Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the whole mapp from a to z
I am reviewing this edition which is the only complete single volume edition of the novels of E F Benson regarding Elizabeth Mapp and Emmaline Lucas. These stories concern two Edwardian ladies of leasure who dominate their respective towns until in the fourth novel they clash when Lucia moves to Miss Mapp's Tilling. The TV and radio adaptations focussed on this clash, and...
Published on 1 Jan. 2011 by barbicandy

versus
27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, bargain, bargain
I have been wanting to replace my set of Lucia books for years, ever since I loaned them and never saw them again. But with a series of books this deliciously naughty I guess I'm not surprised.

If you haven't tried them and love high camp, bitchy, snobby, hysterically funny, British froth from the 20's and 30's you'll be in heaven. And to get all six books for...
Published on 14 Aug. 2012 by Timbo


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, bargain, bargain, 14 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been wanting to replace my set of Lucia books for years, ever since I loaned them and never saw them again. But with a series of books this deliciously naughty I guess I'm not surprised.

If you haven't tried them and love high camp, bitchy, snobby, hysterically funny, British froth from the 20's and 30's you'll be in heaven. And to get all six books for 77p is beyond a deal!

Be warned though, the supplied type size is unimaginably tiny - so you'll need to dust off your Kindle instructions to make it readable. But for this money that's a small price to pay.

They don't write 'em like this any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the whole mapp from a to z, 1 Jan. 2011
I am reviewing this edition which is the only complete single volume edition of the novels of E F Benson regarding Elizabeth Mapp and Emmaline Lucas. These stories concern two Edwardian ladies of leasure who dominate their respective towns until in the fourth novel they clash when Lucia moves to Miss Mapp's Tilling. The TV and radio adaptations focussed on this clash, and the less well known earlier stories of their separate empires are equally amusing. At slightly over 900 pages this is a serious volume and readers of less muscular forearms may find the Penguin two volume edition more to their liking. I struggle to describe these books to anyone who has not read them and "a camp P G Wodehouse" is the best I can manage. Like Wodehouse he was much admired by other writers, such as Nancy Mitford and Noel Coward and Miss Mitford captures something in her short preface in which she says of the characters "none of them could be described as estimable, and they are certainly not very interesting, yet they are fascinated by each other and we are fascinated by them." Their obsession with one another's status and doings do ensnare us, just as much as Wodehouse's characters attempts to secure and avoid matrimony. They are dated and of their time, with their servants and "listening in" of the radio, but that is part of their charm.
New to lovers of the TV series will be the narratorial voice, with which Benson describes how the new additions to the Lucas house can be distinguished by the way that they look so much older than the Elizabethan stem onto which they have been grafted; exactly what fussy little Georgie Pillson does when he is "busy indoors" and the way that "anger and the gravest suspicions about everybody" had kept Miss Mapp "young and on the boil".
My one quibble is with the cover illustration which isn't the way I imagine these three characters at all.
Oh and don't confuse this with the play of the same title please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Social satire at its best, 17 Dec. 2014
By 
Bookie (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
E F Benson's series of books featuring the minutiae of day to day life in the fictional village of Tilling remains as entertaining now as it was when first written in the 1920's and 30's. The comedy is delicious; the pretensions and aspirations of the central characters are laid bare for our amusement and delight. The affectations, mannerisms and way of life of a particular class are captured to absolute perfection, the narrative is tight and social intercourse is wonderfully observed. The characters are so filled with their own importance and place and they interlock with panache. It's a wonderful portrayal of a particular inter war period which will never be seen again. The class distinction and daily one upmanship is priceless and there's barely a line without a laugh.

This volume is amazing value, with all books in full for only 77p. It comprises the following volumes, and it's easy to move between chapters or books if you wish:

Queen Lucia, Miss Mapp, The Male Impersonator, Lucia in London, Mapp and Lucia, Lucia's Progress and Trouble for Lucia

The TV adaptation in the 1980s really brought the characters to life and will be difficult to better. It'll be interesting to see how well the new TV series measures up. But for social satire, there are few authors who capture a period and the values as well as Benson and after many years, this remains one of my favourite series of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent writing, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a delightful read with brilliant characterisation and an exceptionally witty use of language. Highly recommended escapism from the grim world of today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accents, 16 Jan. 2013
This review is from: THE COMPLETE LUCIA VICTRIX: QUEEN LUCIA, MISS MAPP, LUCIA IN LONDON, MAPP AND LUCIA, TROUBLE FOR LUCIA (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
The EF Benson novels need no recommendation. The Mapp and Lucia novels are a delicious confection of wit and social anxiety: Benson has created his own world for us to delight in.
One small quibble: the Kindle edition produces strange sequences of characters every time it meets a French accent. As Georgie would say, "How tarsome!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's what I call a good long read!, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the princely sum of 77p I downloaded this 'book', to find it was a series of books all bundled together - about 42 hours of reading. The wit is as sharp and ridiculous now as it was when it was written. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vastly Entertaining, 12 April 2014
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COMPLETE LUCIA VICTRIX: QUEEN LUCIA, MISS MAPP, LUCIA IN LONDON, MAPP AND LUCIA, TROUBLE FOR LUCIA (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
This edition of the Mapp and Lucia books has an active table of contents, and as well as giving us the six complete novels in order, we also have here a short story as well. I should point out that the original texts have been scanned here, and on occasion some words do appear as a mix of letters and symbols, one being manoeuvre, but you can quite easily decipher what the words are. This only happens on occasions, and in the whole this is perfectly okay to read.

The first book here, Queen Lucia, shows us Mrs Lucas, otherwise known as Lucia, in her home in the village of Riseholme, where she reigns at the head as the leader of all that is cultural in the arts. In the second book, Miss Mapp, we meet Miss Mapp, who tries to reign at the top of the social sphere in the small town of Tilling. The third book, Lucia in London takes us on the rise of Lucia in the social circles of London. From there the next three books take us through what happens in Tilling, where Lucia decides to set up home after the death of her husband. At the end we have the short story, The Male Impersonator, which chronologically should really appear with the book Miss Mapp.

So why does this series of books remain so popular? Actually that is quite easy to answer for someone coming to these for the first time; imagine a long running sit-com presented in book form, and you literally have what this series of books are. Indeed you can even name characters in sit-coms over the years that correspond in one part or another to characters in this book. Also quite daringly for the time these were first published, there are even a couple of gay characters. You have Georgie, vain of his looks, dying his hair and having a comb-over, thus moving on to owning a toupee, whilst sitting quietly doing his embroidery. And you have Irene, the rather manly artist, who takes rather a liking to Lucia.

All the characters are well drawn, the environments they inhabit and the description of homes and places are also well done, and each book is chock full of comic incident. With social climbing, one-upmanship, snobbery, and misunderstandings you also have fake gurus and mediums. In all if you do decide to download this you will have six novels and one short story that will give you endless comic entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the books under one (rather large) cover, 19 Jan. 2010
By 
Schneehase (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hooray! Now I have them all in one place. The summary of the books (above) sums them up perfectly - they have a charm about them that is certainly partly to do with the era in which they were set, and partly to do with the characters that inhabit them. Mapp and Lucia are not at all likeable characters taken out of context. In context they are extraordinary women who clash like the titans of small town provincial England that they are. Each one gains ascendancy time and again, dashing the other under foot, only to be ousted in her turn.
I can entirely recommend these books, but find it hard to sum up why - read and decide for yourself is what I would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mapp & Lucia magic!, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this because the new BBC programme coming was filmed near me. Wasn't sure if I would like it as not my usual read. A few pages in and I was absolutely hooked. The story is amusing, a wonderful insight into that period and so fascinating about human nature and the behaviour of people - petty rivalries, jealousies etc, etc!!!! I was so sorry when I finished it. Off now to see what other books he has written that I might enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars superb fun, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COMPLETE LUCIA VICTRIX: QUEEN LUCIA, MISS MAPP, LUCIA IN LONDON, MAPP AND LUCIA, TROUBLE FOR LUCIA (Annotated and With Active Table of Contents) (Kindle Edition)
Wonderfully observed, self-deluding bitchiness and competition. Quite addictive. A bit like eating too many Pringles - you know it's not doing you any real good, but....just one more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews