Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blasts the re-make into the weeds...
Stunt driver Toby Halicki wanted to create the ultimate car chase movie...And succeeded big time! Made with practically no budget, Toby putting up all the money himself, the acting is not oscar-winning, but that just adds to the '70s feel. But it does all lead up to a 40 minute car chase that sees metal mayhem the likes of which will never be seen again, health & safety...
Published on 5 Oct. 2005 by Mr. Terence James Scoines Scoines

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars gone in 60 soundtrack
I am possibly one of the few people who managed to track down an
ex-rental video of this film, I have always rated the film highly, the action is superb, the acting not overly contrived and the soundtrack fantastic with the poingnant "Lois Lane Blues" as the high spot.
The film is still just as good as ever but sadly the rehashed soundtrack has been ruined by...
Published on 6 July 2007 by linda


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blasts the re-make into the weeds..., 5 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [DVD] (DVD)
Stunt driver Toby Halicki wanted to create the ultimate car chase movie...And succeeded big time! Made with practically no budget, Toby putting up all the money himself, the acting is not oscar-winning, but that just adds to the '70s feel. But it does all lead up to a 40 minute car chase that sees metal mayhem the likes of which will never be seen again, health & safety rules put paid to that! And in one scene Toby hits a lamp post, is hurt, but he kept the shot in the film...Soundtrack has been re-done for the DVD, and is introduced by his widow in light hearted and enthusiastic style alongside Eleanor, the ever-so slightly battered yellow Mach I Mustang. The film ends with the same car pulling some nice stunts. If like me, you have a passion for '70s Muscle cars, GET THIS MOVIE! A total classic...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Petrol Porn..., 14 Mar. 2005
By 
Andy Stevens (Hatfield, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [DVD] (DVD)
This film was made by a guy called H. B. Halicki, who wanted to make a movie with the longest car chase ever, in the world. He succeeded, and it is probably still the longest!
H. B. Halicki was an incredible stunt driver, who did vehicle tricks and displays at American fairs and shows. He also had an amazing collection of some of the worlds finest cars, including Rolls, Ferrari's etc, most of which were used in the film, as the cars stolen to order.
The Film had a very small budget, and was made with the help of his friends, and the local people of several towns. The firemen were played by local firemen the police were the local police, and so on. Most of the "actors" were his friends, and the quality of the acting is a little poor, but this doesn't spoil the film at all, it gives it a raw natural feel. The fashons of 1974 also make you smile!
The most important part of this film is the last 45 minutes, which is a non stop car chase, with hundereds of cars getting totaled! Its pure heaven if like me you love a good old car chase, with tyres screaming and big American V8's roaring! H. B. Halicki did most of the driving, and there were no special effects or camera tricks, the stunts were real and very dangerous, and people diving out of the way of cars were jumping quite literally for their lives!
The star of the film, Elenor, is a yellow, 1970 Mach 1 Mustang (I think) which was standard except for a Nascar roll cage, after many of the stunts they had to replace the burst radiator and bash out the worst dents with a sledge hammer!
I'd recomend this film to any petrol heads, and this Dvd will take pride of place at the top of my film collection, along side Ronin, The Blues Brothers, The Driver and the Dukes of Hazzard!
P.S. forget you ever saw the Nicolas Cage version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Rod Heaven, 5 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [DVD] (DVD)
Very very excellent. I knew this film was going to be better than the gash Nick Cage film, but I didnt realise by what margin! The action is quicker, spending less time on character development and getting on with the serious business of stealing cars and driving them very fast. The car chase scenes are long but not tiresome. You will be taken across 70's america, seeing cars which were once commonplace but now really interesting to a 20something English brit. There is always lots of scenery to look at in this fast paced classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars gone in 60 soundtrack, 6 July 2007
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [DVD] (DVD)
I am possibly one of the few people who managed to track down an
ex-rental video of this film, I have always rated the film highly, the action is superb, the acting not overly contrived and the soundtrack fantastic with the poingnant "Lois Lane Blues" as the high spot.
The film is still just as good as ever but sadly the rehashed soundtrack has been ruined by the installation of arcade noise (Hint like the musak played during Chris Tarrant's Who wants to be a millionair) instead of the original music score. I for one will be watching the video in future and am sad that future generations of like minded petrol heads will not see this in its original condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars forget nic cage remake in 60 secs, 12 April 2006
By 
G. A. Williams (bangor, gwynedd United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is THE best chase movie ever bar none. The main chase in the movie lasts for almost half the duration of the film and the damage etc to the car makes it so realistic. The stunts and cars featured in the film are top notch. This film makes you wonder why they bothered remaking it. They could have simply re-released the origional.
It may not be the most sophisticated movie in the world but it's definitly one of the fastest and entertaining.
BUY THIS MOVIE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original version and the best, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this when it first came out, definitely one of the best car movies. I've seen the Nicholas Cage remake but this works much better. Of course it's dated but it comes from a time when nobody had heard of ECU's, and classic American muscle cars could be bought new or from a secondhand car lot, so it has a more genuine feel. Also recommended if you want to relive the 70's or marvel at the dubious style and fashion sense of the period. It's a car movie so it's about guys and cars, not emotion or angst. The guy who directed the movie is a car guy and a stunt driver so there's a load of action and mayhem. I seem to remember it being shown once on UK television a long time ago so getting the DVD is your only chance to watch this movie. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Watch in 60 Minutes, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story is basic, the acting is poor. This film is a must watch. I first saw this at the cinema in the 70's, then again in the late 80's on video. 40 years later watching it on dvd it is still one of the greatest driving movies ever made. All the better for being real with no cgi effects. Made on a low budget (and you can tell) which was 10% spent in the first half hour and 90% in the remaining 60 minutes this still beats the big budget remake when it comes to the chase.
The dvd extra's are well worth a viewing too as they give a good background to the man (H.B.Halicki) and the film itself.
Worth having in every petrolhead's dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gone in 40 minutes, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Car crunching stunts with US 70's acting, amazingly restored to glorious HD. Extras include a couple of additional abridged films by actor / stunt-man / director H.B Halicki.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 43 min car chase., 2 May 2004
By 
M. Richard "Bytore" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There may be little to the story, but this is perhaps one of the greatest car chases on film. For once the damage sustained by the Mustang remains and continues to increase as the film goes on. If you like car chases you will love this. If not probably best to ignore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars May the Big Junkman in the sky drop a clog on your head., 15 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [DVD] (DVD)
Why does the term 'Remastered' suggest these days extensive, and ruinous, farting about with the original to the extent that it almost becomes a parody?

This Movie illustrates perfectly how dire modern remakes can become when they involve individuals with absolutely no idea of how to use the materials at hand sensitively, and when necessary (As in this case) leave well enough alone. 'Toby' Hallicki made a movie based upon a brilliantly simple premise - a car chase. His inspired use of friends and acquaintances, without the aid of Hollywood's finest overpaid, self-obsessed, glove puppets, gives slightly shaky, but naturalistic, acting (Still better than the bunch of goons in the remake).

How could anyone with an iota of intelligence ever think of replacing the excellent period soundtrack, starring Phil Katchachurian(Which complemented the movie and evokes the decade perfectly), with the sort of bloody awful cacophony you can replicate by placing an oversize saucepan on your head then bunging an electric whisk in between said pan and head and switching on. This 'remastered' bilge belongs with the garbage Nicholas Cage version, it's just bad enough.

I hope someone with a brain decides to reinstate the original score and give us back something which will not have us puking
for ninety minutes, meanwhile kindly take the tone deaf blockhead that created this abominable noise and give them a more suitable job: Surely someone so inept would make the perfect judge for 'X Factor' or any of the plethora of No Talent shows which infest our screens. In the interim I shall indulge my secret passion for silent film and turn the sound off. I just wish my Betamax player had survived.
Sadly, I have had to deduct two stars for the appalling, inapt, noisetrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gone in 60 Seconds--H.B. Halicki's Original (BD/Combo)
Used & New from: £28.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews