Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gentle guide to Christian prayer, 19 Dec 2005
By A Customer
With gentleness, common sense and a touch of humour (things I don't necessarily associate with "how to" books on prayer!) John Pritchard gives an explanation of prayer, and guide to praying, as a Christian.
Ideal for somone who is new to faith, or returning to faith in mid life, but it also has some ideas and suggestions (especially in the later more advanced sections) which any Christian wanting to deepen their prayer life will find helpful.
Yes, it is a specifically Christian book, from a middle of the road Anglican perspective - but if that's what you are looking for do try this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on prayer, 21 Mar 2009
By 
Dominic Barrington "Dominic B" (Kettering, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
John Pritchard's book on prayer is a real gem. An honest, simple, but profound guide to prayer, accessible to absolutely anyone. Short chapters cover many different traditions and styles of prayer, and provide reassuring advice that reminds the reader that s/he is not alone when facing many of the challenges that attempts to pray can bring. It would be impossible to commend this book to highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth reading, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. J. E. Somerville (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a real "How To" book, not a study in the theology of prayer. Whether you are a beginner or experienced in praying, this book will teach you how to go further. I'm working my way through it steadily and trying to put things into practice as I go. So far, it's been very helpfull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Very Good, 1 Jan 2011
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I pirchased this book after a recommendation form a friend, it is written in a relaxed style but is packed with helpful ways into prayer. I personally find like many do that pray can be hard but How To Pray opens up so many different ways to actually pray.

A really good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very practical, down-to-earth introduction to prayer, 23 Oct 2010
I loved this book. I read it quickly first time and then had to go back and let the widsom of it just sink it as you can so easily miss it the first time!! It is full of practical ideas and makes prayer as natural a thing to do as breathing!! Even if you were not into prayer in the formal sense of the word, you would find something here to interest you. It really is a little powerhouse of a book and shows what a life-changing and potentially explosive thing prayer can be!!! Handle with care!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical is correct, 27 Mar 2011
By 
R. Fowkes "Roger Fowkes" (Kettering, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Pray (Paperback)
It may be better than nothing, for physical fitness, to spend just one hour a week at a gym, and the rest of the week sedentary and indolent. It will be much better, however, if you incorporate a fitness programme into your everyday life. So it is with spiritual fitness. Church attendance is a beginning, immeasurably enhanced by a daily prayer life. So what is prayer? I think that our notions are often conditioned by the practicalities we learned as children (kneel down, hands together, close your eyes), and if we want a definition Pritchard only gets round to one on page 11: "Prayer, then, is simply being present to the presence of God." But it is the process that is more important than this, and by the time I had got to Chapter 7, How to Pray Through the Day, I felt that I had reached the kernel of the book. Reading on and I felt that there was more than one kernel, if thats possible, because prayer is presented here as essentially functional and practical, as the subtitle states. "It leads into life, not away from it" (p15). Essentially, this book is suffused with a relaxed tone. On page 38, for instance, Pritchard extends a helping hand to those who may feel somewhat disheartened, and unable to conceive of themselves following his thorough guidance. The relationship with God is instead emphasised, formality or soleminity not being necessary in this at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how to pray, 5 Jun 2012
By 
Michaela M. Wilson "traveller" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Pray (Paperback)
A Lovely book. I am finding it very easy to follow and inspirational as well. I would highly recommend this book to all have have trouble praying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars recommendation, 21 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Pray (Paperback)
I would recommend this book without any reservation - the most helpful and reassuring book I have read on its subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC...., 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Pray (Paperback)
A wonderful book for everyone wanting to learn to pray. It begins with the beginner who is perhaps praying for the first time to the more experienced Christian who has been praying for years. Wherever one comes along the spectrum there is something in this book for them. A must read for anyone who journeys with those who pray, or just wants wants some new ideas because prayer has become a bit sameish.....practical, fun and a lot more besides
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prayer for beginners, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Pray (Paperback)
Yep I found it difficult to pray and meditate but this book gave me practical pointers to understand what prayer is all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Pray: A practical handbook
5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews