Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tracks, LPs, EPs and Singles-You'll Never Know What You're Missin', 19 Mar 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Ricky Nelson (Audio CD)
This excellent set by Ricky Nelson
"Six Classic Albums Plus Bonus Singles" has the six albums spread across 3 Cds with the final one being a collection of Ricky's singles and EPs.
Quite frankly it is a marvelous collection.
The simple reason for the low price? The recordings are over 50 years old and may be `Public Domain' in the USA.

All the albums been digitally remastered and enhanced for superior quality and the Real Gone Jazz label has garnered some really good reviews for sound quality.
The digitally enhanced sound is a good indicator but for a proper review I really suggest you read other, more knowledgeable people's reviews.

The albums are
"Ricky (1957)",
"Ricky Nelson (1958)",
"Ricky Sings Again (1959)",
"Songs By Ricky(1959)",
"More Songs By Ricky (1960)"
and "Rick Is 21 (1961)".

As I said above it also includes singles and EPs from 1957 - 1961,
They come in a double thick Jewel Box on 4 CDs

Track List and split:
[Disc 1]
Ricky
1. Honeycomb
2. Boppin' The Blues
3. Be Bop Baby
4. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You?
5. Teenage Doll
6. If You Can't Rock Me
7. Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' On
8. Baby I'm Sorry
9. Am I Blue?
10. I'm Confessin'
11. Your True Love
12. True Love
Ricky Nelson
13. Shirley Lee
14. Someday (You'll Want Me To Want You)
15. There's Good Rockin' Tonight
16. I'm Feelin Sorry
17. Down The Line
18. Unchained Melody
19. I'm In Love Again
20. Don't Leave Me This Way
21. My Babe
22. I'll Walk Alone
23. There Goes My Baby
24. Poor Little Fool

[Disc 2]
Ricky Sings Again
1. It's Late
2. One Of These Mornings
3. Believe What You Say
4. Lonesome Town
5. Trying To Get To You
6. Be True To Me
7. Old Enough To Love
8. Never Be Anyone Else But You
9. I Can't Help It
10. You Tear Me Up
11. It's All In The Game
12. Restless Kid
Songs By Ricky
13. You'll Never Know What You're Missin'
14. That's All
15. Just A Little Too Much
16. One Minute To One
17. Half Breed
18. You're So Fine
19. Don't Leave Me
20. Sweeter Than You
21. A Long Vacation
22. So Long
23. Blood From A Stone
24. I've Been Thinkin'

[Disc 3]
More Songs By Ricky
1. I'm Not Afraid
2. Baby Won't You Please Come Home?
3. Here I Go Again
4. I'd Climb The Highest Mountain
5. Make Believe
6. Ain't Nothin' But Love
7. When Your Lover Has Gone
8. Proving My Love
9. Hey Pretty Baby
10. Time After Time
11. I'm All Through With You
12. Again
Rick Is 21
13. My One Desire
14. That Warm Summer Night
15. Break My Chain
16. Do You Know What It Means? (To Miss New O...
17. I'll Make Believe
18. Travelin' Man
19. Oh Yeah, I'm In Love
20. Everybody But Me
21. Lucky Star
22. Sure Fire Bet
23. Stars Fell On Alabama
24. Hello Mary Lou

[Disc 4]
1957
1. A Teenagers Romance
2. I'm Walkin'
3. You're My One And Only Love
4. Honey Rock (Barney Kessel)
5. Be Bop Baby
6. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You?
7. Stood Up
8. Waitin' In School 1958
9. Believe What You Say
10. My Buckets Got A Hole In It
11. I Got A Feeling
1959
12. I Wanna Be Loved
13. Mighty Good
1960
14. Young Emotions
15. Right By My Side
16. Yes Sir That's My Baby
17. You Are The Only One
18. Milk Cow Blues
EP 1960
19. Glory Train
20. I Bowed My Head In Shame
21. If You Believe It
22. March With The Band Of The Lord
1961
23. A Wonder Like You
24. Everlovin'
1959
25. It's Late (Mono)
1960
26. Hello Mary Lou (Mono)
1961
27. The Fleas - Scratchin'
28. The Fleas - Tears
29. The Trophies - Doggone It
30. The Trophies - Desire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rock & Roll Great, 23 May 2013
By 
Mr. Brian S. Adsett (West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Ricky Nelson (Audio CD)
Really good value. Not all tracks are to my liking but all his hits are here plus many other tracks from his glory years & some good cover versions of other rock & roll hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good value, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Ricky Nelson (Audio CD)
Very good value album covering all his hits and many more worth having in your collection . A true star of the 60,s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 Classic Albums Plus, 2 Sep 2012
By 
Boris Cherniak "Boris" (rossia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Ricky Nelson (Audio CD)
Tracks:
CD 1:

01 Honeycomb
02 Boppin' the Blues
03 Be Bop Baby
04 Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
05 Teenage Doll
06 If You Can't Rock Me
07 Whole Lotta Shakin' Goin' on
08 Baby I'm Sorry
09 Am I Blue
10 I'm Confessin'
11 Your True Love
12 True Love
13 Shirley Lee
14 Someday (You'll Want Me to Want You)
15 There's Good Rockin' Tonight
16 I'm Feelin Sorry
17 Down the Line
18 Unchained Melody
19 I'm in Love Again
20 Don't Leave Me This Way
21 My Babe
22 I'll Walk Alone
23 There Goes My Baby
24 Poor Little Fool

CD 2:

01 It's Late
02 One of These Mornings
03 Believe What You Say
04 Lonesome Town
05 Trying to Get to You
06 Be True to Me
07 Old Enough to Love
08 Never Be Anyone else but You
09 I Can't Help It
10 You Tear Me Up
11 It's All in the Game
12 Restless Kid
13 You'll Never Know What Your Missin'
14 That's All
15 Just a Little Too Much
16 One Minute to One
17 Half Breed
18 You're So Fine
19 Don't Leave Me
20 Sweeter Than You
21 A Long Vacation
22 So Long
23 Blood from a Stone
24 I've Been Thinkin'

CD 3:

01 I'm Not Afraid
02 Baby Won't You Please Come Home
03 Here I Go Again
04 I'd Climb the Highest Mountain
05 Make Believe
06 Ain't Nothin' but Love
07 When Your Lover Has Gone
08 Proving My Love
09 Hey Pretty Baby
10 Time After Time
11 I'm All Through with You
12 Again
13 My One Desire
14 That Warm Summer Night
15 Break My Chain
16 Do You Know What It Means (To Miss New Orleans)
17 I'll Make Believe
18 Travelin' Man
19 Oh Yeah, I'm in Love
20 Everybody but Me
21 Lucky Star
22 Sure Fire Bet
23 Stars Fell on Alabama
24 Hello Mary Lou

CD 4:

01 A Teenagers Romance
02 I'm Walkin'
03 You're My One and Only Love
04 Honey Rock (Barney Kessel)
05 Be Bop Baby
06 Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
07 Stood Up
08 Waitin' in School
09 Believe What You Say
10 My Buckets Got a Hole in It
11 I Got a Feeling
12 I Wanna Be Loved
13 Mighty Good
14 Young Emotions
15 Right by My Side
16 Yes Sir That's My Baby
17 You Are the Only One
18 Milk Cow Blues
19 Glory Train
20 I Bowed My Head in Shame
21 If You Believe It
22 March with the Band of the Lord
23 A Wonder Like You
24 Everlovin'
25 It's Late (Mono)
26 Hello Mary Lou (Mono)
27 The Fleas - Scratchin'
28 The Fleas - Tears
29 The Trophies - Doggone It
30 The Trophies - Desire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RICK NELSON'S FIRST SIX ALBUMS, 30 SINGLES & EP TRACKS ON FOUR CD'S!, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Rob Stoneman (Mother Earth The Milky Way) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Ricky Nelson (Audio CD)
RICKY NELSON SIX CLASSIC ALBUMS PLUS BONUS TRACKS
AUDIO CD: (September 25, 2012)
LABEL: ACE RECORDS UK

RICKY:
(October 1957)

12 SONGS
(In alphabetical order)

DISK# TRK# TITLE

1-09 AM I BLUE
1-08 BABY I'M SORRY
1-03 BE BOP BABY
1-02 BOPPIN' THE BLUES
1-04 HAVE I TOLD YOU LATELY THAT I LOVE YOU
1-01 HONEYCOMB
1-06 IF YOU CAN'T ROCK ME
1-10 I'M CONFESSIN'
1-05 TEENAGE DOLL
1-12 TRUE LOVE
1-07 WHOLE LOTTA SHAKIN' GOIN' ON
1-11 YOUR TRUE LOVE

RICKY:
14 SONGWRITERS
(In alphabetical order)

DISC# TRK# SONGWRITER TITLE

1-09 HARRY ASKT/GRANT CLARKE
Am I Blue
1-10 DON DAUGHERTY/ELLIS REYNOLDS/AL A.J. NEIBURG
I'm Confessin'
1-06 WILLIE JACOBS
If You Can't Rock Me
1-03 PEARL LENDHURST
Be Bop Baby
1-05 PEARL LENDHURST/GEORGE LENDHURST
Teenage Doll
1-01 BOB MERRILL
Honeycomb
1-11 CARL PERKINS
Your True Love
1-2 CARL PERKINS/HOWARD GRIFFIN
Boppin' The Blues
1-12 COLE PORTER
True Love
1-8 KENNETH SCOTT
Baby I'm Sorry
1-07 DAVE WILLIAMS/SUNNY DAVID
Whole Lotta' Shakin' Goin' On
1-04 SCOTT WISEMAN
Have I Told You Lately That I Love You

RICKY NELSON:
(July 1958)

12 SONGS
(In alphabetical order)

DISC# TRK# TITLE

1-23 DON"T LEAVE ME THIS WAY
1-20 DOWN THE LINE
1-25 I'LL WALK ALONE
1-19 I'M FEELIN' SORRY
1-22 I'M IN LOVE AGAIN
1-24 MY BABE
1-27 POOR LITTLE FOOL
1-16 SHIRLEY LEE
1-17 SOMEDAY YOU'LL WANT ME TO WANT YOU
1-26 THERE GOES MY BABY
1-18 THERE'S GOOD ROCKIN' TONIGHT
1-21 UNCHAINED MELODY

RICKY NELSON:
16 SONGWRITERS
(In alphabetical order)

DISC# TRK SONGWRITER TITLE

1-18 ROY BROWN
There's Good Rockin' Tonight
1-25 SAMMY CAHN/JULIE STINE
I'll Walk Alone
1-19 JACK CLEMENT
I'm Feelin' Sorry
1-24 WILLIE DIXON
My Babe
1-22 FATS DOMINO/DAVE BARTHOLOMEW
I'm In Love Again
1-17 JAMES HODGES
Someday (You'll Want Me To Want You)
1-26 JAMES KIRKLAND/JAMES BURTON
There's Goes My Baby
1-23 RICK NELSON
Don't leave Me This Way
1-21 ALEX NORTH/HY ZARET
Unchained Melody
1-20 ROY ORBISON
Down The Line
1-16 BOBBY LEE TRAMMEL
Shirley Lee
1-27 SHARON SHEELEY
Poor Little Fool

RICKY SINGS AGAIN:
(January 1959)

12 SONGS
(In alphabetical order)

DISC# TRK# TITLE

2-03 BELIEVE WHAT YOU SAY
2-06 BE TRUE TO ME
2-09 I CAN'T HELP IT
2-11 IT'S ALL IN THE GAME
2-01 IT'S LATE
2-04 LONESOME TOWN
2-08 NEVER BE ANYONE ELSE BUT YOU
2-07 OLD ENOUGH TO LOVE
2-02 ONE OF THESE MORNINGS
2-12 RESTLESS KID
2-05 TRYIN' TO GET YOU
2-10 YOU TEAR ME UP

RICKY SINGS AGAIN:
15 SONGWRITERS
(In alphabetical order)

DISC# TRK# SONGWRITER TITLE

2-01 DORSEY BURNETTE
It's Late
2-02 DORSEY BURNETTE
One Of These Mornings
2-03 JOHNNY BURNETTE/DORSEY BURNETTE
Believe What You Say
2-12 JOHNNY CASH
Restless Kid
2-11 CHARLES DAWES/CARL SIGMAN
It's All In The Game
2-07 BILL JONES/AL JONES/MERLE KILGORE
Old Enough To Love
2-04 BAKER KNIGHT
Lonesome Town
2-08 BAKER KNIGHT
Never Be Anyone But You
2-10 BAKER KNIGHT
Never Be Anyone But You
2-05 ROSE MARIE McCOY/CHARLES SINGLETON
Tryin' To Get To You
2-06 NAT STUCKEY/JAMES KIRKLAND
Be True To Me
2-09 HANK WILLIAMS
I Can't Help It

SONGS BY RICKY:
(1959)

12 SONGS
(In alphabetical order)

DISC# TRK# TITLE

2-26 A LONG VACATION
2-28 BLOOD FROM A STONE
2-24 DON'T LEAVE ME
2-22 HALF BREED
2-29 I'VE BEEN THINKIN'
2-20 JUST A LITTLE TOO MUCH
2-21 ONE MINUTE TO ONE
2-27 SO LONG
2-25 SWEETER THAN YOU
2-19 THAT'S ALL
2-18 YOU'LL NEVER KNOW WHAT YOU'RE MISSIN'
2-23 YOU'RE SO FINE

SONGS BY RICKY:
22 SONGWRITERS
(In alphabetical order)

DISC TRK# SONGWRITER TITLE

2-28 JOHNNY BACHELOR/RUPERT STEPHENS
Blood From A Stone
2-19 ALAN BRANDT/BOB HAYMES
That's All
2-26 DORSEY BURNETTE
A Long Vacation
2-24 DORSEY BURNETTE
Don't Leave Me
2-23 DORSEY BURNETTE
You're So Fine
2-29 JOHNNY BURNETTE
I've Been Thinkin'
2-20 JOHNNY BURNETTE
Just A Little Too Much
2-21 BAKER KNIGHT
One Minute To One
2-25 BAKER KNIGHT
Sweeter Than You
2-18 BAKER KNIGHT
You'll Never Know What You're Missin'
2-22 JOHN D. LOUDERMILK
Half Breed
2-27 DON NELSON
So Long

MORE SONGS BY RICKY:
(JULY 1960)

12 SONGS
(In alphabetical order)

DISC# TRK# TITLE

3-12 AGAIN
3-06 AIN'T NOTHIN' BUT LOVE
3-02 BABY WON'T YOU PLEASE COME HOME
3-03 HERE I GO AGAIN
3-09 HEY PRETTY BABY
3-04 I'D CLIMB THE HIGHEST MOUNTAIN
3-11 I'M ALL THROUGH WITH YOU
3-01 I'M NOT AFRAID
3-05 MAKE BELIEVE
3-08 PROVING MY LOVE
3-10 TIME AFTER TIME
3-07 WHEN YOUR LOVE HAS GONE

MORE SONGS BY RICKY:
14 SONGWRITERS
(In alphabetical order)

DISC# TRK# SONGWRITER TITLE

3-03 JOHN BERRY/DON COVEY
Here I Go Again
3-04 LEW BROWN/SIDNEY CLARE
I'd Climb The Highest Mountain
3-09 DORSEY BURNETTE
Hey Pretty Baby
3-01 FELICE BRYANT
I'm Not Afraid
3-12 DORCAS COCHRAN/LIONEL NEWMAN
Again
3-06 BAKER KNIGHT
Ain't Nothin' But Love
3-11 BAKER KNIGHT
I'm All Through With You
3-08 BAKER KNIGHT
Proving My Love
3-05 K. MARIE
Make Believe
3-10 JULIE STYNE/SAMMY CAHN
Time After Time
3-07 ELINAR AARON SWAN
When Your Lover Has Gone
3-02 CHARLES WARFIELD/CLARENCE WILLIAMS
Baby Won't You Please Come Home

RICKY IS 21:
(May 1961)

12 SONGS
(In alphabetical order)

DISC# TRK# TITLE

3-21 BREAK MY CHAIN
3-22 DO YOU KNOW WHAT IT MEANS TO MISS NEW ORLEANS
3-26 EVERYBODY BUT ME
3-30 HELLO MARY LOU
3-23 I'LL MAKE BELIEVE
3-27 LUCKY STAR
3-19 MY ONE DESIRE
3-25 OH YEAH, I'M IN LOVE
3-29 STARS FELL ON ALABAMA
28 SURE FIRE BET
3-20 THAT WARM SUMMER NIGHT
3-24 TRAVELIN' MAN

RICKY IS 21:
13 SONGWRITERS
(In alphabetical order)

DISC# TRK# SONGWRITER TITLE

3-22 LOUIS ALTER/EDDIE DELANGE
Do You Know What It Means To Miss New Orleans
3-26 DAVE BURGESS
Everybody But Me
3-27 DAVE BURGESS
Lucky Star
3-19 DORSEY BURNETTE
My One Desire
3-21 JERRY FULLER
Break My Chain
3-24 JERRY FULLER
Travelin' Man
3-20 JERRY FULLER/W.C. SILVA
That Warm Summer Night
3-25 DORIS PAYNE/GREGORY CARROLL
Oh Yeah, I'm In Love
3-29 FRANK S. PERKINS/MITCHELL PARISH
Stars Fell On Alabama
3-28 GENE PITNEY
Sure Fire Bet
3-30 GENE PITNEY/GAYET MANGIARACINA
Hello Mary Lou
3-23 JOHNNY RIVERS
I'll Make Believe

SINGLES & EP TRACKS
(In alphabetical order)

DISC# TRK# TITLE

1957
(8 tracks)

4-01 A TEENAGER'S ROMANCE
4-05 BEE BOP BABY
4-06 HAVE I TOLD YOU LATELY THAT I LOVE YOU
4-04 HONEY ROCK (Barney Kessel)
4-02 I'M WALKIN'
4-07 STOOD UP (D. Dickerson/E. Herrold)
4-03 YOU'RE MY ONE AND ONLY
4-08 WAITIN' IN SCHOOL (J. Burnette/D. Burnette)

1958
(3 tracks)

4-09 BELIEVE WHAT YOU SAY (J. Burnette/D. Burnette)
4-11 I GOT A FEELIN'
4-10 MY BUCKET'S GOT A HOLE IN IT (Clarence Williams)

1959
(2 tracks)

4-12 I WANNA BE LOVED
4-13 MIGHTY GOOD

1960
(5 tracks)

4-18 MILK COW BLUES
4-15 RIGHT BY MY SIDE
4-16 YES, SIR THAT'S MY BABY
4-17 YOU ARE THE ONLY ONE
4-14 YOUNG EMOTIONS

EP 1960

4-19 GLORY TRAIN
4-20 I BOWED MY HEAD IN SHAME
4-21 IF YOU BELIEVE IT
4-22 MARCH WITH THE BAND OF THE LORD

1961
4-23 A WONDER LIKE YOU
4-24 EVERLOVIN'

1959
4-25 IT'S LATE (mono)

1960
4-26 HELLO MARY LOU

1961
4-27 THE FLEAS- SCRATCHIN'
4-28 THE FLEAS- TEARS
4-29 THE TROPHIES DOGGONE IT
4-30 THE TROPHIES DESIRE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good collection, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Ricky Nelson (Audio CD)
This collection includes all Ricky's UK chart hits up to 1961. The big surprise is the inclusion of 4 fun tracks by The Fleas & The Trophies which had passed me by. These were recorded by Ricky, Glen Campbell, Dave Burgess & Jerry Fuller - see 'Lost 60's Recordings'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 2 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Ricky Nelson (Audio CD)
This seems to be too good to be true at such a ridiculous price, so even though I've probably got most of if it I'm definitely going to order right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Received Thankyou, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Ricky Nelson (Audio CD)
Received in great condition, thankyou. This is a gift for
Christmas, so I look forward to hearing it, there is a good
variety of hits included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Ricky Nelson
6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Ricky Nelson by Ricky Nelson (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews