Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Jazz Quartet (Audio CD)
At first, I do not give to this box five stars because one cd ("The Sheriff") is of secondary importance in the MJQ's discography, even though it has some interesting outcomes (such as the treatment of Villa Lobos' "Bachianas Brasileiras"). Each of the other four records deserves five stars. "Third Stream Music" and "The MJQ & Orchestra" show the way in which John Lewis, leader of the legendary quartet, tried to insert in jazz some ideas taken from contemporary classical music. Important roles in these records are taken by the composer Gunther Schuller and by Jimmy Giuffre and his trio. On the contrary, "Pyramid" and "Lonely Woman" deal with the usual work of the quartet: strong sense of the blues, standards, a little bit of baroque and solos at high level. There are at least two masterpieces: the dramatic "Lonely Woman" (this is the best interpretation ever made of the tune, except the one of its author, Ornette Coleman) and the mournful "Django". In this boxset each album reproduces the original cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The MJQ, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Jazz Quartet (Audio CD)
This is an interesting collection in the main but, of the five early albums it covers, I have to admit to a strong dislike of numbers 2 & 3. Worse, I would question the wisdom of the group in signing up for them. Albums 1, 4 & 5 are typical MJQ - sensitive, thoughtful and very relaxed/relaxing. Much of the lead work is shared, as always, by Milt Jackson and John Lewis (in, roughly, that order) and their mastery of it, in their inimitable style, is beyond question or doubt. But cd's 2 & 3 seemed to be focused on the compositions of some German fellow (who's music is so memorable, I've forgotten his name!) the style for which is/was and remains completely at odds with that I associate with the MJQ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great set, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Jazz Quartet (Audio CD)
vey pleased with this package, it combines all the best of MJQ in an easy to use set
each disc packaged in a minature original sleeve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MJQ 5 CD box set, 29 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Jazz Quartet (Audio CD)
I must say that I am very pleased with this set, the recordings are good, and although this is not true stereo, the effect is an improvement over the mono recordings. The music is also excellent, the MJQ at their best. Mike T.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Jazz Quartet (Audio CD)
I love the opportunity that digital has made lots of the older albums re-issues accessible in their old sleeve formats. This collection shows one of the seminal jazz groups of the 60's really hitting their stride
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Vibes, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Jazz Quartet (Audio CD)
Terrific value for money. Great playing from a group that made Jazz accessible and popular in the 50s and early sixties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The MJQ, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Jazz Quartet (Audio CD)
Really enjoyed listening to these discs except for the one with the full orchestra which I did not think worked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All of the best, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Ian Scott (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Jazz Quartet (Audio CD)
I have always been a great fan of the MJQ ad this set brings most of their finest recordings together although I do miss their take on the music of the great musicals such as my fair lady
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modern Jazz Quartet
Modern Jazz Quartet by Original Album Series (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews