Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
42
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.98+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 February 2013
First things first, i love the mau5 so i'm rarely disappointed by his material. He does seem to be getting a little commercial at times in recent years though and this album is no exception.
There are some great tracks on here, but it's almost as if he has to keep the masses happy now he's so famous by adding a little sprinkle of cheese here and there,unfortunately (Channel 42,Professional Griefers and Telemiscommunications for example).
Having said that, i only paid £5 for this and Fn Pig alone is worth that! Add to that: Maths,Take care of the proper paperwork,Closer and October and for me this is a bargain.
Definitely not as strong a complete album as 4x4=12 or For Lack of a Better Name, but still well worth the small charge for the quality of the 7 strong tracks out of 13.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
Deadmau5 stands out as a very different producer of our time. He definitely has his own style unlike others and it's not for everyone. I didn't warm to this album until recently and after having it for over a week and playing it nearly every day in parts I can say it's really very good.

Like they always seem to have been with mau5, the songs can be very repetitive. However he has never failed to deliver those tracks that pack a punch however bold or subtle. This album is experimental on mau5's part - part dance album and part electronic experiment album. It has 2 more songs than his last album, 4x4=12, which was, as a whole, more live set focused.

The other difference with this album compared to his other recent work is that it is unmixed so each track doesn't lead into the next. This is a feature he's included since Random Album Title until now.

Dance tracks:

1. "Superliminal" 6:15
2. "Channel 42" (with Wolfgang Gartner) 4:48
3. "The Veldt (8 Minute Edit)" (feat. Chris James) 8:25
4. "Fn Pig" 8:42
5. "Professional Griefers" (feat. Gerard Way) 4:04
6. "Maths" 6:38
7. "There Might Be Coffee" 7:00
9. "Closer" 6:58
10. "October" 7:10

Experimental tracks:

8. "Take Care of the Proper Paperwork" 6:52
11. "Sleepless" 4:06
12. "Failbait" (feat. Cypress Hill) 4:49
13. "Telemiscommunications" (with Imogen Heap) 4:03

Joel Zimmerman himself has said he thinks he's heading towards the style of music he released on Get Scraped and on "There Might Be Coffee" and "Sleepless" especially there may well be a hint of that already.

A great new instalment from deadmau5 here I think - 8/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
Having been a deadmau5 fan for many years I was very eager to hear this new album and thus pre-ordered it. The album like so many of his others keeps you happy from start to finish. The song "The Veldt" is on par with "Strobe" from the album "For lack of a better name" in terms of musical genius and there are many fun songs on this album such as "Maths" and "Professional griefers". For me there is only one weakish song on the album which is "Failbait" which features Cypress Hill but even that track is listenable. All in all I am very happy with this purchase.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 24 September 2012
Thus far into his career Joel Zimmerman has collected more than his fair
share of both fans and detractors. There can be little doubt, however,
that as a live phenomenon he has pull. Big pull. There's many a heaving
mass who are more than happy to follow his lead with hands held high in
the air and kneecaps rattling. There is a physicality and an artfulness
about his inventions which speaks of a visceral understanding of our
occasional bodily needs as well as an innately imaginative musicality.

If you like his modus operandi then there is every good reason that you
will find much to admire in this new collection '> album title goes here <'.
The beats are as ever-huge as one has come to expect from Mr Mau5 but
there is also the occasional bout of lyricism to lighten the load. 'The Veldt',
for example, with a dreamy vocal courtesy of Chris James, is the kind of
heartfelt, mid-paced trancey anthem which makes you want to smile as well
as dance. So too the luminous final track 'Telemiscommunications', which
with its clicks, crunches and delightful melody creates a perfect platform
for Imogen Heap's distinctive voice. A fragile and atmospheric conclusion.

In and about and in-between there are some real stormers. Opening track
'Superliminal' romps along like an eight-legged hairy beast run amok; teeth
flashing and tail flailing. Simple in essence but positively dangerous.
The four-to-the-floor slog of 'Maths', too, threatens to pulverize our
bones and cause semi-permanent damage to our cerebral matter and following
an almost pastoral introduction 'There Might Be Coffee' dishes up a tuneful
slab of uplifting, hip-swinging, seaside and sunshine mayhem. Happy times!

Perhaps the least successful moment comes with 'Failbait', a collaboration
with Cypress Hill, whose rap-by-numbers approach sounds somewhat tired in
the company of far stronger material but all-in-all the project's a winner.

Coming to a dancehall near you quite soon....

Recommended.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2013
As a big Deadmau5 fan I was expecting big things, but this album left me disappointed. About a third of it is good quality stuff, but the rest is mediocre at best, heading towards the downright dull.

I'll turn to the older albums instead - unless he can salvage things with the next one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
The Mau5 has released another excellent album - as with all good acts he's moved on from the previous albums while still keeping his trademark beat - let's face it if you want an act that keeps pumping out the same sounding stuff, stick with Status Quo/The Rolling Stones/Red Hot Chilli Peppers.

This album has inspired me to fill in my gaps in his catalogue!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
Being a hard-and-fast fan of the Mau5 since 2009, I could not wait to get my hands on this.

And what an album. While some of the tracks seem to be a bit disjointed in their ordering on the track, and apart from the dubious inclusion of Failbait, this is without doubt one of the best albums I've bought in a long time. Kicking off with the subliminal "Superliminal", right through to the hauntingly beautiful collab with Imogen Heap (Hide and Seek) in "Telemiscommunications", this album is killer melody after killer melody. Thankfully no dubstep in this one. Ok, so there's rap with Failbait, not really my thing but meh, ok.

Also "The Veldt" makes an appearance too... shame it's not the original with the jungle beats, but after seeing him make that track live, and being online when he heard the vocals done by Chris James and being as excited as he was... it has a special place in my heart. As good as Strobe? No... but nothing will ever surpass that for sheer brilliance.

This album is as good as, in fact probably better, than 4x4=12. Go on, it's under a tenner. Give your ears a treat.

I especially recommend:

Superliminal
There might be Coffee
Closer
October
Telemiscommunications
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2012
This album is amazing, and here are my opinions on some of my favourite tracks:

2) Channel 42: is an amazing compilation with wolfgang, and it really sounds the part, you can really the wolfgang influence in the track

3) The Veldt: is my favourite track on the album, the vocals sound good and the melody is so catchy!

5) Professional Griefers: is the main song on the track, shame its only 4 minuites though!

6) Maths: This song is really good, especially the main synth

and Failbait... its not that good, the lyrics are stupid, but at least its still listenable...

BUT other than that, one of my favorite all time albums!!
(Plus the CD cover is 3D!!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
This album has some great tracks (Fn Pig, Channel 42, The Veldt...). I love the astounding bass and the continuity of tracks. Highly recommended to anyone who likes Electro/Progressive-House. I have added some of the tracks in a playlist and they all play in repeat mode on my iPod Nano with the Klipsch X10i - an awesome combination of small form factor convenience and audiophile sound quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
Well, this is about bang on to what I'd expect from Deadmau5.
Some massive tunes as you would expect - the ones released already. Some of the others are just as good but less well known - "There might be coffee" is my particular favourite.
Its his usual blend of tracks that conflict and gel together, you woudlnt normally get a chilled out trance track and something with Cypress Hill in ti on the same album!
Dont try and pigeonhole his style. Buy it. Enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)