Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
I can only say "hear hear" to all the positive things reviewers have written. A great story, touching but not schmaltzy - and with meaning; brilliantly acted, and with the viewer left to work out just enough for him/herself. A delight!
Published 16 months ago by HarryPHall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
I love Bill Nighy and enjoy the quirkiness of his films.
Published 1 month ago by Benita


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl In The Café [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I can only say "hear hear" to all the positive things reviewers have written. A great story, touching but not schmaltzy - and with meaning; brilliantly acted, and with the viewer left to work out just enough for him/herself. A delight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great acting doesn't have to be loud, 20 Dec 2012
By 
MIKEY (Alberta, Canada & Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl In The Café [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The Girl In The Cafe [DVD]
Amazon prompted me to consider this on the basis of my previous purchases and after reading many of the reviews I bought a used copy from an Amazon seller for a what i felt was a reasonable price. The Girl In The Cafe is a lightweight, very unassuming, gentle love story, with some excellent off-hand lines and good acting. There is an element of fairy-tale but for me the weaknesses in the storyline were not a problem because the political element was simply a device that enabled Bill Nighy and Kelly McDonald to show a glimpse into the worlds of Lawrence and Gina, two lonely people with very different backgrounds. I was left wanting to learn more about Gina's past but that would have altered the tone and complexion of the production into something heavier; this is a gentle, understated film where less-is-more. I shall enjoy re-watching it at least a couple of times, paying closer attention to what is said through their facial expressions - great acting doesn't have to be loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprise! Surprise!, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Dinkydoright (Oakland, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Girl In The Café [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I bought this dvd because I was on a Bill Nighy kick. I came away enthralled with him AND Kelly Macdonald. Certain actors are worthy of being followed because they rarely pick a bad or disappointing project. These two actors prove that. So this movie deserves praise too. Shy and physically bumbling political bureaucrat stumbles into taking a chance and the world that opens up is more of an undefined universe. Surprising and poignant and memorable. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Paul D. Hartley (Philippines) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl In The Café [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
A thoughtful and very enjoyable film.

I liked the acting and the script, a good way to spend a pleasant evening.

Yes there are some hard-to-believe moments (hence the 4 stars), but overall a nice way to spend an evening and a film I shall watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film, 1 Dec 2014
This review is from: The Girl In The Café [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Beautifully filmed subtle observational story along the lines of Lost In Translation. Brilliant casting and acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl In The Café [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I'm saving this film till I've had a hip operation. Can't wait to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 17 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Girl In The Café [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I love Bill Nighy and enjoy the quirkiness of his films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl In The Café [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Not watched yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl In The Café [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Bill at his best, rest of film OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Girl In The Café [DVD] [2005]
The Girl In The Café [DVD] [2005] by David Yates (DVD - 2012)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews