Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Games, Demons & Girls
Katsuragi Keima is a boy obsessed with dating simulation computer games and is famous across the internet as the God of Conquest as there isn't a virtual girl that can resist his charms. One day while replying to requests for help from other players Keima receives a message challenging him to capture a certain girl but when he replies he discovers that he has signed a...
Published 21 months ago by T. R. Alexander

versus
0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present
A Christmas present for one of my sons and I have never watched any of this type of thing and don't like them, both my sons think they're great.
Published 7 months ago by T. McDonald


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Games, Demons & Girls, 11 Oct 2012
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World God Only Knows, The - Complete Season 1 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Katsuragi Keima is a boy obsessed with dating simulation computer games and is famous across the internet as the God of Conquest as there isn't a virtual girl that can resist his charms. One day while replying to requests for help from other players Keima receives a message challenging him to capture a certain girl but when he replies he discovers that he has signed a contract with a devil and must use his virtual skills to attempt to capture real life girls, who have escaped spirits hiding in their heart, or else he will lose his head, the only problem is that he hates real life and everything in it.

The manga version 'The World God Only Knows' is another one of my favourite series and while this adaption isn't quite as good as that, it still ranks high on my list of favourite anime. This first season of the anime consists of twelve episodes across two discs and covers the first four girls of the series, each corresponding to an archetypical Japanese character type (Athlete, Tsundere, Idol, Quiet Bookworm), along with a few standalone comedy episodes. My favourite parts of the series is easily whenever the action switches to Keima's fantasy moments.

While the series is generally well adapted from the manga, there is a greater focus on the girls than there was in the original story and while this does mean the Keima misses out on a some of the development he had in the manga, the extra time some of the girls get is appreciated. There is some expansion of some of the series arcs, most noticeable in Kanon's arc but also present in Shiori's arc. There are also some things that the anime does slightly better than the manga (such as Keima's God of Conquest Mode in the final episode) and some of the visuals are also done very well (particularly the book avalanche towards the end of Shiori's arc). As well as this the music of used in the series is great while the opening and closing credit animations are extremely good.

This is one of the few series that I have watched in both in Japanese and English, and while I do think the Japanese version is slightly better, I think the English dub is almost as good (even if Divine Brother doesn't sound as good as Kami-nii-sama). The choice to keep the names in the Japanese order was interesting and while I feel some of the voice actors don't suite their characters much (such as Shelley Callene-Black as Keima's mother) most of them do quite well (Chris Patton is very good as Keima for example).

'The World God Only Knows' is definitely not an anime for everyone but it does do romantic comedy far better than many anime that I have seen. This first season of the anime is very good that deserves a full five stars and I cannot wait for the release of the second season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review 6, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World God Only Knows, The - Complete Season 1 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A light hearted, witty, laugh a minute show from start to finish. You have never met a more funny duo then the loveable/clumsy demon Elsie and the charming/game mad Keima. These mismatched two always get their loose soul, escaped demons which hide in the hearts of young girls. Best of all its got English dubbing Yippee! Roll on the day I can get season two!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World God Only Knows, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World God Only Knows, The - Complete Season 1 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This anime is so awesome that I can't even describe it in words alone!

+Story - I like it
+Character Design - So cute
+Animation - Good
+/-English Voices - It ranges from good to bad

Overall I recommend this to anyone who watches anime!

Manga Entertainment should release this collection in Blu-ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars god, 19 May 2014
By 
K. A. Sweeney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World God Only Knows, The - Complete Season 1 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
seam okay was a present she watched it over and over and over and over again and a gain good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars romantic comedy heaven, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World God Only Knows, The - Complete Season 1 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
this mixes romance and comedy perfectly where as most anime go over board on the comedy and very light on the romance. luckly this is not case and blends the two perfectly together. all the characters are very likable and funny at times especially the main character
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!!, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World God Only Knows, The - Complete Season 1 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the anime when I first read about it on Wiki, so I knew I had to get it on DVD. And I loved it, the characters are really funny and loveable. To anyone who hasn't seen it, you must otherwise you're missing out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World God Only Knows, The - Complete Season 1 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The delivery was speedy and I loved watching the anime online so much, that I decided to support the series and buy both season 1 and season 2. Plus, there's a season 3 set to come out in Summer 2013! :D This anime is a must watch and was definetly worth that buy!

♥♥♥♥♥ 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World God Only Knows, The - Complete Season 1 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It came in excellent condition, perhaphs a few days later than expected, but this is pretty normal from time to time when it comes to shipping and the likes of this. All in all I would say that if you want this anime, this seller is the right person to buy the anime from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present, 15 Dec 2013
By 
T. McDonald "Bookworm" (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World God Only Knows, The - Complete Season 1 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A Christmas present for one of my sons and I have never watched any of this type of thing and don't like them, both my sons think they're great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

World God Only Knows, The - Complete Season 1 Collection [DVD]
17.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews