Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top drill great deal
had a really good look around before i bought this drill ,its the top of the range makita combi drill and they are really tough,most hire companys rent them out so their pretty much bomb proof.been a carpenter for 40 years so ive used most makes at some time,compared the price with screwfix and the same spec was nearly twice the price, looked everywhere and i couldnt...
Published 18 months ago by dermot

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars O yes ?? !!!
I Have tried many times to obtain the nesasary tickets to return this item but failed ,what I ordered was a SH Makita BHP458RFE 18V. What I received was a Makita DHP458 ,18V this is wrong as I have failed to return the item I should receive a credit of substantial amount , as it happens this Item has turned out expensive ,you have a few deals on line which are better,...
Published 13 months ago by lod


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top drill great deal, 1 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makita BHP458RFE 18V 16mm Cordless Lithium Ion Compact 2 Speed Combi Drill (DIY & Tools)
had a really good look around before i bought this drill ,its the top of the range makita combi drill and they are really tough,most hire companys rent them out so their pretty much bomb proof.been a carpenter for 40 years so ive used most makes at some time,compared the price with screwfix and the same spec was nearly twice the price, looked everywhere and i couldnt better it,comes with a good carry bag as well although drill cases can be bought for 20 quid if you really want one,well done amazon,hope this info helps anybody looking for a top combi drill at a great price , dermot. ludlow, shropshire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dogs, 19 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makita BHP458RFE 18V 16mm Cordless Lithium Ion Compact 2 Speed Combi Drill (DIY & Tools)
I have been in the trade for 25 years and this is the best drill i have brought , I lent one on site from a mate and chose this one when my batteries packed up on mine . I hardly need to use my sds know and it charges in 20 mins . The seller(uktoolmart) were impeccable and he got it there for next day . Fantastic price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BHP or DHP? RFE, RME orZ?, 25 May 2014
By 
Traveler - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Makita BHP458RFE 18V 16mm Cordless Lithium Ion Compact 2 Speed Combi Drill (DIY & Tools)
It is the same drill whether BHP or DHP. The D prefix instead of B means it is able to use the 4Ah battery. The B model can use the 4Ah battery too. All the letters after the model number define the kit included, with Z representing "body only".

There is a very useful guide by ITS. Look up "What Makita to buy" to better understand what the letters and numbers represent.

The 458 is the strongest drill in the Makita range presently with all metal chuck and metal gear housing needed due to the very high torque this drill produces (88Nm), hence the need for side handle. The 458 is classed as "heavy duty".

The guide helped explain what I needed to know before buying. I originally found all the different letters and numbers quite confusing.

I ended up with the DLX2005M eventually, which includes two 4 Ah batteries, charger, the DHP458, the DTD146 and hard case.

Update 31st May 2015.

The newer twin pack taking the top title now is the DLX2040TJ. Includes the DHP481 and DTD129, both brushless and with 2 5Ah batteries. Seriously heavy duty kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of powerand comfortable to use, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makita BHP458RFE 18V 16mm Cordless Lithium Ion Compact 2 Speed Combi Drill (DIY & Tools)
Brill. Lots of powerand comfortable to use. The lithium ion batteries are amazing. no self discharge even after a month or so on the spare battery. Was doing some major grinding and flatting putting a lot of drag on the machine and it kept going for nearly an hour. MyRyobi one + used to last 5 minutes. rechargeing is quick too. i don't give my power tools any mercy but this little brut Is giving me no mercy either. Spot on Makita
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Drill, 26 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makita BHP458RFE 18V 16mm Cordless Lithium Ion Compact 2 Speed Combi Drill (DIY & Tools)
The drill met all my expectations. Very versatile and powerful fully up any of jobs For which I have usedit. Amazing value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars makita dhp458rfe, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great compact drill with plenty of power.i work in the building trade and this is
a robust drill, but still light enough to work above head height.
3amp batteries have loads of power and last a decent time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makita BHP458RFE 18V 16mm Cordless Lithium Ion Compact 2 Speed Combi Drill (DIY & Tools)
Very nice drill well made just like you would expect from Mikita .good value for the price ,good addition to anyone's tool box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makita BHP458RFE 18V 16mm Cordless Lithium Ion Compact 2 Speed Combi Drill (DIY & Tools)
This drill is the best drill in its class, metal gearbox, work LED's etc, there is plenty more room in the storage case as well for bits, another battery etc. My last drill was De Walt and lasted 10yrs and after reading many reviews and working with tradesmen who have one of these it was clear that if I wanted the best for another 10yrs then this is the drill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste time looking around - this is the drill to buy., 5 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Makita BHP458RFE 18V 16mm Cordless Lithium Ion Compact 2 Speed Combi Drill (DIY & Tools)
If you have £200 to spend on a professional combi drill stop looking around, this is the drill to buy. Super tough, ergonomically very comfortable in the hand, metal chuck & gearbox (check the spec of others - mostly plastic), 20 minute recharge, & with 88nm of torque this drills through anything. Comes in a quality tough case. Makita quality - enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Makita 18V cordless combi drill, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Makita BHP458RFE 18V 16mm Cordless Lithium Ion Compact 2 Speed Combi Drill (DIY & Tools)
I am really impressed with this drill - plenty of torque plus the ability to adjust this in driver mode ( for driving in screws) . It is compact and feels good in the hand - solid. I had not intended to spend quite so much on a drill , but have no regrets in doing so. The Lithium Ion batteries will be an improvement on the older Cadmium ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews