Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars168
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2008
I was horrified to see Scrooged on amazon with only a 3 star rating, so I clicked on the item to check out what the reviewers had said. Unfortunately the overall rating had been pulled down dramatically by the rather grumpy review by what appears to be a genuine real life scrooge. This film is great. Bill Murry plays the part of a modern day scrooge beautifully with his deadpan humour and classic role of progressive personality transformation. The film can't take much credit for the overall storyline, but compared to the many other rather boring and overdone rewrites of the classic, this one stands at the top for its clever adaption and extremely comical approach. At the end of the day it wasn't trying to do justice to the original story, but create a funny, feel good movie that comes with the brilliant undertones and moral principles that Dickens was trying to convey, in a modern day setting with a great cast and hillarious script. I watch this film every time its on TV at Christmas and it always puts you in a great mood and into the Christmas spirit. Scrooged is definately in there with the all time classic Christmas movies, love it!
22 comments|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2007
my favourite xmas film , every year it comes out and sits by my dvd player,
bill murray plays mr cross, a cruel man who hates everything !
3 ghosts of xmas come to visit , laugh out loud funny , realises that hes a bad man , changes his ways and has a happy ending !
a must for your xmas collection .
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2002
I just can't fault Bill Murray in this film...
His interaction with all the other characters is top notch, whether he's being the meanie by firing Elliot Laudermilk (Bobcat Goldthwaite) on Christmas eve or getting 12 bells knocked out of him by the fairy-like Ghost of Christmas Present.
If you haven't seen this film, I suggest you get yourself a copy today, stick it on and sit through the whole thing eating that tin of Quality Street you'd bought for someone else but you know that the green triangles have been playing on your mind, haven't they?
Get into the Frank Xaviar Cross style of Christmas spirit!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2008
I can't believe anyone who doesn't like this film. Yes its shamelessly 80's but thats what is so good about it. It's Bill Murray at his best it's feelgood and doesn't try too hard to tick all the boxes unlike some more modern day attempts at Xmas entertainment. It's a classic 80's film and deserves its place on TV every Xmas. Its one of the few films that I can get my husband to sit through at Xmas and we still laugh at all the jokes.
I have finally succumbed and actually purchased the film just to safe guard against the day the PC brigade finally get anything Xmassy removed from TV altogether so that me and my family can always enjoy it!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 November 2006
I actually can't believe that this film is 18 years old. A remake of a classic it has Bill Murray playing (brilliantly I might add) an arrogant, horrid TV executive who has forgotten the meening of Christmas. Visited by three 'ghosts' he soon realises the error of his ways. I won't however reveal if he does so or not!

I watch this every Christmas and it always impresses me. It is a modern take (for the time) of the original but its done well and is well worth owning. Buy it now!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2008
My favourite actor and my favourite book/film combined, i may be biased but this is one of the best alternative Christmas films ever!! Deadpan Murray makes a great Scrooge. It brings a tear to my eye when he finally sees the error of his ways.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 December 2012
This is a perfect vehicle for Bill Murray, his brand of sarcastic and caustic delivery is nailed on perfect for Frank Cross, the modern day scrooge in this tale. I have often found him to be an acquired taste, I mean don't get me wrong here, I'm a big fan and can repeatedly watch his best offerings, but it's not hard to understand why his style is not universally loved. Scrooged is pure and simply the modern spin of the story we all have grown up with, that isn't to say that the film loses anything as regards Christmas spirit, because it doesn't, the message is still the same, and in this ever changing world of ours the core essence of the story is one the world should heed. This version is a blast, it's loud, it's brash, but boy is it damn funny, and I personally watch it every Christmas without fail. And yes, I watch it alongside the glorious Alistair Sim version, for although they are poles apart in class, they both entertain for very different reasons.

Joining Murray in this festive romp is the delightful Karen Allen, while luminaries such as former New York Dolls front man David Johansen and Mr. Laconic himself, Robert Mitchum, add some weight to the cast list. It all works really rather well with the exception of Carol Kane's Ghost Of Christmas Present, where to me she comes off as being more annoying than funny, but that of course is a personal opinion and I know as fact that many others adore her energetic performance. With quips aplenty and of course with a simple heartfelt message at the core, Scrooged is truly a sharp and enjoyable film to be enjoyed at the festive period.

Thanks boys, get the nurse! 8/10
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
I love this movie. It's one of my top ten Christmas films. Yes, Bill Murray pretty much plays himself. Yes, the ending is too sentimental in a way that only Americans can do. No, it doesn't matter. Dickens's story never fails to engage. The relocation of the action to 1980s New York with a curmudgeonly TV exec' in the lead role works really well. The ghosts are refreshingly different with the exception of Christmas yet-to-be who probably only ever really works as a faceless shrouded figure.

The story should be familiar to all by now and Scrooged follows the premise fairly closely. Frank Cross (Murray) has achieved his current exalted position by sacrificing his personal life, his family and his girlfriend on the altar of ambition. He marks Christmas Eve by authorising a horrific TV trailer for a live showing of A Christmas Carol even though it has caused the death of an elderly viewer. He sacks another exec' played by Bobcat Goldthwaite for disagreeing with him and forces his PA to work late even though she has a doctor's appointment for her son who cannot speak. Goldthwaite's character and his rapid descent into alcoholic decrepitude are interspersed with Murray's adventures with the ghosts. Despite Goldthwaite's weird vocal delivery and his previous form as a crazed baddie in Police Academy, he plays the nerdy exec well and it is difficult to imagine anyone else playing the part.

Murray retires to his office and is visited by the ghost of his old boss (a cue for some gruesome make up and prosthetics) who warns him that he will be visited by three ghosts. After some spooky shenanigans in a restaurant Murray is picked up by the ghost of Christmas Past who takes him back to 1955 a la Back to the Future in a ghostly Checker Cab. Here he sees his childhood, his early career and the love of his life played by Karen Allen. Then to the ghost of Christmas Present played by Carol Kane as a fairy with an irritating high voice and a penchant for violence. She shows Murray how his actions affect his overworked and underpaid PA and his brother whilst finding time to kick him in the 'nads and belt him in the face with a toaster. Finally the ghost of Christmas yet-to-be shows him the future if he doesn't change his ways. This ends with Murray actually finding himself in his coffin as it enters the crematorium before returning to reality to get shot at by Goldthwaite.

In between each ghostly visitation Murray interacts with various people including his brother, his ex-girlfriend, a rival exec from LA and three down-and-outs all of who help shape the change in his personality. Murray's journey also runs parallel to the live showing of A Christmas Carol being played out in the TV studio and Murray causes mayhem on set when he returns there after a ghostly experience. He also returns to the set after his Christmas epiphany and uses the opportunity to spread the word about the spirit of Christmas to the viewing multitudes. This is where the film descends into sentimental schmaltz but it's feelgood Christmas schmaltz so I don't mind.

There are loads of references to classic TV shows and the eighties setting doesn't date the film too much. My favourite scene is the restaurant one where Murray flips out after being served a Highball with an eyeball (by Grouty from Porridge of all people) and thinking one of the waiters has caught fire. Murray's pratfall as he leaves the restaurant is brilliant and never fails to make me laugh. The prelude with Lee Majors is a hoot and could've formed the basis for an actual movie. If you fancy a helping of Scrooge without the Victorian trappings then this film is for you. Top Christmas viewing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2003
I watch this movie several times each year, starting about October time and finishing with a Christmas eve viewing! Its an excellent, entertaining, funny, emotional and heart-warming version of A Christmas Carol. The ending scene and end-title soundtrack never fail to bring a tear to the eye and a warm fuzzy feeling! Light those candles, pour the mulled wine and enjoy!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
'Twas the Christmas just gone and all through the house, people where shouting, "put a Christmas film on." As a rule I'm not fan of said Christmas films as we end up watching straight to TV American films that are made for the same budget the average family spends on their spoilt children. Thankfully, in 2012 I had come into possession of a copy of a 80s retelling of the classic novel `A Christmas Carol'. This is no straight adaptation, but one set in the, then, modern day setting. Scrooge is now a mean TV Exec played by Bill Murray and the ghosts are far scarier than they ever used to be. Welcome to `Scrooged'.

Dickens' tale is so well known that almost everyone knows the beats that the film follows; ex-partner, ghost of past, present and future. Where many artistic types mix things up is by changing the setting. `Scrooged' is one of the best examples of this and Murray's loathsome TV Exec is a perfect 80s Scrooge. He is inherently mean, but he also revels in it giving him an even worse side than most portrayals of the part. The film has dated extremely since release, but that is part of the charm. Whilst the traditional Victorian tale is snow covered and whimsical, `Scrooged' will be forever shoulder pads and giant hair.

At the centre of the film is a great performance by Murray, he really sells the role of a scumbag who finds a heart. The rest of the cast is less notable; Bobcat Goldthwait and Karen Allen are two actors who did not work that much after. If the film is not Murray's, it is director Richard Donner's. Donner is one of the quintessential 80s directors and he fills the film with 80s tropes; ghoulish effects and great pop music. The ghosts are more gruesome than in most retellings of the story and that makes `Scrooged' a more adult affair, but for all its 80s façade, the film works so well because it stays true to the core messages in Dickens' work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)