Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm marching
the bargain of the century.......3 CDs packed with classic tracks, most I had, but some new to me, and a couple of cover I had never heard, and...... and a lot of old old soul, that I had not played in a long time, a great value for money collection, marked down for lack of liner notes, I always want to know more info about what I'm listening too
Published on 15 Mar. 2013 by Stubby St.George

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Tracks
Covers a wide span and era of music but the sound track needs polishing; or "remastering" as very dull and quiet. Otherwise there's a good selection of Soul and R&B on here that'll bring back many memories.
Published 18 months ago by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm marching, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March of the Mods (Audio CD)
the bargain of the century.......3 CDs packed with classic tracks, most I had, but some new to me, and a couple of cover I had never heard, and...... and a lot of old old soul, that I had not played in a long time, a great value for money collection, marked down for lack of liner notes, I always want to know more info about what I'm listening too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Tracks, 21 Dec. 2013
By 
Mike (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March of the Mods (Audio CD)
Covers a wide span and era of music but the sound track needs polishing; or "remastering" as very dull and quiet. Otherwise there's a good selection of Soul and R&B on here that'll bring back many memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VFM, 21 April 2013
This review is from: March of the Mods (Audio CD)
The value-for-money March of the Mods - named after the big band Joe Loss Orchestra hit of 1964 - is a 3CD 60 track collection of 1950s and 1960s soul and R&B tunes from Go Entertainment that seeks to connect two distinct musical movements with similar ethos: Mod and Northern Soul. Despite its crude presentation, occasionally poor sound reproduction, and the fact that it bears an uncannily similar track-listing to the 50 track In The Beginning: The Mod Story, it does it pretty well. Some of the choices I already know and love, such as Barrett Strong's'Money', Bo Diddley's 'I'm A Man', and John Lee Hooker's 'Boom Boom'. Other selections - like 'Peppermint Twist' by one hit wonders Joey Dee &the Starliters and The Marathons 'Peanut Butter` - were new and exciting to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice., 25 Feb. 2015
By 
D. Bull "Bully." (West Midlands, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March of the Mods (Audio CD)
Good collection of songs that I've enjoyed. Any quibbles? Not much in the way of information a minor point but would have given 5 stars otherwise. Quick and efficient service as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More out-of-copyright stuff!, 15 Feb. 2013
This review is from: March of the Mods (Audio CD)
Yet another ridiculously cheap way of getting the best pop music ever made.

60 fabulous pre-62 sounds that cover blues, ska, soul, dance craze hits and pop, many of which would become more famous in British hands ('Shout' - Lulu, 'A Certain Girl' - The Yardbirds, 'You Better Move On' - The Stones, 'Stay' - The Hollies, etc. etc.).

The only negative is the predictable cover shot of Mods on Scooters (again!!!), and that phrase that sends a shiver down the spine of any music lover.....'Northern Soul'.
Rest assured, the CDs are much better and more varied than the packaging would suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 15 Nov. 2013
By 
C. Patterson "Banjo" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March of the Mods (Audio CD)
Bought for my husband who is enjoying the old times, all good classics in one good buy for all you old mod fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mods., 4 Dec. 2013
This review is from: March of the Mods (Audio CD)
I like this c.d a lot,hope you will to.the two c.ds sounds great you will have fun having a dance to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really like this collection of 60s music its great stuff and ..., 20 Oct. 2014
By 
R. Underwood (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March of the Mods (Audio CD)
I really like this collection of 60s music its great stuff and I like it in my car while driving along
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great compilation cd, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March of the Mods (Audio CD)
delivered very quickly a superb compilation album. excellent value for money not the usual songs that are just rehashed and given a different name
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March of the Mods (Audio CD)
A good set for a cheap price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

March of the Mods
March of the Mods by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews