Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of songs, but what about sound quality
There are so many cheap 'needle drop' vinyl rip cds from out of copy write recordings out there, so I thought here we go again, but it was very cheap, eleven albums for very little money. So I thought give it a go, and if it sounded dreadful at least I would get the satisfaction of writing a scathing review.
However I was amazed, the sound quality is superb, Miss...
Published 12 months ago by Ra Rising

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No album sleeves
No individual record sleeves for each album which would have been the requirement for any Doris Day fan who collects her records
Published 10 months ago by NEIL STRANGE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of songs, but what about sound quality, 3 Sep 2013
By 
Ra Rising (BOURNEMOUTH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven Classic Albums [Audio CD] Doris Day (Audio CD)
There are so many cheap 'needle drop' vinyl rip cds from out of copy write recordings out there, so I thought here we go again, but it was very cheap, eleven albums for very little money. So I thought give it a go, and if it sounded dreadful at least I would get the satisfaction of writing a scathing review.
However I was amazed, the sound quality is superb, Miss Days voice has such presence and sparkle.
I have a couple of the albums in this set on original Columbia cds, so was able to do an A-B comparison, and dare I say it the Real Gone Music versions have the edge!
Only downside is the lack of information on the songs, no mention of other singers she duets with on some tracks.
No fancy artwork, they have put all the time and effort into the recordings, and that's what really counts.
I feel quite confident in ordering other titles in this series, which I am sure will be of equal quality.
So cast away all doubts, order your copy, satisfaction guaranteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listing-What Can I Say After I Say I'm Sorry ?, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eleven Classic Albums [Audio CD] Doris Day (Audio CD)
Eleven Classic Albums with one Hundred tracks on four CDs for the price of just one CD means you get an awful lot for not a lot of money.

The albums are
"You're My Thrill (1949)",
"Tea For Two (1950)",
"Lullaby Of Broadway (1951)",
"Young Man With The Horn (With Harry James)(1950)",
"Day By Day (1956)",
"On Moonlight Bay (1951)",
"I'll See You In My Dreams (1951)",
"ByThe Light Of The Silvery Moon (1953)",
"Calamity Jane (With Howard Keel)(1953)",
"Young At Heart (1954) and
"Love Me Or Leave Me (1955)".

There is a sister album volume two which has another fabulous collection.

Here is a link to it.
Eight Classic Albums: Volume 2

The Real Gone Jazz label has garnered some really good reviews for sound quality.
The digitally enhanced sound is a good indicator but for a proper review I really suggest you read other, more knowledgeable people's reviews.

For example Mr D Score has said
".I've collected several "Real Gone" 4 CD sets and have never been disappointed with the sound quality, but on some Stan Kenton 4 CD sets I think they have stretched a bit too far and tried to squeeze 8 albums onto 4 CDs, when the original albums are often 50 minutes or more. The "Real Gone" albums are always between 60 and 80 minutes, but the albums they are putting on sometimes only have a little more than half of the original album."

So bear that in mind.
Thanks Mr Score.

The collection is on 4 CDs encased in a double wide jewel case. Enhanced to boot makes this a tempting buy.
Amazon, at the time of writing, has not provided a track list.
So this may be of interest and use?

As always if you see any typos add a note and I will correct and credit you with the correction- just add a comment......

The Tracks over the 4 CDs are

Track List:
[Disc 1]
You're My Thrill
01 YOU'RE MY THRILL
02 BEWITCHED, BOTHERED AND BEWILDERED
03 I'M CONFESSIN'
04 SOMETIMES I'M HAPPY
05 YOU GO TO MY HEAD
06 I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT TIME IT WAS
07 WHEN YOUR LOVER HAS GONE
08 THAT OLD FEELING
Tea For Two
09 CRAZY RHYTHM
10 HERE IN MY ARMS
11 I KNOW THAT YOU KNOW
12 I WANT TO BE HAPPY
13 DO DO DO
14 I ONLY HAVE EYES FOR YOU
15 OH ME, OH MY, OH YOU
16 TEA FOR TWO
Lullaby Of Broadway
17 LULLABY OF BROADWAY
18 FINE AND DANDY
19 IN A SHANTY IN OLD SHANTY TOWN
20 SOMEBODY LOVES ME
21 JUST ONE OF THOSE THINGS
22 YOU'RE GETTING TO BE A HABIT WITH ME
23 I LOVE THE WAY YOU SAY GOODNIGHT
24 PLEASE DON'T TALK ABOUT ME WHEN I'M GONE

[Disc 2]
Young Man With The Horn
(with Harry James)
01 I MAY BE WRONG (BUT I THINK YOU'RE WONDERFUL)
02 THE MAN I LOVE
03 THE VERY THOUGHT OF YOU
04 PRETTY BABY
05 MELANCHOLY RHAPSODY
06 WOULD I LOVE YOU
07 TOO MARVELOUS FOR WORDS
08 GET HAPPY
09 I ONLY HAVE EYES FOR YOU
10 LIMEHOUSE BLUES
11 WITH A SONG IN MY HEART
12 LULLABY OF BROADWAY
Day By Day
13 THE SONG IS YOU
14 HELLO, MY LOVER, GOODBYE
15 BUT NOT FOR ME
16 I REMEMBER YOU
17 I HADN'T ANYONE TILL YOU
18 BUT BEAUTIFUL
19 AUTUMN LEAVES
20 DON'T TAKE YOUR LOVE FROM ME
21 THERE WILL NEVER BE ANOTHER YOU
22 GONE WITH THE WIND
23 THE GYPSY IN MY SOUL
24 DAY BY DAY

[Disc 3]
On Moonlight Bay
01 MOONLIGHT BAY
02 TILL WE MEET AGAIN
03 LOVE YA
04 CHRISTMAS STORY
05 I'M FOREVER BLOWING BUBBLES
06 CUDDLE UP CLOSER
07 EVERY LITTLE MOVEMENT (HAS A MEANING ALL IT'S OW
08 TELL ME
I'll See You In My Dreams
09 AIN'T WE GOT FUN
10 THE ONE I LOVE (BELONGS TO SOMEBODY ELSE)
11 I WISH I HAD A GIRL
12 IT HAD TO BE YOU
13 NOBODY'S SWEETHEART
14 MY BUDDY
15 MAKIN' WHOOPEE
16 I'LL SEE YOU IN MY DREAMS
By The Light Of The Silvery Moon
17 BY THE LIGHT OF THE SILVERY MOON
18 YOUR EYES HAVE TOLD ME SO
19 JUST ONE GIRL
20 AIN'T WE GOT FUN
21 IF YOU WERE THE ONLY GIRL
22 BE MY LITTLE BABY BUMBLE BEE
23 I'LL FORGET YOU
24 KING CHANTICLEER

[Disc 4]
Calamity Jane
(with Howard Keel)
01 THE DEADWOOD STAGE
02 I CAN DO WITHOUT YOU
03 THE BLACK HILLS OF DAKOTA
04 JUST BLEW IN FROM WINDY CITY
05 A WOMEN'S TOUCH
06 HIGHER THAN A HAWK (DEEPER THAN A WELL)
07 'TIS HARRY I'M PLANNIN' TO MARRY
08 SECRET LOVE
Young At Heart
09 TILL MY LOVE COMES TO ME
10 READY, WILLING & ABLE
11 HOLD ME IN YOUR ARMS
12 JUST ONE OF THOSE THINGS
13 THERE'S A RISING MOON
14 YOU MY LOVE
Love Me Or Leave Me
15 OVERTURE
16 IT ALL DEPENDS ON YOU
17 YOU MADE ME LOVE YOU (I DIDN'T WANT TO DO IT)
18 STAY ON THE RIGHT SIDE, SISTER
19 EVERYBODY LOVES MY BABY (BUT MY BABY DON'T LOVE
20 MEAN TO ME
21 SAM, THE OLD ACCORDIAN MAN
22 SHAKING THE BLUES AWAY
23 WHAT CAN I SAY AFTER I SAY I'M SORRY - I CRIED F
24 I'LL NEVER STOP LOVING YOU
25 NEVER LOOK BACK
26 AT SUNDOWN
27 LOVE ME OR LEAVE ME
28 FINALE
29 MY GUY GLENN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eleven classic albums. Doris Day, 15 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven Classic Albums [Audio CD] Doris Day (Audio CD)
Eleven classic albums. Doris D

Very good. Her style is special. My expertations was satisfied..The way she sings, make one listening close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have Collection., 5 May 2014
By 
Dr. C. S. Vasta (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven Classic Albums [Audio CD] Doris Day (Audio CD)
Great collection for every Doris Day fan.
I can highly recommend these albums,both from the quality and the content of same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good buy., 5 Mar 2014
By 
J. M. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven Classic Albums [Audio CD] Doris Day (Audio CD)
A very good selection of albums which have been enhanced, ( Perhaps over enhanced in some cases) The complete list of songs from "Love me or leave me", which are from the film sound track , are just what I wanted. Delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this., 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven Classic Albums [Audio CD] Doris Day (Audio CD)
I'd long forgotten what a great voice Doris Day had. A wide selection of songs here reflecting an era of lyrics no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doris Day 11 Classic albums - vol. 1., 16 Nov 2013
By 
J. Mcdonald "Yelochre" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven Classic Albums [Audio CD] Doris Day (Audio CD)
At time of writing, this 4CD set is quite a bargain; there are indeed eleven LPs presented here, with no tracks missing.

The set is comprised of the first nine Columbia albums - 10inch LP s - to feature Day in her own right; almost all are soundtrack recordings from films with the exception of "You're My Thrill", her first solo studio recording - she had, of course, been a band vocalist with Les Brown prior to this.
The other two albums here are the longer 12inch format with "Love Me or Leave Me" being yet another soundtrack recording. This is almost her complete recorded output from 1949-55.
These are transfers of original vinyl records with minimal re-mastering - only the owners of the original material could truly enhance the sound any further - but the albums used here have been treated with care without any obvious distortion or excessive processing and the sound quality is very good, certainly as good as listening to an LP of this vintage.

A very recommendable collection, worth picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eleven terrific LP's for just a few pounds!, 25 Jun 2014
By 
This review is from: Eleven Classic Albums [Audio CD] Doris Day (Audio CD)
Terrific to be able to purchase these long deleted LP's once again after all these years
It goes without saying that the quality of Doris Day's voice is amazing of course but what wonderful arrangements she had and superb bandleaders she worked with including Harry James (a personal favourite) Les Brown and Billy May
I cannot recommend this collection highly enough and will certainly be investing in the 2nd volume very SOON
If you don't know Miss Day's work where have you been (?) and if you're already a fan why not re-visit some classic LP's without the scratches!
The transfers to CD are brilliant and the sound quality for a budget prized collection is AMAZING
Hope you will enjoy this as much as I am doing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love everything she does, 14 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven Classic Albums [Audio CD] Doris Day (Audio CD)
Love everything she does. Doris never hits a dud note. The quality of the recordings are excellent as is the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eleven Classic Albums [Audio CD] Doris Day (Audio CD)
Fantastic value for eleven albums. The first albums recorded by Doris Day show her at her best, both on film and in the studio. Great entertainment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eleven Classic Albums [Audio CD] Doris Day
Eleven Classic Albums [Audio CD] Doris Day by Doris Day (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews