Customer Reviews


158 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nix 8 inch photo frame X08D
We got this photo frame yesterday. We were a bit nervous about buying this model over the X08C because no one else had reviewed this model and the older model was still being sold for around twice the price. Nothing on the manufacturers website indicated the D has lost any features since the update.

The instructions are very easy to follow and we placed some...
Published on 27 Aug 2012 by Matthew

versus
56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, but a bit plasticky, and random doesn't work
Just received this today. Have played around with it. Picture quality/resolution is pretty good. The frame surround is cheap looking, which spoils the look. It certainly doesn't look like a traditional picture frame!! Plus, if you're using a usb stick rather than a sd card it sticks out the side. Poor design.

As with many of these types of products, they can't...
Published on 31 Aug 2012 by ghobbsie


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nix 8 inch photo frame X08D, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIX 8 Inch Digital Photo Frame. Motion Sensor turns frame ON/OFF automatically when it senses you nearby. Hi-Res 800 x 600 pixels - X08D latest edition (Electronics)
We got this photo frame yesterday. We were a bit nervous about buying this model over the X08C because no one else had reviewed this model and the older model was still being sold for around twice the price. Nothing on the manufacturers website indicated the D has lost any features since the update.

The instructions are very easy to follow and we placed some pictures on a USB stick for testing (around 2gb worth). The frame recognised them instantly and after a pause of about 5 seconds started playing the pictures in a slide show. Our camera is 12 megapixels but the photo size doesn't cause any problems. The screen shows the photos clearly enough. We haven't had a frame before so cannot compare to anything but there are plenty of options for slide shows and videos if you want to fiddle. It will also play music along with the slide show but I haven't tried this yet.

The main feature for us, is the auto detection and this works well. You can set the time intervals yourself and it picks you up immediately. We positioned the frame about 3m from our door and the frame 'saw' us as we entered. The frame doesn't appear to lag to the display of the first picture, it is quiet immediate.

Would recommend this product at £29.99 but not sure it would be worth the older model price of £60. If it had been any more expensive we wouldn't have given it 5 stars because it is a little bit plasticy to cost any more.

Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good if it works, but beware Amazon return/refund policy, 9 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIX 8 Inch Digital Photo Frame. Motion Sensor turns frame ON/OFF automatically when it senses you nearby. Hi-Res 800 x 600 pixels - X08D latest edition (Electronics)
Well we bought two of these. One works fine and must say we're very pleased with the product. Motion detection works really well and the picture quality seems really good.

Unfortunately the second is faulty and after displaying around 5-6 photos now no longer powers up. A word or warning to potential customers - we purchased this from CT Nix (who delivered promptly), but the order was "fulfilled by Amazon". As a result, Amazon are only offering us a refund on the item, not a replacement. Given that the price for the item has risen from £30 to £50, if we want to replace the item (which we do as it was a gift for someone else) we would end up £20 out of pocket. This even though the seller clearly still has stock of the item and could send out a replacement. Will be trying our luck with the manufacturers to see if they can do anything instead.

A case of caveat emptor, but really a bit rubbish of Amazon really!

UPDATE 19/09/12 - Just to say I've been in touch with the manufacturers (who are actually the sellers via Amazon) and have to say that their customer service has been excellent. Replacement frame sent out straight away with no quibble, and return costs for the faulty one refunded. The icing on the cake is that they've even offered to refund me the full cost of one of the frames by way of apology. Still miffed at Amazon's attitude (who said there was no point in contacting the seller directly), but a thumbs up for CT. New frame working fine and now happily installed at my parents-in-law's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reclaim your photos, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Reviewify.co.uk "Mark" (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIX 8 Inch Digital Photo Frame. Motion Sensor turns frame ON/OFF automatically when it senses you nearby. Hi-Res 800 x 600 pixels - X08D latest edition (Electronics)
Length:: 2:28 Mins

NIX X08D reviewed.

This was purchased as a present for someone who doesn't have access to internet and therefore doesn't get to see many photos friends and family post online.

It's very easy to setup, just pop an SD card or USB stick loaded with photos in and the frame immediately recognized the files and displayed them.

Pictures look great, really crisp and clear. Menu gives you a number of options, the most useful one being the photo display time. By default photos changed every 3 seconds, which was fine when testing it, but felt far too quick. For general use having it change once an hour felt about right.

Great digital photo frame, certainly makes for a brilliant present for those who want to see the photo on something other than a PC/tablet/mobile and actually display them, like we used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, but a bit plasticky, and random doesn't work, 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIX 8 Inch Digital Photo Frame. Motion Sensor turns frame ON/OFF automatically when it senses you nearby. Hi-Res 800 x 600 pixels - X08D latest edition (Electronics)
Just received this today. Have played around with it. Picture quality/resolution is pretty good. The frame surround is cheap looking, which spoils the look. It certainly doesn't look like a traditional picture frame!! Plus, if you're using a usb stick rather than a sd card it sticks out the side. Poor design.

As with many of these types of products, they can't quite get the software right. The menus are easy enough to follow, but what's driving me nuts with it is that the 'random' photo sequence doesn't seem to work. It was working once, but now it isn't!! It's probably the way I've organised my photos/folders on the usb stick. But honestly, it shouldn't be this difficult. It should JUST WORK!!!

I bought this for £29.99. I notice it's now gone up to £49.99. At my price I think it's worth it, even though it looks cheap. At the new price I would possibly think twice.

UPDATE 7/9/12 - I've been in contact with Nix (very helpful service via email) and have now resolved my problems with the random photo sequence. Apparently it's not designed to be purely random but instead it randomly chooses a date, then shows a few photos from that date, before moving on to another date. I'm not sure yet, but this actually might be quite a good way of displaying the photos, rather than showing them in a completely random order. It's also affected by the way you organise your photo folders on the memory card/stick. All a bit confusing. No information on this in the manual.

I've noticed since using the frame for a while now that the viewing angle is not brilliant. But, I guess from a budget frame like this what more would I expect.

So, overall, not bad for £30. If I had to pay £50 I would look at other models/makes first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Digital Frame, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIX 8 Inch Digital Photo Frame. Motion Sensor turns frame ON/OFF automatically when it senses you nearby. Hi-Res 800 x 600 pixels - X08D latest edition (Electronics)
Its £30 cheaper that X08C, but you don't get any internal memory or copy features, i.e. if you wanted to copy off usb pen to sd card. The card is just about hidden at the side, but a usb pen would stick out at the side.
Colours are very good and the viewing angles are excellent. We have it on the coffee table and it looks great from all over the front room.

Very good value for money.

Cheers

GC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good After Service, 4 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: NIX 8 Inch Digital Photo Frame. Motion Sensor turns frame ON/OFF automatically when it senses you nearby. Hi-Res 800 x 600 pixels - X08D latest edition (Electronics)
Bought this frame so we can view old photos.Easy to set up and use. Would recommend it.Value for money. Does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIX 8 Inch Digital Photo Frame. Motion Sensor turns frame ON/OFF automatically when it senses you nearby. Hi-Res 800 x 600 pixels - X08D latest edition (Electronics)
Great picture quality, easy to use, great features. Only criticism would be the remote is a bit fiddly and has to be directly in front of the sensor to work.

Very please with this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nix X08D 8 inch Hu-Motion Digital Photo Frame, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIX 8 Inch Digital Photo Frame. Motion Sensor turns frame ON/OFF automatically when it senses you nearby. Hi-Res 800 x 600 pixels - X08D latest edition (Electronics)
This was purchased for photos only, and from that point of view, a pretty good product. I've not tried the video or music options.

In brief:

Pros
The display is bright and sharp, with good colours
The black "crackle" effect frame looks surprisingly attractive, but think small computer screen rather than a traditional picture frame
The motion-sensing power down mode works well
Can be placed in landscape or portrait format (pictures auto-rotate)
Supports both SD and SDHC cards
Includes a small remote control

Cons
Can't handle images greater that 4Mb in size

In detail:

Before buying, I was concerned about the resolution - it's advertised as "high resolution" which is certainly not how I'd describe 800 x 600 pixels, but because of the fairly small size of the screen, it has a relatively high pixel density - 50% higher than a typical computer screen - and so pictures actually look sharp (assuming they were sharp in the first place!).

There is a limit on image size of about 4Mb - larger than this and the image doesn't get shown. If your images are bigger than this then you'll need to use an image processing program (there are many - I use Converseen) to shrink them. As the screen is 800 x 600 pixels, there isn't much point in having images a whole lot bigger than this (unless you intend using the zoom feature) - they take up more space and take longer to load.

I bought this for an elderly relative who has no computer or other way of viewing pictures we've taken. I spend some time experimenting to get the best results. Here's what I found...

As with any photo frame, digital or otherwise, there's the issue of orientation - how best to fit the photo to the frame. Photos are usually not square, being either wider than high (landscape format) or higher than wide (portrait format). You can stand the Nix frame in landscape or portrait format, and it will automatically rotate the image to show it upright. Photos will look best however - filling more of the frame - if their format matches the orientation of the frame (both frame and picture landscape, or both portrait). If they are different, then the image will shrink to fit, and there will be a black unused area above and below (frame portrait showing a landscape image) or on either side (frame landscape showing a portrait image).

This is OK, and unavoidable if you have a collection of mixed format pictures (doesn't everyone?) But obviously the best way to show pictures is when the format of the frame and the image match, this way it uses more of the display so the picture is bigger. It would be cool if the frame had a setting to do this ("Only show images when orientation matches") then you could have the frame one way, say landscape, and see a landscape pictures slide-show, and then turn it around and see all the portrait pictures. Unfortunately it isn't this smart! However, you can do something similar manually.

You can organize images on the card into folders. I set up separate "landscape" and "portrait" folders and filled them according to the format of the image. By default, the slide-show feature of the frame will show all images on the card regardless of what folders they are in. However, if you go into a specific folder (press return twice on the remote, select Files, select a folder (highlight and press OK) and then select an image in the folder, the slide-show will start on that image and only show images from that folder. In this way you can manually show just landscape or portrait format pictures, and orientate the frame to match.

There are 3 Photo modes (in Settings) - auto-fit, optimal and full:
"auto-fit" is what is described above, where the image shrinks to fit if there is a format mismatch.
"optimal" will fill the frame rather than shrinking when there is a format mismatch, by chopping off the top or sides.
"full" stretches the image to fill the frame - unlike the other two options, this destroys the aspect ratio and distorts the picture.

The first option is likely to be the only one you'd want to use.

The motion-sensor works well, and can be set to power-down after 5, 10 30 or 60 minutes. The frame draws a negligible 2W when in standby (measured on a power meter), and even when on, barely 4W, so power isn't really an issue. This feature isn't so important for saving electricity, but will probably extend the lifetime of the display by not being on all the time.

So that's it - I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprised and pleased, 5 Oct 2013
By 
K. Burns - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIX 8 Inch Digital Photo Frame. Motion Sensor turns frame ON/OFF automatically when it senses you nearby. Hi-Res 800 x 600 pixels - X08D latest edition (Electronics)
I've bought this for my Mother's birthday and am very pleased with my choice. Clear, easy instructions, very clear screen and a list if useful features built in: picture rotate, auto on/off sensor, very easy setup.

If you choose to use a USB drive then invest in a mini one as a 'normal' sized one will protude out of the size, spoiling the aesthetic. Personally I would use this option as it more universal than the SD Card option, increasing the convenience.

As to the aesthetic: very good. The bezel could be smaller, but I can understand the decision to use the size (and a choice of colours / finishes would be an improvement: wood / glass / etc). The front is uncluttered leaving your attention focussed on the images, which is the whole point.

Would I recommend this? Yes. You can plug it in, plug in a USB card, turn it on and go. That's it. This kind of ease of use is fundamental to this kind of product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent photo frame, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NIX 8 Inch Digital Photo Frame. Motion Sensor turns frame ON/OFF automatically when it senses you nearby. Hi-Res 800 x 600 pixels - X08D latest edition (Electronics)
We originally ordered the earlier version of this digital photo frame and it developed a fault. I got around to doing something about reporting the fault just before Christmas by emailing nix customer service and they instantly replied and decided to replace the photo frame for us and sent us this newer edition, despite being around the new year it was here within a week. The service is excellent and the photo frame is brilliant, the motion sensor is a brilliant idea as most other photo frames are on constantly so you miss most of the photos or you forget to turn them on. We have already purchased another one of these photo frames as a gift for someone else and would certainly recommend them to anyone looking to buy a digital frame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews