Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Build Quality Smartphone car kit including hands-free!!
Having replaced by ageing iPhone 4S I needed a replacement car kit so I can use my smartphone as a Sat Nav in the car. This kit holds your phone in place (to windscreen or dashboard), comes complete with power charger, and includes a hands free for phone calls.

Is it the best for you?

Design and Build Quality
-----------------------------...
Published 9 months ago by John Ryan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor micro usb charger
product works ok as a holder and the speaker is loud enough to be heard in my lorry, you can also position the mic which helps the people on the other end.
now the bad point, the micro usb charger is flimsy, and doesnt click in properly to my galaxy note 3, its like the cheap chargers you buy then chuck away as they always drop out on there own. i have a seperate...
Published 12 months ago by djturner83


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Build Quality Smartphone car kit including hands-free!!, 1 April 2014
By 
John Ryan "One man and his Kat" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Tom Hands Free Car Kit for Smartphones (Electronics)
Having replaced by ageing iPhone 4S I needed a replacement car kit so I can use my smartphone as a Sat Nav in the car. This kit holds your phone in place (to windscreen or dashboard), comes complete with power charger, and includes a hands free for phone calls.

Is it the best for you?

Design and Build Quality
-----------------------------
I have to say, overall design and build quality is excellent. The device is very well built in tough black plastic and includes the bits to attach it firmly to the windscreen (just twist and the suction cup seals it in place), or alternatively to the dashboard using the supplied stick on disk.

It's designed to fit a huge range of phones in either horizontal or vertical orientation, comfortably fit my Google Nexus 5, and was very quick and easy to set up. Effectively the device comes with one removable arm. Unclip it, swing the other arm around (from horizontal to vertical), and snap it back in place.

It does have the disadvantage that you need to decide before you set off whether you want the phone in portrait or landscape, but that's no great issue, as you shouldn't really fiddle around with it while driving.

For the record, it takes phones sized from 54x75mm wide to 75x127 long - which will be fine for all but the most massive "phablet".

Once attached, you plug in the tiny 12V plug into the power, and attach the supplied USB cable to charge the phone. There's a five inch fixed cable with a micro-usb connection to plug into the phone - nicely placed so it won't be a struggle to find in the dark. And the power cable to USB is a massive 57 inches long - so you should be able to reach your power OK.

Docking the phone is a fairly simple operation. Just place the phone between the two rubber arms, and close them together so they hold the phone in a vice like firm grip, and plug in the power.

Releasing the phone was a similar two handed operation, just unplug the power, and press the "trigger" on the right hand arm to release your phone.

Hands Free Telephone Calls
--------------------------------------
This device also includes a bluetooth hands free phone kit - which means you can safely make and receive calls. The built in speaker gives reasonable quality sound (so you don't have to strain to listen to your phone speaker over engine and road noise), and it comes with a front facing microphone.

A quick test call proved the hands-free calling was pretty clear, and it was perfectly possible to conduct a phone conversation.

An added benefit is you don't need to dock the phone to receive a call. Once you've paired the phone to the device once it will automatically reconnect when you're near the car, then if the phone rings press the Green or Red button to accept or reject the call.

This is a great added feature, as I don't always dock the phone for short journeys, and it means I can safely take a call with the phone still in my pocket - or worse still in my coat pocket the boot of the car (which I've done before).

As an added bonus, the phone also comes with an extension cable for the microphone. Just unplug the "on-board" microphone, attach the extension, and you can run a cable (fixed with supplied clips) to your sun-visor. Again a quick test call demonstrated call quality was great with even better voice clarity.

What else might I need
-------------------------------
Well to really get the best out of your car kit, you ideally want to play high quality music on your radio. To do this you've a few options:-

1. Use a bluetooth enabled radio (and pair your phone). You should be able to play music or listen to audio-books in crystal clear sound. (But you need a bluetooth enabled radio)
2. Buy a cable to plug in a cable from your phone head socket to your radio. (But you need a 3.5" socket on your radio)
3. Buy a Bluetooth Wireless receiver (but you need a 3.5" socket on your radio)
4. Buy an FM car transmitter. These plug into your headphone socket and broadcast an FM radio signal which you tune into your radio.
5. Finally, you could buy a bluetooth speaker and have music with your wherever you go. JBL Flip Rechargeable Bluetooth-enabled Loudspeaker with Built in Mic - Black

The down-side
--------------------
There is one down-side - for iPhone users. As the device comes with a micro-USB plug to power your phone, you'll need a converter. Thankfully there's plenty available on Amazon for around £2.00 or you could buy the authorised version from Apple online for a whopping £15.00 for the lightening adapter or £7.00 for the 30 pin adapter.

This one seems to have the best reviews (be aware - there are lots with poor feedback):
ORDEL® iPhone 5S & 5C iOS7 Compatible 8 Pin Lightning Cable To Micro USB Adapter - Charging & Sync

In Conclusion
------------------
A great hands-free car kit which fits a huge range of phones of varying sizes in portrait and landscape with the added bonus of hands free calling. Don't forget the adapter if you've got an iPhone.

Highly Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality kit, 17 Jan. 2013
By 
A. J. Lyne (Southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Tom Hands Free Car Kit for Smartphones (Electronics)
I chose this kit for my iphone 5 to replace the Tom Tom kit I had for the iPhone 4 and I must say that I was not dis appointed. It is very well made and easy to use. It has a very firm suction and has no movement even with the phone attached. The cables are long enough to mount in most convenient places on the dashboard or the screen and the cable attachment points make it look neat. The hands free mic and speaker are clear and work well with the option of extending the mic to mount it on a visor or similar but I have found that it works just as well mounted on the holder. A great feature is that the Bluetooth kit connects to the phone even when not in the holder and you can answer calls by pressing buttons on the holder itself - very convenient for short journeys when you leave your phone in your pocket. I had to buy an adapter from micro USB to lightning for the iPhone 5 but that fits nicely too. All in all a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tomtom car kit for smart phones, 5 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Tom Tom Hands Free Car Kit for Smartphones (Electronics)
Much better than previous tom tom car kits for the iphone. Have used it for my iphone 4 with adaptor with no problem, the extentable microphone makes life a lot easier and the fitting kit allows you to keep thinks neat and tidy. I have also used it with my new Iphone 5S with the apple approved adaptor lightening to mirco usb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Tom Hands Free Car Kit for Smartphones (Electronics)
Great piece of kit for the money,would have given 5 stars but for the annoying drum roll & the annoying voice to tell you your connected or not each time its plugged in or activated...........overall pleased with the kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job in spite of its design, 5 Feb. 2014
By 
This review is from: Tom Tom Hands Free Car Kit for Smartphones (Electronics)
The Tom Tom smart-phone system is a hands-free device that connects your phone using the phones Bluetooth. It is one of a number of hands-free solutions and should be considered against other options. In order of preference I would suggest hands-free phone solutions are 1st Bluetooth enabled car entertainment system, 2nd a Parrot type system, 3rd The Tom Tom system (or similar), 4th headset, 5th Bluetooth enabled Sat Nav, 6th FM radio system and so on. Choice is dependent on cost, your current car entertainment system, car wiring, location of 12 volt power (what we used to refer to as the cigarette lighter socket) etc.
I discounted the first and second choice because I have a sophisticated car entertainment system which I didn't wish to replace and the parrot system has undesirable side effects (it makes the amplifier pop when you turn the car ignition on) - so it was the Tom Tom for me. However before you make a decision to purchase - make sure you have an assessable 12volt supply socket. You do not want a trailing lead from the Tom Tom holder on the windscreen to a 12 volt socket behind the handbrake.
Out of the box the Tom Tom exudes quality. The phone holder is very sturdy and has a twist mechanism to attach to the windscreen which is extremely effective. You also have a choice to connect to a flat surface on the dash - but I have no flat surfaces. The unit also comes with a number of plastic connectors which also seem good quality.
By and large the phone connected easily to the Tom Tom unit using the instructions supplied. You have to use the 12 volt connector supplied with the Tom Tom and the wiring starts with an USB to the phone holder. In my case the socket is too far away from the phone holder and I seem to knock the socket and disconnect the unit when I change gear. Hence my advice above, make sure you have an assessable 12 volt supply.
The phone connects every time you get into the car and you have various audible signals from the unit.
Now for the disadvantages. Firstly, as noted by a number of reviewers the green and red phone buttons for connecting and disconnecting a phone call are on the back of the Tom Tom phone unit. These are totally in-assessable and hidden by a phone if you mount a phone on the phone holder. This is not just a bad design - but plain stupid. What on earth were the design team at Tom Tom thinking. Was this design approved on a Friday afternoon after a particularly bad week! The second disadvantage is that there is no visible signs that the unit is connected. It does not have any illuminated buttons. This means you cannot see the red and green phone buttons at night. You also have no visable indication that the unit is making a call or that the call is connected. When you make a call you press a button on the side of the unit. The unit speaks to you (quite quietly) and you then you say "Call Joe" or whoever. It will go through a rigmarole - say "Select 1" for mobile, "Select 2" for home etc and after you have made your selection it will prompt you to say "OK". All this time you have no visible sign that you are still connected or that the unit is actually making a call. The same applies after you have finished your call - there is no visible sign that you are actually cut off. Some form of red and/or green leds would have been a good idea - but there is nothing.
However in spite of the design limitations - the unit connects automatically every time you get into the car. Callers have told me that the phone sound is good at their side, and the sound is also good at my side. Cost is currently £39.99 from an RRP of £79.99. It was cheaper around Christmas and £39.99 is about the maximum it is worth. So in conclusion the units does the basics, and in spite of some poor design features, does what it is supposed to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good but sometimes people don't hear me, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Tom Hands Free Car Kit for Smartphones (Electronics)
Bought this as I could barely hear GPS directions from TomTom. Wasn't too happy about spending more money after spending a lot just on the TT software but I have been pleasantly surprised by this unit. First it acts as a bluetooth speaker, so its compatible with pretty much every bluetooth capable phone. Secondly, the arms expand to quite a size and can even grip the enormous Samsung Note phone which I have as well as most other smaller phones.

Power supplied uses a 2 amp charger that will fast charge most phones, you also get a microphone and extension cable to use for handsfree calls. It works great, the sound quality is very good. I remember years ago peoples car phone kits and the unintelligible speech coming from them, but this one is crystal clear for voice... when the other side can hear you. I'm not sure if it is my phone, the microphone, the cable, or the device itself but occasionally (about 1 in every 5 or 6 calls) the other side doesn't hear me and ends up hanging up.

When I'm not using it to either make calls or use for GPS it is also quite nice to keep your phone in your pocket, play a mix of songs but have them come out of the bluetooth speaker in the car. Not great for music especially since it's mono, but not bad either and I have a lot more songs on my phone than on my car stereo !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor micro usb charger, 13 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Tom Tom Hands Free Car Kit for Smartphones (Electronics)
product works ok as a holder and the speaker is loud enough to be heard in my lorry, you can also position the mic which helps the people on the other end.
now the bad point, the micro usb charger is flimsy, and doesnt click in properly to my galaxy note 3, its like the cheap chargers you buy then chuck away as they always drop out on there own. i have a seperate charger which never falls out but this cant be used while the tom tom is plugged into the 12v. this is another problem, the unit is either pluged into 12v and on or turn off the power and it switches off it doesnt store any charge. they seemed to have made a great product but put a cheap micro usb on the end which lets down the whole unit. i bought through ebxxy so cant send back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool product, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Tom Hands Free Car Kit for Smartphones (Electronics)
I use this a lot when driving. The speaker is really good quality as is the microphone. Not completely hands free though as if you are using the phone for satnav and answering calls you still have to swipe to answer. Also difficult to make calls whilst driving as again a bit fiddly. Overall if you are going for a long drive, and might get a phone all on the way this is perfect...if you need to make phone calls on the way maybe a little less ideal but still doable. Microphone is great and speaker that you attach is also great. Sticks well to the car windscreen.

NB - adapter is for android, not iPhone, so you have to buy the micro USB adaptor to fit the iPhone if you want to charge the phone whilst driving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab, 27 Dec. 2013
By 
Ms. M. Graff - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Tom Hands Free Car Kit for Smartphones (Electronics)
used for the iphone 5s just get a micro usb adapter and away you go great item thanks ..... ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works fine for Iphone 5s, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tom Tom Hands Free Car Kit for Smartphones (Electronics)
I had previously bought Tom Tom 3gs car kit but got away by not changing for my iphone 4s. With the new adapater for iphone 5s i had to buy this one and lightning to micro usb converter and it works as expected.

Happy with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tom Tom Hands Free Car Kit for Smartphones
Used & New from: £39.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews