Customer Reviews


683 Reviews
5 star:
 (291)
4 star:
 (189)
3 star:
 (117)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (54)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I CAME HERE TO BURY HIM,
The film opens up like "Basic" with one man requesting another. A man (Joseph Sikora) is accused of random shootings. The evidence is overwhelmingly against him. In Iraq he was a sniper. Jack Reacher (Tom Cruise) arrives as a brash and cocky individual, a role Tom Cruise has perfected. Jack is elusive. Eventually he takes on the task as the lead investigator for...
Published on 22 April 2013 by THE MOVIE GUY

versus
32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reacher-light and Action Movie-light
I've read all the Reacher books (I think) and have no great objection to someone of Tom Cruise's size being cast as JR. As far as I am concerned, however, the film didn't do enough to differentiate itself from the many other 'Action movies' already made.

Not enough was made of the calm and brooding menace, and the great powers of deduction. I think that's a...
Published 23 months ago by Mark Dyer


‹ Previous | 1 269 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I CAME HERE TO BURY HIM,, 22 April 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jack Reacher [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens up like "Basic" with one man requesting another. A man (Joseph Sikora) is accused of random shootings. The evidence is overwhelmingly against him. In Iraq he was a sniper. Jack Reacher (Tom Cruise) arrives as a brash and cocky individual, a role Tom Cruise has perfected. Jack is elusive. Eventually he takes on the task as the lead investigator for the accused. His lawyer (Rosamund Pike) happens to be the daughter of the prosecutor (Richard Jenkins). As Jack investigates, things are not what they seem which draws us into the story.

Unfortunately the mystery is short lived as clues come too fast. It then resorts to an us vs. them with a car chase scene that lasted way too long for this type of crime drama. The script was otherwise well done. Acting was as we would expect from the cast. Makes for a decent rental. There could be a Jack Reacher sequel, hopefully with some complexity. This is another film shot in Pittsburgh, the Hollywood of the East.

Parental Guide: 1 F-bomb, no sex or nudity. Some spicy language and sexual references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid action thriller, 11 May 2013
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jack Reacher [DVD] (DVD)
First off I'm not a huge Cruise fan, though I do feel he has matured as an actor over the years and is certainly more than capable of delivering the goods when required.

In this case I think the film worked well, it is good...but possibly not quite the epic it might have been.
I don't want to spoil the story line (which is well paced, and interesting) Cruise is good in his role, and puts in a solid performance. He's kept himself in decent shape too, which helps the action side a decent bit.

Rosamund Pike, easy on the eyes but more importantly she can act and does well for a supporting role. The rest of the cast also quite happy with they are good in their supporting roles, also nice to see Robert Duvall in here too.

I found the film held my attention from start to finish (a good sign) This is more a thinking film so if you want a lazy night in with a casual or no plot movie, you might be better off with a Jason Statham offering. Nice camera work, good script, decent strong acting, and a good story this delivers well on that front. Action wise some good bits (this is by no means an all guns blazing no plot film), nice driving sequence and a good conclusion with a tense shoot out at the end. If there is anything to be critical, it's that this doesn't in some ways offer much new to the genre, but then few do.

Without revealing any of the story (it's really quite good and not as it seems from the start) I think this is well worth checking out if you want a thinking mans action film. A decent 4/5 film, I did enjoy it and the people watching it with me also like it. At just over 2 hours it's a tad longer than some, but I kept me watching and eager to see the story unfold. Certainly one of the better films in recent years in the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like cruise? Then watch this clever, different film, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just fancied watching a good film of gun action. Well I got this film completely wrong, it's clever!
I am so glad I purchased this film, as I need to watch it again maybe for the bits I missed the first time. Really clever story line, and more of a detective film with great twists. Lately I have got slightly bored of "Cruise" playing the same action roles but as the great actor he is he really does excel in this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow Burner Reaches Expectation, 26 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Jack Reacher (Blu-ray)
I wanted to give this a 3.5 star rating but clearly Amazon doesn't understand this concept for films (it is a book company after all!).
Anyway, I haven't read the book but after watching the film I will. Some people are getting hung up about JR's height in the book (6ft 5) but frankly there are very few good actors of that height available. Get over it. The film is a slow burner, deliberately setting the scene for what is about to come in the 2nd half. Couldn't help think Rosamund Pike role was restricted due to being pregnant whilst shooting the film. In the end under used. David Oyelowo is great. TC beginning to lose his youthful looks but still delivers. Robert Duvall way past his use by date. I think this is one of those films that gets better second time round. It won't win awards but does what it says on the tin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not The Usual Suspects, 17 Jun. 2013
By 
W. Rodick (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jack Reacher [DVD] (DVD)
The man who wrote the only film in the modern era worthy of a 'classic' superlative also wrote this film. But The Usual Suspects [DVD] [1995] was directed by Bryan Singer. As well as direction Jack Reacher just falls short of Suspects on the originality score. And that memorable music. And distinctive characterisation. And Warrington's own Pete Postlethwaite

Reacher is a cracking thriller. But I can't quite manage to give it the five star badge because it does reference other films. The Conversation [DVD] [1974] and Enemy of the State (Extended Edition) [DVD] come to mind as well as scenes lifted almost straight from Suspects. The story is very good. I like the details of the small-war times in which we live. Certainly worth the quick to supermarket price it has gone to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reacher-light and Action Movie-light, 12 Jun. 2013
By 
Mark Dyer (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jack Reacher [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I've read all the Reacher books (I think) and have no great objection to someone of Tom Cruise's size being cast as JR. As far as I am concerned, however, the film didn't do enough to differentiate itself from the many other 'Action movies' already made.

Not enough was made of the calm and brooding menace, and the great powers of deduction. I think that's a combination of the screenplay and direction, as well as the acting. TC can do many things but he certainly couldn't stride manfully about the police station in the early scenes and he couldn't scowl or stare down anyone, as in the scene in the bus depot. The attempt at a 'seven samurai' moment immediately before the car chase was quite poor.

And why have a car chase? That just put the film into similar territory as the Bournes, Bruce Willis and others. I think the time should have been spent developing and illustrating the character, to create something different and play to its strengths. Talking of acting; I thought TC looked quite anxious whilst driving the car - I imagine JR isn't anxious about anything.

I enjoyed the opening scenes, the telling of a story without dialogue. We saw something of the analysis and sleuthing but not really enough. I just think that in the end we had a passable but identikit action movie when there had been a good opportunity to create something better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Familiar formulaic stuff, but well played out, 1 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Jack Reacher [DVD] (DVD)
Please bear in mind that I haven't read this or any other Jack Reacher books. I read a few thrillers, but frankly don't have enough time to read as many as I'd like. So, if you read the book(s) and hated this movie because it was nothing like the book you liked, then I'm sorry, and I'm often on that side of things, but please don't condemn me here, for I enjoyed this movie for what it is.

I'm not a huge fan of Tom Cruise. My soundbite is "Always awful, occasionally perfect." Awful- "Days of Blunder", "War of the Worlds", "Cocktail"; perfect: "Top Gun", "Minority Report", "Collateral". So that's where I am on this. At least as far as this script, again not the novel, is concerned, Cruise is perfect for the cocky, self-assured Reacher character. He really is. And Robert Duvall turns up, though perhaps with too little to do for such a great man, but as ever, makes it count.

This is quite a good conspiracy thriller. It looks as if it's going to go on to what someone with the background of that great gutsy guy Swofford (of his great autobiography and the outstanding movie "Jarhead"- don't get me wrong, this guy is a hero) might have done post Iraq if he'd gone wrong. However, it rapidly goes off in a completely different direction.

You'd like to be satisfied with the heroic shoot-out, but as usual, how much risk is there when the villains are all such tragically useless shots? However, while it looks as if it's going to end unsatisfactorily, and in some ways it does, one or two things you want to happen are going to happen.

I am a bit torn, I think **** may be a tad generous, but not much.

Quite an enjoyable movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps Tom's Reach[er] exceeded his grasp?, 27 Dec. 2014
By 
still searching (MK UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jack Reacher [DVD] (DVD)
About the only thing that the film’s Jack Reacher has in common with the book’s is the name. The differences between the two have been well documented and the ire felt by many of the character’s fans at the idea that Tom Cruise had the temerity to even consider the part for himself could be argued to be well-founded. The most obvious difference, of course, is clear for all to see; Cruise is 5’ 6’’ in height compared to Reacher’s 6’ 5”! But it doesn’t stop there; for example, the movie’s Reacher is clearly a skilful driver of very fast cars, whereas the books’ hero can barely drive an old banger in a straight line!

The list could go on and on but what’s the point? This film is a different beast to the book which spawned it and for those who have never read any of the books the arguments one way or the other are totally irrelevant. As an action movie in its own right it’s okay and improves immeasurably in the last 45 minutes or so when a truly great actor enters the scene. Robert Duvall has produced some remarkable performances over the years and though, obviously not now in his prime, still manages to steal the show from Cruise’s slightly past it action man. Indeed, it could also be argued that he rescues it from absolute mediocrity.

Okay, Cruise has proved he can do action man/tough guy – but Collateral was made eight years earlier when he was still quite sprightly and barely into his forties: at fifty he only just about convinces in comparison to a real screen ‘tough guy’; say, someone like Clint Eastwood who made ‘Pale Rider’ in his mid-fifties and still looked every inch the part. The scene in which Reacher is standing around sporting his bare torso thus making Rosamund Pike’s character almost swoon by so doing is particularly cringe-inducing. You could say it’s a case of a man’s Reach[er] clearly exceeding his grasp!

Nevertheless, if you can turn off your brain in order to ignore the occasional silliness, clichés, and clunky plotting it makes for a reasonably satisfying couple of hours if you’ve got nothing better to do!

You could, of course, if you haven’t done so already – try the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good thriller that may even appease fans of the book, 24 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Jack Reacher [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Writer-director Chris McQuarrie (The Way of The Gun) does a good job of delivering a powerfully captivating thriller from a bestselling novel and a controversial casting choice.
The movie is amazingly faithful to the book 'One-Shot' by Lee Child, only trimming some of the fat, and making one substantial character role change that actually works quite well. McQuarrie's writing style is quick witted, serious and sarcastic and matches Lee Child's material well, and his direction skills are top-notch. The opening 'sniper's point of view' scene is chilling and almost unbearably tense to watch, and the majority of the film's action and dialogue scenes are gripping stuff.
That controversial casting choice? Those who haven't read Lee Child's books simply won't care. Cruise convinces quite well as a charismatic but slightly stony and serious ex military policeman with a sardonic sense of humour. For those who have read it and are wondering how he convinces as Child's tall, imposing, blunt-tongued Reacher, the results are only slightly less impressive. Cruise almost convinces in the physicality, but to put it simply some scenes would have just worked better with a more physically imposing actor in the role. However, without his star power it's unlikely the film would exist at all, and movie entertainment is better for it. The plot is fun and serpentine, cleaving close to Child's design, and the bad guys are evil fun - Jai Courtney is great, and Werner Herzog is enjoyably original and sinister as 'The Zec'.
As someone who greatly enjoyed the book, I can say this: give the film a fair chance. It's excellently directed and adapted and a great little thriller in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, but nothing bad, 23 April 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a casual fan of Tom Cruise, so I just watched this regardless. I didn't know much about the book, so I can't comment on how accurate it is to its source material. I thought it would be more action-packed - like a kind of vigilante going round seeking revenge on your general baddies. As it turned out, it's more like a cop movie (but without a cop as the lead character). What action there is is all right, plus the acting is fair and it is not hard to see that money has been put into this movie.

Tom Cruise is an ex military policeman who's investigating a seemingly motiveless sniper who killed five apparently innocent civilians. No sooner is he on the case does he meet the unfeasible attractive attorney, played by Rosamund Pike. I found this aspect of the film the most far-fetched - you know instantly that she's going to be the `will-they/won't they' love interest of the film.

From then on, the film follows a typical template for this kind of movie. It's played absolutely straight (a bit like the `Bourne' films, but without the near-constant chase scenes all the way through) and it doesn't really add anything original to the genre of action/thriller movies.

If you're looking for a bit of a conspiracy thriller with a plot that slowly unravels, this isn't a bad way to spend a couple of hours (plus it's nice to see Tom Cruise and Robert Duvall sharing the screen again since Days of Thunder). If you can believe that every single female in American that meets Tom Cruise wants to bed him, whether she's twice his age of half his age, then you should find this enjoyable.

Probably more a 3.5/5, but I'll be generous and give it a 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 269 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jack Reacher [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Jack Reacher [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Christopher McQuarrie (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews