Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that everyone should read
This is a amazing novel. The central character, McMurphy, has been sent from prison to a mental institution - as he initially sees it, a big step up. No more working in the fields; he now has a cushy life sitting on a hospital ward. Until he realises that the straightforward rules of 'serve your time and be released' no longer apply: he is now imprisoned even further...
Published on 24 Aug 2007 by barenakedlady

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleased I read it, but...
This was a reading group choice, otherwise I am not sure I would have picked it off the shelves. The story, of Randall McMurphy's tussle with Nurse Ratched in the Oregon State Mental hospital, is well known from the film, and from what I can remember, the film stuck closely to the book.

The book starts slowly and I found it quite hard to get inot. While...
Published on 11 May 2012 by Elaine Daniels


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic that everyone should read, 24 Aug 2007
This is a amazing novel. The central character, McMurphy, has been sent from prison to a mental institution - as he initially sees it, a big step up. No more working in the fields; he now has a cushy life sitting on a hospital ward. Until he realises that the straightforward rules of 'serve your time and be released' no longer apply: he is now imprisoned even further and is at the mercy of hospital government in the form of the Big Nurse.

Although Kesey's novel is intended as a metaphor for the government's control of people's lives, the reason it works so well for me is because the characterisation is equally interesting in its own right. McMurphy's tense, carefully fought and long drawn out battle with the Big Nurse shows us a lot about his character and shows his growing sense of responsibility towards the other men. The freedom he tries so hard to give them is heavily undermined when he learns that they have entered the hospital voluntarily: his own sense of self worth has become closely tied to his efforts to increase theirs. To learn that the other "prisoners" are in fact there seemingly of their own free will is shocking to McMurphy, who cannot understand them.

McMurphy is the outcast, the rebel, the top dog of his own world, who initially starts by actively embracing the hospital, and ends by loathing it yet not quite managing to leave (despite opportunities). He cannot comprehend why the other men are there voluntarily, yet his desire to help them prevents him from leaving and makes him one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing example of American fiction., 26 Mar 2007
By 
BL Chapman-allan "studentknight" (London, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
'One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest' by Ken Keesy is one of the most prominent examples of American fiction in the 20th century. The novel is based, almost entirely on the interactions he had with mental patients while he was working at a mental institution. While Ken Keesy experimented exstensively with LSD, he became very interested in studying perception. This led to the production of 'One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest'.

'One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest' is the intense story of a group of mentally ill patients and their over bearing nurse. This Nurse has complete control over the hospital ward, and the patients are entirely beaten down and do not question her authority. McMurphy arrives - and everything changes. A rogue, gambling, criminal who subverts all authority. He challenges the Nurse's power, first as a game, then as a desperate attempt to prove to the patients that life is worth living. He lives with men, who feel that their lives are over, as they helplessly conform to the Nurse's whim. McMurphy, brings laughter, adventure, women and booze to the small hospital world; most importantly, he provides these men with a hero. They idolise him as a saviour and through their devotion force him to become one, as he gives his life in their defence. Keesy's novel is powerful, and uplifting, yet with a fatalistic note. We know it can not end happily as the Nurse is a symbol for the whole system of government and McMurphy is only one man. However, the whole novel resonates with power, despite the nihalistic undertones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the iconic works of America's 1960s counter-culture, 26 Sep 2008
By 
Trevor Coote "Trevor Coote" (Tahiti, French Polynesia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
`Granted I am the inmate of a mental asylum': the famous opening words of Oscar Matzerath in The Tin Drum could equally be applied to pretend-deaf and dumb Chief Bromden who narrates Ken Kesey's dark and sombre satire on the heavy-handed treatment of mental illness in modern America. Set in the golden days of electro-shock therapy, psychedelic drugs and frontal-lobe lobotomies, the giant half-Indian, tells the story of Pendleton Mental Institution, Oregon, ruled with an iron fist by Big Nurse, an allegorical Big Brother, and her carefully hand-picked team who control the soul-crushing routine of the brow-beaten inmates, cynically divided into Acutes, Chronics, Vegetables and Disturbed. However, the balance of power is sent into a tailspin by the arrival of Randle McMurphy, a hard-drinking, hard-living Irish-American, who takes up the cudgel on behalf of his oppressed companions as he attempts to break the hold of Big Nurse and, by extension, the all-powerful authorities. The charismatic McMurphy, who has faked insanity to escape a prison sentence, bears a close resemblance to the almost Christ-like Cool Hand Luke who similarly takes on the prison authorities in the eponymous film made five years after this novel was published. Like Luke, McMurphy is at times exasperated by the way that his colleagues so often fail to support him and leave him to fight back single-handed, but he retains a touching devotion to them nevertheless.
One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest can be read on many levels. Though essentially a satirical critique on mental institutions and their methods, it also demonstrates the oppressive role that authorities play in controlling and manipulating the lives of individuals in different circumstances, and is a sharp comment on the blurred distinction between sanity and insanity. Boisterous and brutal, it remains one of the iconic works of America's 1960s counter-culture and one of that country's most original and brilliant novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning - one of the best books I have ever read, 18 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This has planted itself firmly in my favourite books of all time. The narrative comes from the perspective of a patient on the ward of a mental asylum and offers the perspective of someone whose experience is often tinged by fear and delusion. This adds to what is a wonderful parable about life and conformity in society. The book is incredibly sad, but yet offers something of an optimistic message at the end. I can't recommend this book hearily enough. Inevitably many people might say 'I've seen the film'. The film was great in its own right but just reflected what is an astonishing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't praise this book enough, 9 May 2004
By 
C. Alford (Salisbury, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is my favourite book. I'm sorry but the film was good, but it doesn't even nearly compare with this masterpiece. There are so many themes and ideas in this book it'll leave you thinking about it for weeks after you've finished. It's incredibly funny, but also heartbraking at the same time. All of the characters are beautifully crafted, especially Chief, the narrator. Kesey's prose, although takes a while to get used to, soars off the page adding to the magic this book creates.
I cannot recommend this book highly enough, just read it and you'll understand what i'm talking about
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Classic, 6 Sep 2004
By 
Stracs "Stracs" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This book is brilliant. A true modern classic. The story of the inmates of a mental insitution is gripping and incredibly moving. The use of the apparently deaf and dumb "Chief" as narrator is a stroke of genius in my view. It means that you see the story through both the eyes of an inmate, but someone who is also removed through most of the book, and so provides a wonderful perspective on the other characters. All of the characters are very well written and it is easy to empathise with them all.
The book describes wonderfully the way in which one man can make a difference in their own world and changes the lives of those around them if only they are prepared to stand up and be counted. However, it also describes humanity wonderfully because in the end the lone voice is cut down as so often happens. The book, overall, is a very astute study of mankind and the way we relate to each other. A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that everyone should read, 30 Nov 2009
By 
noc "noc" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This is an outstanding book - truly inspiring and beautifully written. Every sentence is important. The book as a whole is full of pithy observations, brilliant characterisation and a chilling portrayal of how much individual human beings are held in thrall to a powerful and seemingly unstoppable 'machine' and imprisoned by the very system that is supposedly taking care of them. But the machine is made up of other people; our own equals, and the main thing, as Kesey points out so eloquently, is to maintain and cherish our individuality and always to think for ourselves.

This book is moving, funny, heart-wrenching, enraging, terrifying and consoling all at once. In my view it stands as a towering achievement in literature and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a good read, a great story and a book that will really make you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 April 2003
One Flew Over The Cuckoos Nest is a truly fascinating book that kept me gripped all the way through. Set in a mental home, the patients take it upon themsleves to uprise and rebel with the help of their new friend Randle P McMurphy. It is written from the viewpoint of Chief Bromden, and Indian patient at the home.. A truly moving tale, by a masterful writer.
BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put simply; a great book., 21 Jan 2004
There's no need for me to go on too long about this book, because my point is quite simple; this is a great book.
What most people find surprising, having seen the film version of 'One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest', is that the book's narrator is Chief Bromden, the big American Indian fella. From such a narrative perspective, at times it's uncertain how much of what we are told we can genuinely believe, but this itself adds to the experience and depiction of the institute and Bromden's state of mind. Bromden's experience of the institute is one of 'machines' and 'fog', which is both scary and intruiging.
The author, Ken Kesey, has created a series of strong, believable characters, particularly Nurse Ratched, McMurphy, and Billy Bibbet, all of which are difficult to forget, and trigger different emotional responses. This is one of the few books that I have read that I closed and thought 'bloody hell, that was good.'
For old and young readers alike, I can't recommend this book enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very American Novel, 7 Oct 2008
By 
P. G. Harris - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The story is well known. Patients and staff in a mental institution live under the controlling regime of Nurse Ratched. Into this stable but joyless society is thrown Lord of Misrule, McMurphy. Initially he sees being in a mental institution as being an easy option compared to incarceration on a work farm, but as the book goes on he rebels in inreasingly extreme fashion against Nurse Ratched and against his fellow patients' retreat from life.

My copy had a quote from the New York Times Review of Books on the cover "A glittering parable of good and evil" which struck me as a very strange description. Yes Nurse Ratched is a figure of evil, particularly in her manipulation of Billy, but is McMurphy good? I would describe it as a parable of power, about the clash between Ratched's controlling power and McMurphy's anarchic, charismatic power. It is a parable of manipulation, both McMurphy and Nurse Ratched are in their own ways manipulative. It is a parable of rebellion and revolution. McMurphy is a revolutionary striving to overturn Ratched's totalitarian state, but would anybody seriously want to live in a world run by McMurphy. He is James Dean "What are you rebelling against?" "What have you got".

Fundamentally though this is a novel which speaks greatly about America today which in so many ways is the product of the 60s. This is a novel of a counter culture which was not so much about overturning American life, but about reaffirming it. McMurphy is all about liberty and the pursuit of happiness. He is about individuality, not about collectivism. Just maybe the excesses of Wall St today are the society established by Mc Murphy.

Enormously thought provoking - recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews