Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid bluetooth mouse, if a little too small
I have pretty specific requirements with mice - they must be comfortable in the hand, have a useful middle mouse button (essential in applications such as Autodesk 3D Studio Max and Maya), and have no lag. Wireless mice can suffer from lag, which is to say there is a small delay between the mouse being moved and the pointer responding on screen. If you do design work and...
Published 21 months ago by Philip

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I don't get how this mouse got through QA testing... I mean it's comfortable, looks pretty and is relatively compact - but the scroll functionality / haptic feedback is just awful! Most of the time the touch-sensitive scroll pad doesn't respond, and the vibration feedback is just annoying. It just doesn't feel right - it's hard to explain, but it doesn't feel natural, nor...
Published 4 months ago by A. Sharif


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid bluetooth mouse, if a little too small, 20 Dec 2012
By 
Philip (Stafford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Sculpt Touch Mouse (Retail Packaging) (Accessory)
I have pretty specific requirements with mice - they must be comfortable in the hand, have a useful middle mouse button (essential in applications such as Autodesk 3D Studio Max and Maya), and have no lag. Wireless mice can suffer from lag, which is to say there is a small delay between the mouse being moved and the pointer responding on screen. If you do design work and need precision, this is a deal breaker. They also must have nice smooth tracking, with no jitter.

This new Microsoft mouse manages tick tick most of my boxes. It has no lag, very little jitter, a good middle mouse botton (the left and right buttons are fine too), and it's comfortable to hold. It's a little small perhaps, but not so much as to make it uncomfortable.

Curiously it doesn't come with any drivers, and there are none for download (at least on the Mac), but the bluetooth paired up without a problem and it seems to work fine. A tip for Mac users - try using third party mouse control panels such as CursorSense to get more control over the way the pointer moves. Personally I like a completely flat response, with no acceleration.

I can't comment on battery life yet for obvious reasons, but Microsoft claims it's an epic 9 months, which really would be an impressive achievement if true. Oh and it looks nice enough too, and is solidly built. An option for a white one would have been nice though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes getting used to, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Sculpt Touch Mouse (Retail Packaging) (Accessory)
I've been using this for about 3 months now and I think I'm about used to it.
This is a laptop mouse, I've been using it for a desktop mouse and I really wish I'd bought something bigger.

It does track very well and it is quite comfortable, but I wouldn't think of using it for gaming - just occasional use really.

The scroll button (flat middle button) is quite neat. It works, and gives feedback... I'm sure that a wheel mouse would have worked just as well but the benefits of having a flat button can't be understated. It doesn't require cleaning and won't stop working because it's gotton caught on something or clogged up.

It's ok.... I'm not raving about it because there are more comfortable mice out there - but no real complaints either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mouse, excellent accuracy (although some Bluetooth issues not of the mouse's causing), 16 April 2014
By 
Matthew Stroh (Settle, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Sculpt Touch Mouse (Retail Packaging) (Accessory)
I really like this mouse to use when travelling, which is what I bought it for. The Bluetooth connection is fast and reliable (although see comments on changing some settings, below). It works well on just about any surface, including the dog's back, which I was able to test when he jumped on my lap as I was trying to edit a document. It's (the mouse as well as the dog) small enough to be neatly portable (a small case to protect it would have been welcome), but large enough not to be uncomfortable to use. The 'touch' scroll wheel with vibration feedback works well too.

My only issue is with the Bluetooth configuration options that should allow you to change the scroll speed for the scroll touchpad and the vibration/scroll wheel feedback settings. There is a Microsoft settings program to download, but it seems to be a widely reported issue with the Bluetooth 'stack' on Toshiba laptops that prevents the settings being saved to the mouse. After trying unsuccessfully to get the settings to change on the laptop, I installed the MS program on an iMac running Windows and there was no problem changing the vibration settings etc and the configuration was retained when I next paired it with the original Toshiba laptop. This does not affect the basic operation of the mouse and it paired via Bluetooth to the laptop with no bother, but there seems to be this issue with changing settings via this MS program on Toshiba laptops.

Despite that gripe, it's a great product and clearly better quality than the much cheaper alternatives I've tried previously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes getting used to, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Sculpt Touch Mouse (Retail Packaging) (Accessory)
I was actually going to return this as at first it seems severely compromised, especially the touch "wheel". If you persevere, you will get the hang of it. Still quite expensive though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 28 April 2014
By 
A. Sharif (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft Sculpt Touch Mouse (Retail Packaging) (Accessory)
I don't get how this mouse got through QA testing... I mean it's comfortable, looks pretty and is relatively compact - but the scroll functionality / haptic feedback is just awful! Most of the time the touch-sensitive scroll pad doesn't respond, and the vibration feedback is just annoying. It just doesn't feel right - it's hard to explain, but it doesn't feel natural, nor does it correspond with the on-screen action. Also the bluetooth connectivity seems a bit flaky, sometimes there's either a slight lag or an element of jumpiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Sculpt Touch Mouse (Retail Packaging) (Accessory)
Been using this mouse for over a month now.Love nearly all aspects of this mouse. Weak point is the touch sensitive scrolling strip, on occasion it can take 3 attempts at getting it to do what you want. So buy it if you tend not to scroll; if you do scroll look else where.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good mouse overall, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Sculpt Touch Mouse (Retail Packaging) (Accessory)
I chose this mouse because it would connect to my laptop without additional an additional dongle. The centre button acts as a virtual scroll wheel, which feels quite odd to begin with, but works well enough. The only downside I've found so far is that the mouse can sometimes be a bit sluggish to detect movement on some materials (e.g. the arm of the sofa!). On a normal desk or table it works fine and feels nicely weighted. It's also quite small so fits well in my bag. All-in-all, a recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Scroll function is poor, 11 Feb 2013
By 
H (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft Sculpt Touch Mouse (Retail Packaging) (Accessory)
Mouse works well and is reasonably comfortable to use. The "virtual" scroll wheel is poor. If you're not careful then up down scrolling has ridiculous momentum (as if you'd spun a physical scroll wheel really fast). Left-right scrolling doesn't work in some applications. Bit of a gimmick really.

I've been using the mouse for a month and had one incident of the mouse losing connection to my laptop (Sony Vaio). Have to reboot the laptop to fix it. The battery life of the mouse is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too used to Microsoft Arc Touch, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Sculpt Touch Mouse (Retail Packaging) (Accessory)
I bought this in response to getting an ultrabook which only has 2 USB ports and wanted to get a bluetooth mouse to free 1 of the ports up, if your coming from a standard mouse then this one will probably feel ok, but in comparison to the Arc it's no contest due to the following:

Feels bulky to move as it uses 2 AA batteries
The touch aspect feels inferior, the material used means your finger does glide as smoothly and the slide scrolling is pretty much useless as there just isn't the room and feels really unnatural

Needless to say after a few days I went back to the Arc, I suppose the hefty price tag could put people off but if you use the computer all the time I can honestly say I haven't found used a better mouse than it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Constantly times out/goes to sleep, 9 April 2014
By 
Simon "on side" (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft Sculpt Touch Mouse (Retail Packaging) (Accessory)
Excellent idea but this works awfully with my Acer Windows 8 Tablet/Laptop.
Constantly going to sleep, if you leave to for a few seconds you have to vigorously shake it to get to come back online again and work. Very frustrating when you are trying to quickly get on with things and have to constantly be interrupted every time you reach for the mouse.
Have not yet tried something else yet but would definitely not recommend this! If it were not for the ridiculously high price tag it would be in the bin by now!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft Sculpt Touch Mouse (Retail Packaging)
£21.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews