Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars creepy
A very creepy book given there are children invovled. I liked the blind character, hope she shows up in another book. I would say read this book.
Published on 1 Mar. 2013 by Eric Nortman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Eye Collector
It should have been so much better than it is. Like a recipe, all the ingredients seem to be there, yet the result is lacking in flavour and disappointing to the senses.

I thought that the idea of beginning with the final chapter and reading your way through to the first was definitely novel and could have been clever, if he had actually pulled it off. But he...
Published 14 months ago by Barbara Bee


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars creepy, 1 Mar. 2013
By 
Eric Nortman (Canton, MA, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Eye Collector (Paperback)
A very creepy book given there are children invovled. I liked the blind character, hope she shows up in another book. I would say read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mental Mayhem., 13 Aug. 2012
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Eye Collector (Paperback)
This is a psychological novel of dramatic chase with major consequences. Almost child-like in its basis, (hide and seek), it is deadly serious in its contest. Alexander Zorbach is an ex-policeman with hang-ups. He has law enforcement skills and trickery that make his transformation into a journalist one of potential virulence and danger. One step ahead of police investigations, his reputation seems secure but suspicious. His background is less impressive and explains to some extent his motivation. A failed marriage, a battle over his 11 year old son's custody with his unrelenting wife's push and punish approach to him.

His old workmates are not sure how far they can pitch into his trust as he, using his knowledge, is inevitably quick at the crime-scenes of a sadistic serial-killer. This psychopath preys on mothers with children. They are killed if the cat-and-mouse conditions are not fulfilled according to his stop-watch instructions. He, (Zorbach), becomes a potential villain in his own right, suspicion falling on him after his wallet is found next to a victim. His fellow co-worker and journalist, Frank, is a trustworthy ally.

The novel's title hints at what befalls his quarry. The dark, graphic imagery of Berlin with the unflinching paranormal gifts of a blind girl in peril, are instrumental in the combination of a thrilling novel and climax. Told in a back-to-front narrative (afterward to forward), does not in any way detract from this exhilarating and vivid book taken with a stretch on imagination. More translations of Sebastian Fitzek's writings, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable read, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eye Collector (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book. The ending was well thought out and unexpected.
Would definitely recommend.

Unfortunately it seems the majority of his other books are in German.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Eye Collector, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eye Collector (Kindle Edition)
It should have been so much better than it is. Like a recipe, all the ingredients seem to be there, yet the result is lacking in flavour and disappointing to the senses.

I thought that the idea of beginning with the final chapter and reading your way through to the first was definitely novel and could have been clever, if he had actually pulled it off. But he didn't. The intention seemed to be unworkable and he might just as well not have bothered.

The content of the story is actually quite good , but poorly written and just does not flow. Maybe the problem lies with the translation. Who knows? However, with the right direction it could make a really good film, albeit gruesome at times.

It is well worth a read though at 49p!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Twisted book, 16 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Eye Collector (Kindle Edition)
The followings of the character might be a litle weird at first but the more you follow the more intriguing it is. I normally guess the criminals and storyline however this storyline is one of the best. I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK. It is awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eye Collector (Kindle Edition)
A very skillfully mastered storyline. You cannot put the book down for too long or you will lose the plot! But a real eye opener
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eye Collector, 25 July 2013
This review is from: The Eye Collector (Kindle Edition)
This is the first book I have read by this author. I found it almost unputdownable. Highly recommended to those who enjoy clever crime novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the title!, 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eye Collector (Kindle Edition)
The title suggests just another serial killer offering but this book has so much more to offer. it's a really good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the eye collector, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eye Collector (Kindle Edition)
Very good book, once I started this I couldn't put it down with many twists it keeps you guessing up till the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but some translation problems., 17 Jan. 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Eye Collector (Paperback)
I love a crime story that is a little different so when you add high octane action, fast paced prose and of course a hero that you've your own doubts about, you know that its going to be one hell of a ride. That and more is what I got from this translated title brought to the British market by Corvus.

Add to this some cracking twists and whilst in places a little predictable the whole title works quite well. My only real grumble is that I do wonder if part of the thing that let it down were problems with the translation as in places I could think of several words that would have fit better. Even so, a great story and one I was pleased I took the time to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eye Collector
The Eye Collector by Sebastian Fitzek
£0.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews