Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
66
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2015
Good, readable and very moving, scary even, but I found it a bit repetitive, especially at the end. I know its important to make the points strongly, but I felt that the constant reiteration of the facts was a bit unnecessary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Highlights the differences in treatments of mental illness and how much has actually changed. Seriously dysfunctional family dynamics but in one respect doctors were just not questioned their word was law. Too say I enjoyed this book would be wrong, this is someone's life we talking about but as s social history it is very well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2015
This book is amazing and just goes to show how a visit to the psychiatrist can take you down the wrong road. This girl had five years of her life taken away from her just because she was confused about religion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
To think someone who was confused with religion could end up in what they called the nut house. Thank goodness she survived and we no longer live in the dark ages although some people may say we still do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
This was a great read. My heart goes out to the author and I am so pleased that she came through the tunnel to the light. Having known a psychiatric patient myself a lot of the writing I could really relate to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
This book shows how easily one can get sucked in into the British mental health system and how difficult it is to get out of it afterwards. The book is written about the late sixties/early seventies but, although the big mental hospital have closed down, it all could happen just as easily today, which is a frightening thought. Actually I have seen it happening just a couple of years ago.
It also shows what can lead to an emotional breakdown in this modern western culture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
A very honest and fascinating account of a survivor of the psychiatric system. Harrowing and thought provoking .Extremely well written. More than worthy of a five star rating.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2011
Simply wonderfully written. The author whisks the reader through her journey into the world of psychiatric services, it's pitfalls, strengths, weaknesses, frustrations and oddly enough, some humorous times too. This is an engaging book and a must for anyone who works in the mental health field. It offers valuable insight into the dark threads of life (from many years ago and sadly which is still very relevant today). It is an excellent autobiographical account from Jean Davison which stimulates the reader's mind to differentiate the fine line between 'normal' teenage development, searching for the answers to the meaning of life, spirituality and (mis)diagnosis of a schizophrenic illness. It's one of those books you just can't put down! Five stars +++++
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
This book was absolutely amazing I have never a read a book as good as this about psychiatric treatment.
Jean goes in to great depth about all her treatment and what it was like to be called "Sick" In the 60's -70's when they didn't have as much knowledge about Mental illness and poor Jean is living proof of what they did all those years ago. I have always been interested in psychiatric treatment from years ago and how they dealt with it all. Its just so unbelievable what the staff did and how they treated the patients who were truly ill and how they just didn't bother to help them or simply listen to them but instead they blasted their brains with ECT and several doses of anti-psychotic medication not knowing that were actually harming their patients instead of helping them.
a must read so please don't pass this book by.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
This book took me back to the days when as part of my nurse training I was working with patients like Jean--and how the
Nhs seemed to be fumbling their way with treatments including ECG.Dark days indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)