimes graphic violence and scenes of combat.

Based on my own personal enjoyment, I would have rated the show as a 5, however my view is very much subjective, so considering the facts it stands at a solid 4.

So from a fan to the fans, make up your mind on it first before buying. I myself have already per-ordered the series and cant wait for it to arrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Deadman Wonderland, 3 Oct. 2013
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When Ganta Igarashi's class is brutally murdered by a mysterious figure in red with strange powers he finds himself framed for the atrocity and sent to the sadistic prison Deadman Wonderland with a death sentence. Built in the ruins of Tokyo, Deadman Wonderland is a prison theme park where the inmates entertain the public in humiliating and dangerous ways. Upon arriving at the prison, Ganta soon finds himself caught up in its dark underside, secret death matches between superpowered individuals, while having to deal with a strange girl from his forgotten past.

This three disc set includes all twelve episodes of the 'Deadman Wonderland' anime, as well an undubbed OVA. While the series adapts the first five volumes (roughly the first two arcs of the plot) of a thirteen volume manga resulting in little in the way of closure for the plot, it does adapt these volumes relatively well with most of the changes being the result of writing out characters who don't become important until arcs that haven't been animated or to make some scenes easier to animate. From what I have read, the Japanese sales figures for this series were atrocious and so it is very unlikely that it will be getting a continuation, which I personally think is a shame. The animation is generally good throughout and although there is some lens flare and shadow censorship of some of the more gory scenes, there's still some nice action and gore throughout the series.

Having watched both English and Japanese versions soundtrack I have to say that the English dub is very good and for once I like at least as much as the original Japanese version. The language used in the English dub is quite course however so those who dislike such language may want to avoid it. As for individual performances, Monica Rial was absolutely perfect as Shiro (she is the person I have always imagined voicing her since I first read the manga) while Leah Clark, Colleen Clinkenbeard, Eric Vale and Jamie Marchi were all almost as good as Minatsuki, Chief Warden Makina, Promoter Tamaki and Karako Koshio respectively. The only voice that I didn't like all that much was Greg Ayres as Ganta but even he grew on me as the show continued.

While it definitely has its faults, I did enjoy 'Deadman Wonderland' and would give the series four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i really loved this blu-ray version deadman wonderland is a well made piece of anime but not for younger children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant story leaves you wanting more and an excellent anime to add to any collection I was so glad someone convinced me to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality review, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good quality and played well with no problems. i had no issues of any kind when i used this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i hope they make a another series, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i love the action the gore and the fights the story good and it leaves you wanting more i hope they make a another series if not then its fine this Series end in a place were they could make a second series or just leave it as is but I really really... hope the decide to make a 2nd series of deadman wonderland pulse the sound track is good to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved the characters, 31 Aug. 2014
Although the series was mildly cliche the characters of shiro and senji made it great for me and very enjoyable. The fight scenes were also really great and I really enjoyed the variety of the branch of sins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deadman Wonderland, 30 Aug. 2013
With it's Battle Royale-cum-Disneyland premise is definitely an acquired taste. Stick with it and you'll find that Koichi Hatsumi; key animator on Cowboy Bebop, has brought to the U.K a rich, blackly comic piece of ultra-violence those who like their Hunger Games with a little bit of gore. Anime addicts may want to add this to their collection if they are fans of Romi Park (Ed. Elric in Fullmetal Alchemist) and Kana Hanazawa (Chiaki in Bodacious Space Pirates) who play protagonists Ganta and Shiro in the Japanese original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What OVA?, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent series but what about the OVA? the boxset apparently includes it but i can't find it on any of the discs, disc 3 is labelled 9-12 + OVA. Thoughts?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews