Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Glory" on BLU RAY MASTERED IN 4K...
First things first - I don't own a 4K TV - nor do I own the Sony BDPS6200 BLU RAY player with built in 4K upscaling. So I suppose this review of "Glory Mastered In 4K" is compromised on 2 fronts. However I have what I suspect most film lovers have - a good Plasma TV and a half-decent BLU RAY player. But even with machines as lowly as these - I'm compelled to...
Published 10 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A review of the 2009 Blu-Ray release!
A quick word of warning.

I bought this 2009 Blu-Ray edition to upgrade from my DVD copy and discovered on watching that I've completely wasted my money. I'm not sure how this will compare to the newer 2012 Blu-Ray release however this 2009 version is nothing more than a direct transfer from a DVD source and cannot by any stretch of the imagination be referred...
Published 12 months ago by Freddie Del Fuego


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 8 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Glory [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
a classic film with a some great acting performances based on a true story it is entertaining but also very poignant.Well worth watching particularly if you are interested in the american civil war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Oct. 2014
By 
D. H. Lloyd (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glory [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Very good film. Delivered on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not to be missed!!!, 29 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome, shouldn't be passed by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Glory (Amazon Instant Video)
best film I have seen in years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glory, 24 May 2009
This review is from: Glory [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
An exeliant insite to civel war, and it was what i think very true to life then, Maththew Brodreick played the part very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As described., 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glory [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Delivered promptly. No issues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Glory, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glory [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Good film and good service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glory [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
underrated excellent film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Glory [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Stunning bit of history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film and one of the best characters in fiction, 28 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Glory [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
What a wonderful character does Matthew Broderick play in this awsome, great film! Colonel Shaw is, at the beginning of the film (and forgive me for the change in genre and scale), like Frodo in The Lord of the Rings: a seemingly ordinary, anonimous, humble official of the Federate army who has been burdened (like Frodo) with a task that nobody wishes: the mustering and training of the first all-coloured volunteer regiment. However, his idealism and firm principles push him to do the best he can, and that turns out to be a lot. Throughout the movie we discover (with him, since he did not really know all the good qualities that he had inside) that he has the strength and courage to rise up to the moral, bureocratic and military-life challenges that are thrown in his way, always in accordance with his high idealistic, military and moral standards. These same standards give him the authority, towards the end of the film, to make life-or-death decissions for his men, and the courage to carry them out himself to the utmost consequences. The whole story revolves around this character, who is so superbly interpreted by Matthew Broderick that we can read on his face his feelings of embarrassment, outrage, fear, etc, although always in a subdued no-histrionic tone. Of course, the other actors and characters are also great, but Colonel Shaw will be for me, from now on, one of the best-developed and noblest characters in any kind of fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Glory [Blu-ray] [1990]
Glory [Blu-ray] [1990] by Matthew Broderick (Blu-ray - 2012)
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews