Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orphan Trilogy #2
This second book in the Orphan series is a prequel telling us about the program and its aims. The book opens with the births of the orphans, then jumps forward ten years to a point where they are now in training. The conflict between Nine and Seventeen started early.

Nine has established a sanctuary of sorts for himself and somehow manages to fall in love with...
Published on 2 Sept. 2012 by c9cREVIEWS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Enjoyable
Published 6 months ago by Cat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Orphan Trilogy #2, 2 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The Orphan Factory (The Orphan Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This second book in the Orphan series is a prequel telling us about the program and its aims. The book opens with the births of the orphans, then jumps forward ten years to a point where they are now in training. The conflict between Nine and Seventeen started early.

Nine has established a sanctuary of sorts for himself and somehow manages to fall in love with the girl next door. This unrequited relationship drives him to attempt an escape.

I found this book to be even better than the first. The escapades of Nine as a new teenager, away from the structure of the orphanage, are interesting and completely believable.

Normally I always recommend reading a series in the order they were written. If for no other reason than the author may have (intentionally or inadvertently) included some foreknowledge of events. But in the case of the Orphan Trilogy 1 and 2, I'm not sure that I wouldn't recommend reversing the order. But either way, this is a very enjoyable read, and as I said, I thought it better than the first.

The only point where the energy went out was the end, where the Epilogue almost rushed to bring you up to speed for where the first book starts. I thought the Epilogue could have been omitted with no ill effects.

I read the Kindle Edition (Sterling Gate Books, July 2012, 385p) provided by the authors for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant coming of age conspiracy thriller., 12 Feb. 2015
This review is from: The Orphan Factory (The Orphan Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The first book in The Orphan Trilogy was great, but this one's better. In fact, it's easily one of the best books I've read in the thriller-type genre. From the first page to the last, I was utterly absorbed in this ambitious story of twenty three genetically super-enhanced orphan children, being prepared for a life of conspiratorial espionage at the top levels that go beyond the law. This work simply doesn't put a foot wrong.

Perhaps surprisingly, this feels like a coming of age book more than anything else, as we follow Nine, the main protagonist, from childhood to the beginnings of adulthood; but it's a coming of age book of a boy living in a dark, extreme, secret, isolated world- and that makes all the difference.
There's so much depth to all the characters and their interactions, the various geographical locations and settings like the orphanage are all vibrant and expertly detailed, and the structure and story of the book weaves together in a fascinating, page turning frenzy which builds and builds throughout. I was just as captivated by such everyday characters like the homeless Ace or by the scenarios of teenage first love yearnings, as I was by the gripping action finale chapters in Guyana.
I don't want to give away too much of what actually occurs in this tale, as that's for the reader to discover- I want you to experience the spellbinding freshness of this book for yourself.

I'm not hugely into the thriller category, but this book transcends the genre. It's simply a damn great read, regardless of classification. And I already can't wait to read the last instalment in this brilliant trilogy.

Harry Whitewolf, author of Route Number 11 and The Road To Purification.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shades of things to come?, 11 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Orphan Factory (The Orphan Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
In some ways the Orphan Trilogy is a chilling reminder of the Lebensborn eugenics program in Nazi Germany which set out to produce the perfect Aryan children who would grow up to become world leaders.
This is the second book in the Trilogy where we learn a little background of the orphans and the aims of the covert Omega Agency `s program.
Lance and James Morcan are very talented writers with a flair for the dramatic and could it be, a vision of this world's future. I'm not going to cover the political aspirations of the rich and famous or governments in this review, nor am I going to delve into the plot as other reviewers have produced very good outlines.
What sets this book apart from the usual action novels about future world conspiracies with their chilling robotic assassins, is the sympathetic character of Nine, the alpha assassin of the group. Depersonalised from birth, The Orphans are, devoid of emotions, yet from somewhere deep inside his dna, a yearning arises in Nine. He seeks emotional involvement with other humans, which is frowned upon by the Agency he works for. This introduces a human touch, along with some ironic humor which saves the book from being taking itself too serious as so many of this genre tend to. A bit of romantic interest never hurts a good story and of course we all want to know where this will take Luke as he breaks free from the group and is hunted down
Bring on the third book guys, I'm ready for it.
I'm expecting to see the Orphan Trilogy books rank highly and am sure they will become a very successful and beloved series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting aventure!, 18 Nov. 2014
This review is from: The Orphan Factory (The Orphan Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book I have read in the series and after just a few pages I found myself immersed back into the world of the Omega organisation and enjoying this new adventure.
This book covers the birth of the genetically perfect specimens and their younger years in the Omega orphanage as they are developed by the organisation to become super agents. 9 is the star pupil which causes resentment from 17 in particular and you see the friction develop, which will explode fully in the next book.
9 is the best student but he is not the happiest in the orphanage and seeks to escape, driven partly by his attraction to a beautiful young girl living next door. I liked reading about the seeds of 9's discontent being sown young because it fits well with the next book in the series.
There are plenty of gadgets which in a James Bond film of the sixties would have seen like science fiction but in today's age are completely believable. Even the basic idea of cloning super kids seems sadly completely believable!
This is a fun series which though dealing with some important issues focuses more on the characters and action. The book is fundamentally well written and I look forward to reading the net in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 30 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Orphan Factory (The Orphan Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
After reading The Ninth Orphan I couldn't wait to read the rest of the series; I wasn't disappointed.
The second in the orphan trilogy; The Orphan Factory is a prequel that takes us back to Omega's early day's, when the genetically superior orphans are born and the Pedemont project begins.. All twenty-three orphans go through intensive training and teaching, mainly by, their mentor, Tommy Kentbridge, to become the worlds most elite operatives.
Life at the orphanage isn't easy and twelve year old Nine's resentment grow's by the day; he just wants to be a normal kid with a normal life. The only thing that makes him happy is the beautiful young girl he's been watching from the privacy of the treehouse in the orphanage' garden. When Helen and her father move away Nine's young heart is broken and he makes his first attempt to escape his Omega masters, with plans to find Helen.
The chase is on.
The twelve year old is being pursued by fully trained Omega operatives, with access to all sorts of technology including the tracking device implanted in his arm, but he manages to outsmart them. Even Tommy; the man who knows him best can't find him.
Inevitably Nine's escape and relationship with Helen is doomed, and with his heart and pride in shatters he is returned to the orphanage where he has no choice but to knuckle down and get on with it. When the eldest orphan turns eighteen they graduate and are fully fledged trained killers. When Omega has a financial crisis it's Nine & Seventeen, his arch enemy, who are sent on the first real mission. Can they be professional and help bail the company out? Or will it all go wrong?
You'll have to read the book to find out, but read it you should. I give it five stars out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Orphan Factory, 8 Dec. 2014
This review is from: The Orphan Factory (The Orphan Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The first book I read from James Morcan and Lance Morcan 'The Ninth Orphan' was exceptional, so I'd thought I would give 'The Orphan Factory' a try and it complimented the first one perfectly. With heavy espionage, and gripping unstoppable action throughout, a clear sense of imaginative and thrilling conspiracy once again raised it's ugly head.The story flows without hesitation and not a dull moment to be seen from start to finish. If your genre is all about explosive suspense and articulate design for a superb plot, this saga is the one you should sink your teeth into.
Assassins and field ops galore, the trained skills and abilities of 'The Orphans' are transformed and prepared for tasks to do their job with precision and accuracy. They are perfect science projects without feeling and emotion and free from the burdens of human weaknesses such as alcohol and drugs etc -
This is book 2 of The Orphan Trilogy and I can't wait to read book 3 in this epic saga. With not a dull moment to mention, an extremely enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flippin' good read, 1 Mar. 2015
This review is from: The Orphan Factory (The Orphan Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book in the trilogy, the second that has had me thoroughly engrossed and entertained and the second that I have been fortunate to have been sent to me by the author in return for an honest and unbiased review.

I won’t go into the ins and outs of the story as it is covered in the description but what I will say is that, like The Ninth Orphan, it is excellent. The plot is well thought out, well paced, exciting and thrilling as well as being different to anything else I have read before. I really enjoyed getting to know more about the beginnings of “Nine” and his fellow orphans - the authors provided small glimpses in the first book but this one put the flesh on the bones.

The characters are believable and interesting, some more likeable than others, but overall well developed from start to finish.

I would most definitely recommend this to lovers of espionage, conspiracy theorists or just people who enjoy a flippin’ good read and I look forward to reading the third in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern, distinctive adventure., 8 Aug. 2013
By 
sj hailey (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orphan Factory (The Orphan Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
There are quite a few long reviews of this book, which really give you all the information you need on the story outline.

I discovered this book on Goodreads. First of all, read the books in order the way the author intended, you will enjoy the trilogy more from doing so.

The second book gives Nine a history, what created the man you meet in the first book.
The writing really puts you on the shoulder of Nine, listening to him breathe and seeing his view of the world.
A very well written, multifaceted book that is a joy to read.

They have took a genre which has been attacked from many angles and woven a modern, distinctive adventure.

I am now going to re-read The Ninth Orphan (The Orphan Trilogy, #1)

Great job Lance and James
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling prequel, 4 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Orphan Factory (The Orphan Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
The Orphan Factory by James and Lance Morcan is the compelling and exciting conspiracy and mystery packed prequel to The Ninth Orphan.
We journey with Nine, from his highly secret, genetically engineered birth, watch his character unfold as he is programmed and becomes adept and skilled in many areas of espionage and spying, and then rebels and escapes the orphanage and makes his bid for freedom.
I loved getting to know more about Nine and his early years, his rivalry with 17 and interaction with other orphans, his self discovery and his ability to survive in a dangerous and deadly world.
I am now looking forward to reading the third and final novel in this thrilling trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 5 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Orphan Factory (The Orphan Trilogy Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another stunning piece of literatures from the minds from James and Lance Morcan. The much anticipated sequel to the Ninth Orphan pack a punch.
The Orphan factory goes into more detail about the Orphans and touches on certain subject many writers would prefer to avoid. The Omega Agency knows everything and over sees everything, reflecting on some of our security services.
I found myself turning page after page wondering what twist and turns the authors have put in place. I also found myself going back and reading the Ninth Orphan again a long with the Orphan factory. For anyone who likes a good conspiracy thriller this has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews