Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read.
Moon Underfoot is another good thriller from Thomas & Mercer, who have done the reading public a service by issuing a long string of good to exceptional mysteries and thrillers by authors who aren't yet household names but some day may be.

Moon Underfoot is the follow-up to Cole's debut novel, The Dummy Line. That novel ended with Jake Crosby rescuing his...
Published 18 months ago by finalguy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not just a tale of vengeance - complex, multi-layered thriller
Moon Underfoot follows on from The Dummy Run. I didn't read The Dummy Run but had no problem picking up the plot of Moon Underfoot. Bobby Cole makes a decent job of providing the back story, history, of both his plot and his characters so don't worry too much if you're not reading the books in the proper sequence. You shouldn't have too many difficulties.

I...
Published 18 months ago by JK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Moon underrfoot, 30 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Underfoot (A Jake Crosby Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Not often do I give up on a book but this time i have. I tried it from the beginning twice and could not get into it at all. Sorry!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Underfoot (A Jake Crosby Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Again couldn't put this book down, read it in 3 days. Storyline was gripping and I didn't get bored with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 11 Mar 2013
By 
Yvonne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Moon Underfoot (A Jake Crosby Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the book, but a times felt the plot went off in multiple directions unnecessarily. Lots of characters with no real anchor, first it felt like Jake, then Walter and even Bailey. All in all though a good amount of excitement to keep the reader interested, if not what I would call a page turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moon Underfoot, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Underfoot (A Jake Crosby Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant thriller, I would definitely recommend this one. Once you start reading, it was very difficult to put down. I would certainly consider another one of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moon Underfoot, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Underfoot (A Jake Crosby Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy this book - I loved the pensioners secret society trying to unravel the problems sussounding them - mainly of their own making!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A decent read, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Underfoot (A Jake Crosby Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Not exactly un-putdownable. Perhaps if I had read the previous book I might have felt more of an affinity for the characters.
The ending was quite good though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Underfoot (A Jake Crosby Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book, the plot moves along at a good pace and keeps you turning the pages. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JAKE CROSBY, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Underfoot (A Jake Crosby Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
I liked this book and would read more "Jack Crosby". I have read a lot more authors since buying my Kindle and thoroughly enjoy the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars TONGUE-IN-CHEEK THRILLER, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
NOT the psychological horror story publicity blurb may have led readers to expect. In fact there is quite a mixture. The Crosby family lives in fear, with gangster Moon Pie so determined to avenge the death of two colleagues - this theme often sidelined by other matters. Amongst these is a geriatric quartet bent on stealing much money to help finance good deeds, a ruthless drug cartel, deer poachers, even grave robbers. Short chapters speed the action along, humorous sub-plots interwoven with others decidedly grim. Levi Jenkins, Moon Pie's half brother and bane of his life, combines both elements - he not only fun, but with a crucial part to play.

The novel is sequel to one that was presumably far darker. This time round the comedy caper aspects prove more effective than the attempts at suspense, a rather laboured finale perhaps considered by some as somewhat ludicrously contrived.

A light-hearted read, reservations en route largely dispelled by that disarming epilogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars not a page turner, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Moon Underfoot (A Jake Crosby Thriller) (Kindle Edition)
It has not held my attention so far. not a 'page turner'. too slow and gentle. it has taken me days to get half way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews