Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic Christmas movie
I was horrified to see Scrooged on amazon with only a 3 star rating, so I clicked on the item to check out what the reviewers had said. Unfortunately the overall rating had been pulled down dramatically by the rather grumpy review by what appears to be a genuine real life scrooge. This film is great. Bill Murry plays the part of a modern day scrooge beautifully with...
Published on 9 Nov 2008 by Paul

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bill Murray is back among the ghosts. Only this time, it's three against one!
This film is a really funny twist on Charles Dickens' story, lots of laughs, but still doesn't loose the moral agenda of the original yuletide tale. Bill Murray is a real 'Scrooge' in the movie, funny but really grouchy. I really enjoyed him in the film. The other performers are quite good too. The three ghosts (Past, Present and Future) are excellent, a real twist from...
Published 16 months ago by Lord Anon


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: Scrooged [DVD] (1988) (DVD)
I absolutely love love love this film!! I am not completely satisfied at christmas until i watch this film!! So much so, that I am going to purchase it for fear of missing it on the tele!!!! Can't say a bad thing about it!! Brilliant film!! I...love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Xmas film in a long time!!, 1 Dec 2008
By 
spendaholic (Tyne and Wear, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scrooged [DVD] (1988) (DVD)
I can't believe anyone who doesn't like this film. Yes its shamelessly 80's but thats what is so good about it. It's Bill Murray at his best it's feelgood and doesn't try too hard to tick all the boxes unlike some more modern day attempts at Xmas entertainment. It's a classic 80's film and deserves its place on TV every Xmas. Its one of the few films that I can get my husband to sit through at Xmas and we still laugh at all the jokes.
I have finally succumbed and actually purchased the film just to safe guard against the day the PC brigade finally get anything Xmassy removed from TV altogether so that me and my family can always enjoy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Christmas Story, 25 Nov 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooged [DVD] (DVD)
I actually can't believe that this film is 18 years old. A remake of a classic it has Bill Murray playing (brilliantly I might add) an arrogant, horrid TV executive who has forgotten the meening of Christmas. Visited by three 'ghosts' he soon realises the error of his ways. I won't however reveal if he does so or not!

I watch this every Christmas and it always impresses me. It is a modern take (for the time) of the original but its done well and is well worth owning. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Modern Version Of The Christman Classic, 13 Jan 2004
This review is from: Scrooged [DVD] (DVD)
We've all seen an adaptation of the imortal Charles Dickens classic 'A Christmas Carol' in some form or other, usually one of the ones which has stuck as close to the original story as possible. This film provides quite a refeshing change in that it is completely modernised while still sticking to the 'Scrooge' theme.
The story is about a mean network TV President called Frank only looks out for himself, number one, and everyone elses needs come absolutely last. His selfishness is somewhat changed however when he is visited by, the three ghosts, of Christmas past, present and future.
You see, it's not really that different from the book apart from it's been jazzed up and made more modern and thus much more apealing to the younger generation who may find the older adaptations harder to understand.
Bill Murray who plays the lead, Frank, is absolutely brilliant and can't really be faulted throughout the whole film, and he plays the scrooge of the movie sprisingly well, and is very convincing. The rest of the well-picked cast are great in their roles as well, however it's Murray who makes the film what it is, and for his fans, this is an absolute treat.
This is an absolutely essential movie to watch at Christmas which the whole family can sit and enjoy together and i for one will be watching it every year from now on. So if what your looking for is a basically 'A Christmas Carol' but with a bit more jazz in it, then this is the film for you, and if you are a collector of films, then this is a valuble edition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooged [DVD] (1988) (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scrooged, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooged [DVD] (DVD)
bought it for my son as a gift its his guilty pleasure to watch every Christmas he loves it and would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Christmas Entertainment., 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooged (2012 Re-pack) [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film when it was younge so got it for my children who loved it - especially the violent fairy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 26 April 2014
By 
Sam Lynch "Sam Lynch" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not much to say really, bought it for Christmas to play on my PS3, works great and looks amazing. Must-buy for lovers of Bill Murray-comedy and Christmas films!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Christmas movie, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooged (2012 Re-pack) [DVD] (DVD)
Ha ha ha ha ha its the best christmas movie about Mr. scrooged. The first ghost is really funny, and makes one laugh.
We Will absolutely recommend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooged (2012 Re-pack) [DVD] (DVD)
Pleased with purchase will use again arrived as stated good good good look out for my next purchase thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrooged (2012 Re-pack) [DVD]
Scrooged (2012 Re-pack) [DVD] by Bill Murray (DVD - 2012)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews